We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel for a Lads Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dedalos Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dedalos Hotel
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a Lads Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would go back here in a heart beat! Literally a 2 minute walk from the beginning of the strip, but nestled away so you can't hear any of the loud music from the hotel.

Food was always efficient and was available on site until 9pm, they have a massive menu and good value for money on drinks. We barely pre-drank out on the strip or in our rooms as the drinks were so cheap.

I compare this hotel with one in Magaluf, and the guests staying in the hotel were a much better age, they were younger and around the 18-21 age, so you didn't feel intimidated down by the pool when the music is blaring out!

The overall thing that impressed me with the hotel was the service. Usually cleaners and staff members don't want to hear from you, but they were always very chatty and the mood around the hotel was lovely, you never felt intimidated or stepping on egg shells the whole time!

Please please please check this hotel out, I promise any of you thinking of going on a holiday with the boys that this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    62
    51
    22
    33
See reviews for
7
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year & was worried abt it being full of drunken kids but but as we went late in the year it wasn't ! Met some really nice people ! & loved our time here ! Clean & tidy through out ! Far enough away from the strip not 2 here it , only eat down there once as went 2 the old town for some really nice food so ask the staff how 2 get there as it's only 10 mins walk & the food & the surroundings are really nice so make sure u go there to eat as u can't beat it ! Would stay here again ! Deffo !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

When deciding where to go on our girls holiday me and my 9 friends could not decide, eventually we decided on Malia and this hotel and got a good deal! We got bed and breakfast but all in all were never awake for the breakfast, however every morning bought a breakfast at the bar for 4 euros which was lovely!
For what we paid we were impressed, Koula is a lovely lady and so are the staff who work there. It is a safe hotel with a security guard at night who is hot on keeping people off balconies and keeping people quiet after midnight with reason!
Food and drinks there are lovely and cheap and having a all day bar is beneficial as after a night out you sometimes want a pot noodle, bag of crisps or water.
The hotel itself is not far from the strip therefore the location is perfect if needing to run back for extra money!!
Me and one friend just had a twin room so did not have the kitchenette, and although we really did miss not having a fridge our room was lovely and large!
A lot of people comment on being charged and fined if damaging something in the hotel, I went away with 9 other girls and none of us got fined at the end of the holiday, if you respect Koula and the staff and your room as if it were your own you will have no problems!
I highly recommended this hotel if you are looking for a clean, safe, fun and lively hotel where you can meet others of a young age 18-26 mainly!!
GO THERE!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IonaJ95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

All in all it's a decent hotel. The room was clean when I arrived. Not all the staff are friendly. But I liked koula she was lovely and lively. The breakfast was "continental" not the nice sort either. It always came out late. So I ate elsewhere most days. I thought the rooms decent and the maids did a good job. Don't break or stain anything because they take ur passport when u arrive. So if u don't pay for damages, u won't be getting it back! I also paid to do all the excursions offered by the reps which was really good! I enjoyed my stay in Malia and will be goin back next year :)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Me and one other mate went here last week for a girls holiday and i have to say it was the best week of my life! When you first arrive koula will offer you air con and a safe for 90euros, this seems a lot at the time but is worth it! Then the 2wentys reps offer you a load of excursions for 195euros, we thought this was too much so we agreed on just 5 events we liked for 140euros, this was definitely worth every penny. Dont get me wrong, just a night out on the strip was great but every event with the reps was epic! I would advise you not to go on the 'bar crawl' before each event as its just to bar one which is a rip off, instead we just met the reps at each event. The hotel is about a 5 min walk from the strip!! Koula the bar lady is a babe, always giving out free shots and dancing with us. After the first night we made friends with like 15other people, everyone at this hotels makes friends so when they leave you actually see people crying etc! If you get a stain on your sheets or pillow you will get fined a ridiculous amount, so take a bar of soap with you and make sure you scrub it out before the maids get there. Overall this hotel is brilliant for a girls/guys holiday, great music around the pool, great atmosphere, average food, definitely coming back next year!! :)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 207 which was brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 989Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Me and 3 friends stayed from the 17th to 24th June. We were actually really impressed with this hotel. People say in their reviews about fines and basic facilities. That is most hotels! We booked a studio room (room 301 and 207) and the facilities were great, fridge, cooker, kettle microwave. As for the fines, respect the room and you won't get fined. We had a party with around 20 guests in our room (301) and still never got a fine. Koola is great, you can really have a laugh with her unlike some of the other bar staff. One thing that isn't good are the bar prices. It is expensive to drink at the bar in the hotel, food isn't that expensive compared to some places though. We just drank voddy in our room throughout the day (they don't let you take drinks from outside the hotel around the pool) and that made things a lot cheaper! Everything is clean in the hotel, rooms, gardens and the pool. Do not understand how people can go there and not enjoy their stay. We loved it and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and 3 of my closest pals (all 19) stayed at Dedalos between June 5th to 12th 2014 as part of a Thomson 2wentys holiday package.

The first day we where initially greeted by this seasons reps Callie & Johno whom showed high levels of enthusiasm for which we found difficult to match after our tiresome flight, during our welcome meeting we told about the various excursions (foam party, boat party, bar crawls, paint party ect...) and we where sceptical to part with so much of our Euros (140) so early into the holiday but we eventually parted with the cash and I can safely say it was a brilliant decision.

I found that the nights out as part of the 2wentys bundle where more enjoyable than those of which we ventured alone as being in a large group helped prevent being harassed by the streets PR people and just a generally good party atmosphere set up by the team of reps.
The bundle fee also doubled up as an "get back to the hotel safely after one too many" insurance policy - that we put to good use once or thrice.

The reps expressed care beyond their professional responsibility and went to the end of the earth (an alternative planet earth roughly 4 lengths of the Malia strip) in a hire car in an attempt to find a drunken version of myself after deciding upon a 3/4 hour McSleep in the McDonalds toilets (which I highly recommend as its the cheapest and healthiest thing on the menu) after the 2hour free bar at the pool party got the best of me. They would also join us for a few drinks in the bars on their nights off to make sure everyone was having a good time.

With the hotel itself, I read all the reviews before hand and got the impression that it split opinion and this was backed up when staying there.

There is no doubt that there is massive room for improvement on the hygiene side of things. Our sheets where not changed once for the entire holiday due to the extremely lazy maids. we found evidence of this as we happened to be in our room when a maid came and the sheets where only made (as they where every visit) and the first metre of our floor mopped.

"when will our sheets be changed?"
"dont know"
"can you find out?"
"dont know"

The breakfast included watered down orange juice, bread, wafer thin ham and other general barely-edible-when-hungover-foods, found out on the 2 days that we where up early enough to be disappointed by it. The purchasable food throughout the day on the other hand was satisfactory and convenient.

The owner (Koula) was a nice lady provided everyone with free shots and made effort to socialise with the guests, but on the whole I got the impression it was all a big show to cover-up the moneymaking machine that was Dedalos. Upon checking out on the last day, the hotel staff attempted to charge a group of girls for a missing clothes stand missing from their balcony that they said wasn't there upon arrival - a tactic also mentioned in previous reviews which relates back to the first point of splitting opinion.

The location was the best attribute to the hotel, a very short walk from the top of the street that consisting of restaurants and bars so not much noise - our room was the closest to the strip of all the hotel and the worse was very faint music on 1 night of the holiday which was tolerable.

On the whole an amazing week with the 2wentys experience but the hotel was disappointing but tolerable. - Sheetbreak

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.3 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#33 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedalos Hotel

Property: Dedalos Hotel
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Hotel Class:1 star — Dedalos Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Dedalos Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing