We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frixos Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
113
54
28
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
54
28
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bargirls holidaymy friendair conthomson repsthomson scenegalaxy barthe security guardyoung peopleminute walkpaint partynext yeartowels were changedfamily run hotelnight securityold townfree shots
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and two other girls stayed in the Frixos hotel from the 20th till the 28th of Setember and we had the best time, Malia had calmed down at this point and wasnt as busy but was still busy enough and by the sounds of things July and August were two busy, we had the most fantastic time. There were only 4 other rooms full at this time due to the time we went so this may have been the reason are rooms were always cleaned, fresh towels everyday. We left are room in a mess everyday and everyday the cleaner tidied up our stuff.
Nikos the owner is such a nice man made us feel so welcome, was always there to help us if we needed anything and was always there to have a chat with us in the morning when we were feeling slightly delicate. We were aloud to choose are own music on the pool side bar and he pretty much let us away with everything we done, never moaned about us jumping in the pool in the early hours or having people back to the hotel from others hotels.

We got a really good deal with the reps to, all the hotels mixed together due to it being the quieter part of year but if im honest made it alot more fun, we paid €79.00 for 4 nights out (its alot more expensive mid season though ive heard) we had a fish bowl party a quiz night(sounds worse than what it was) water park and skint, they were all great fun and are rep Marg was around every morning and evening incase we had any problems.

I really dont have anything bad to say about this hotel i would definetely recommend and would return again but a week or two earlier!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Me and my husband booked a week at the frixos as a last minute thing to get away for a while. I'm 28 and he is 30, there were a few people older than us there but mostly everyone was young and there for the party scene. We spend our days sunbathing and swimming in the hotel pool. Before leaving we read reviews and learned it was a place for young party people, so we expected the worst, ( we took earplugs to make sure we got sleep at night) although we expected the worst, we actually had a lovely time and fell in love with the staff- especially George the barman!
All-in-all I highly recommend this hotel, good value for money and lovely staff.
Ps, unless you're here for the party scene don't rely on the Thompson reps for advice on places to visit, ask the locals or George :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here for a week in June 2013 in a group of 6 girls, with two bed and breakfast rooms between us. The rooms were basic and cramped for three people – three single beds pushed together with not much space around them. We didn’t spend much time in the room so it wasn’t really a problem but it made getting ready to go out a bit difficult! Both rooms had large balconies which were great for pre drinking in a big group, but the bathroom wasn’t great as the shower got the whole room soaked. We paid 45 euros per room for air-conditioning for the week which was beneficial in the heat and a reasonable price. The pool area had a great atmosphere and there was always plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day, and the pool-side bar did a variety of good food all day at low prices. Frixos is in a great location for getting to the strip as it’s only a five minute walk away, but the beach took about 25 minutes to walk to so we only made it there once. We didn’t get up in time for breakfast all week so can’t comment on it! The Thomson reps and hotel staff were all lovely and always up for a laugh with guests.

In all, Frixos is very good value for the price and ideal for a typical 18 – 30 holiday in Malia!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TaniaSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My friend and I stayed in this hotel and I definitely wouldn't go back. We are both 17 so it was a party holiday. The room was disgusting, bed sheets were stained, the shower head wasn't attached to the wall so we had to hold it over us when showering. Also, the kettle didn't work and the fridge hadn't been emptied/cleaned.

The worst part of the holiday was the last night, we decided not to go out that night, just pack and catch up on sleep as it was a 12 check out and our flight wasn't until 11pm so we didn't want to have to spend that day/flight hungover and tired. In the middle of the night my friend woke me to tell me that a random boy had been knocking on our door and she heard the security guards voice so she opened the door and the random, drunk boy just walked into our apartment. She told the security guard that he couldn't stay here and asked him to get him out but the security guard just left him with us. He was sick in our bathroom so she went back to get the security guard who removed him from the room. I spoke to the owner of the hotel and explained what had happened and all we got was free air conditioning for two hours to help us get back to sleep. Absolutely shocking and so unsafe. I thought security guards were meant to protect you not accept 20 euro and take a random to young girls rooms.

The only good thing about the hotel was that it was 5 minutes from the strip but I'd rather stay further away in a nicer hotel

Room Tip: do not stay here!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We certainly will not be returning to Frixos, - This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in! We arrived and the owner tried to keep our passports for the duration of our stay, which is illegal. We were not expecting exceptional, as we had paid for a basic hotel, but standard level of hygeine would have been nice. We had our towles changed twice during our stay, and the same bed sheets all week, which did not look clean when we arrived. The so called clean towels that we had twice during our stay were dirty and musty, with stains, and for two days we had just two hand towels. Our shower was broken, with no curtain, and the toilet did not flush. The overall room clenliness was poor, with dirty stained floors, dirt in the drawers, broken curtains and a filty (and tiny) balcony. Rooms are advertised as having "basic" facilities such as 2 cooking rings, but we had no cooking facilities, no kettle, no tv, not even a plastic cup to drink with! Staff were generally unhelpful, rude, or not not around. We had been to Crete before, and would go back again, but NEVER to Frixos!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews