We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cautionary Advice ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Socrates Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Socrates Hotel
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cautionary Advice ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greater graciously by Eva and George however we were immediately ushered to an alternative hotel across the street. We inferred from this that there were booking mishaps. We had read through similar such reviews Therefore we were extra diligent on insisting on our booked room. Once we secured our rightful room, we realized quickly we were in a sea of young British boys whose sole purpose of their stay was to party until sunrise. The hotel did a poor job of managing complaints made by other guests. The evening staff even partook in socializing with the boys.

The room itself was average at best. Clean yes, however the beds were barely tolerable. Hard, one sheet and a rock for a pillow. The air conditioning was rigged to turn off when any doors were open, so u are unable to sit on your patio and have a cooled down room simultaneously. A bit drastic.

The pool area was nice, so long as the partiers were still asleep from the night before.

If u are in Malia to party, and are looking for a place to "pass out" this is your place. Otherwise, don't bother.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cavanaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    45
    11
    3
    12
See reviews for
45
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed her for a week in June and it was perfect all they way, we had a slight room mix up when we first got there but it was handled so well by George and Eva, we felt so welcome and had a lot of fun with all the friendly staff! Pharos food was yummy, cocktails were delicious, the pool was beautiful, the whole hotel is just relaxing from the word go. And a free transfer to the airport at the end of the week was just the icing on the cake. We will be back!!
I think it should be noted, this is not the hotel for large groups of lads or ladettes.. You're not going to get what you want and the hotel is a little further from the strip than you would like if you're partying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VtorA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly staff and a great pool area and a lovely pool bar with snacks and drinks. ideal for families with children. located a bit off the center of malia but a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited Socrates as part of a group of girls for a hen party. They hotel were very accommodating offering free transfers. The sunbeds are absolutely beautiful, the pool is perfect, ideal for relaxing the whole day away. Pool snacks are good quality and reasonably priced. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable and when you are spending most of the time poolside it isn't an issue. I would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to visit the strip :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tired-bus-raveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malia, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed there for two night last week and it was amazing.

I have already booked up for 2 weeks from the 20th June

The facilities are exceptional and the Staff are great. George the owner is brilliant and so is his sister Eva (And beautiful too!).

They have without doubt he best sunbeds in Crete and you will not be disappointed that you have stayed in the Socrates hotel.

Looking for ward to see them again in a few weeks.

Mike

Room Tip: All amazing from what i can see
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We were lucky with the weather and the hotel. Great and friendly staff, always ready to help you if something goes wrong. At the bar and the kitchen works Agapi, she speaks Russian. She is very kind, funny and friendly woman, and prepares delicious food. We loved this hotel. Spacious and bright room, kitchen, bathroom with wc, and Large wardrobe, which is very usefull when u have lot of clothes with u, like we does :) (girls will understand it ) They clean rooms everyday. Towel for the shower changed every day. You could always ask for extra. With the hot water had no problems. The hotel is not far from the beach. About 5-10 minutes by walking. My friend and I rent a bike, so it was easy for us to go around. I can say that the beach is the best in Malia. The hotel has a large swimming pool, comfortable lounge chairs, bar with nice music. If u stay more than 1 week, they provide transfer from and to airport, which was very useful for us, bcs we came late at night. We had excellent holidays in Socrates hotel! And for sure we gonna come back there again and again! :) Повезло с погодой и отелем. Замечательный доброжелательный персонал, всегда готовый помочь вам, если что-то пойдет не так. В баре и на кухне работает Агапи, говорит на русском языке. Очень хорошая женщина, и готовит вкусно. Отель нам очень понравился. Просторная комната, кухня, ванная комната с туалетом и большой шкаф. Я думаю, девушки поймут ) Чистые помещения, мы были довольны ежедневной уборкой комнат. Полотенце для душа меняли каждый день. Вы всегда можете попросить дополнительные. С горячей водой не было проблем. Отель находится недалеко от пляжа. Около 5 минут. Мы с подругой брали байк, я могу сказать, что пляж является лучшим в округе. В отеле есть большой бассейн, удобные шезлонги, в баре всегда приятная музыка. Если вы там останавливаетесь больше чем 7 дней, то вам предоставляют бесплатный трансфер с аэропорта в отель и обратно!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sokratis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We booked through socrates web www.socrateshotel.gr very satisfied.dont need bother for transfer as its included.very vood location as its peaceful,2' from the beach and 5' walk to down town.very friendly staff.giorgos and eva always willing to help :) :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank spanker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.9 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
1.1 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socrates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Hotel

Property: Socrates Hotel
Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Socrates Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
✔ Free transfer from / to the port or the airport ✔ Free Wi-Fi Access ✔ Pool Area ✔ Snack Bar ✔ Luxurious Rooms ✔ Kid's Equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Socrates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socrates Hotel Malia, Crete
Socrates Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing