We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but beware of the cats and the awful animation team..”
Review of Cretan Malia Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cretan Malia Park
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and i travelled here for a relaxing week in June. We arrived to a warm welcome from the reception and we were impressed immediatley by the grounds of the hotel and its location on the beach.
Beach-The beach is lovely and the hotel provides free sun loungers with umbrellas, a beach bar and free pedalos and canoes. We went all inclusive and there are a huge range of drinks to choose from at the beach bar ( the same menu as the hotel bar) from milkshakes, non alcholic cocktails, cocktails, juices, bottles of water, alcholic drinks and a range of teas and coffees. You can also get Cheese and ham toasties from here if you dont feel like moving from your sunlounger. It tended to be the same bar tender each day,he was hit and miss really, sometimes pleasant sometimes verging on rude. ( This was the only problem we had with all the staff)
Food - The food was excellent overall. In the daytime you would have a buffet breakfast in the main dining room with a huge selection of cereals, fruits, pastries and cooked breakfast. For lunch there was a buffet by the poolside which again was varied each day with lots of fresh salads, fish and meat dishes. And then back to the main restaurant for the eveining meal. There was a Cretan corner with local specialities, various cooked fish and meat dishes and there was always show cooking with a meat or fish dish. Overall the food was of a really high standard.
Rooms- The rooms are clean and have some nice touches like fruit and wine on arrival. We had a pool view bungalow room and it was very peaceful and relaxing. The hairdryers in the room are rubbish so take your own.
Bar- There is one main bar in the evening where you can sit in or outside. The bar menu is extensive and we went through all the different cocktails throughout the week. The bartenders are fab and after the first night they knew our room number and our drinks!

Entertainment /Animation team - Considering the hotel is in a quiet location (a good 20 minute walk to bars) you would expect there to be some decent entertainment in the evening. Well think again, they are AWFUL. I have stayed in 100 s of hotels and this is officially the worst animation team i have ever seen. On the first night we were subjected to a "Comedy" show. The head entertainer Nico was trying to do impressions and stripped to his underwear to try and get a cheap laugh but it didnt work. I have never felt so uncomfortable sitting among a full terrace of people with not one person laughing. It really is dreadful and is the main point that lets the hotel down.
Cats - There is a "Cat Cafe" at the front of the hotel where you can feed the local cats in a certain area of the hotel. There are signs all over the restaurants asking guests not to feed the cats outside the cat cafe area. Some people obviously ignored this ( as we witnessed) and this meant that whenever you sat in the main restaurant ( outside) or the pool restaurant to eat you had cats round you watching you eat,brushing past your legs and on one night one jumped on our table. I dont mind cats but they did start to get annoying. If you dont like them, you will hate this hotel.
Overall a lovely relaxing hotel with excellent food, service and grounds but it has a bit to go to be a 5* in my opinion.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow pool view room and you ll be closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

When we booked this hotel we were under the impression that it had a 5* rating, however since our visit the Guest Relations Manager corrected me and says it's ranked as 4*. The hotel is situated right on the beach and is about a 30-40 min walk away from Malia & Stallis. First impressions are good, the outside areas/gardens are lovely very clean and well kept. We had a room facing the beach with a wonderful view of the beach and beach bar. The room was spacious and kept very clean by the daily maid service. One criticism is the A.C. units in the guest rooms, reception and restaurant are insufficient, every where is hot and it's only June, heaven knows what it's gonna be like in July/August? There are plenty of sunbeds to choose from, either around the pool, on the grass areas or at the beach.
There were very few British guests, mostly German, Russian, French e.t.c., we were treated no different from the other nationalities. It's not a place for teenagers or partying couples, there were a few children but not too many.
The staff all seemed very friendly and helpful, some were a little over enthusiastic in the restaurant at times, we went up for desert and came back to find our table cleared and being laid for someone else to use! The bar staff were very attentative and tried to remember your room number and preferred drink before you asked.
We booked and paid for All-Inclusive but some food/drink they will charge you for, so check first before you order! There is plenty to eat at breakfast, lunch and evening meal, but nothing seems to be in order, the food is scattered around and you are forever searching for stuff. They don't replenish the empty dishes quickly enough and you have to constantly ask them to re-fill.
You don't eat in the main restaurant at lunch time, there is an undercover bar near the pool which serves a buffet style lunch. We arrived at 3.30pm on our first day and asked if we could eat and we were told no - we are finished, although the opening times state they are open 1.00 - 4.30pm? We were directed to the Beach Bar who offered us two very sad looking cheese rolls and a cheese toast (my husband is allergic to cheese) so we had to wait till 6pm when the main restaurant started!
Our biggest criticism was the evening entertainment. The animation team consisted of 5 young people of different nationalities. They didn't bother you during the day, infact you hardly ever saw them, most guests seemed to just want to chill out in the sun. We only saw one professional act on the first day, there were two blokes singing accompanying themselves with guitar and organ - not too bad listen to. The rest of the holiday evening entertainment was seemingly produced and acted out by the animation team - it was diabolical. We have witnessed some bad evening entertainment on past holidays but we can safely say this was the worst ever!!! We hired a quad bike for 6 days and it came into great use in the evenings just to get away from the entertainment!
We wouldn't go back to this hotel again, but then we never go back to the same one more than once, we like to experience other countries/hotels. If a few of the problems were ironed out that we mentioned above then I can't see why this hotel in the future could not be awarded 5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, possibly facing the beach but not over the restaurant. Some rooms have direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just as good as our first visit six years ago. The experience started well with a warm greeting from the reception staff and continued in a similar vein for the remainder of our stay.
The main restaurant staff are helpful and happy and looked after us really well (particularly Eva on our first night & every other occasion subsequently).
We took a chance by booking the lobster meal in the Italian restaurant and were really pleased that we did - expectations were exceeded in every respect - a really special meal - top quality food and probably the largest (& best cooked) lobster we have found to date.
Tips for the main restaurant are as follows:-
If you like Greek/Cretan cuisine then you have a great opportunity to assemble a fantastic meze starter including vine leaves, dakos, olive paste & bread.
Always have a serious look at the show cooking for the main - the quality of the meat is very good - well worth resisting the temptation to try "a bit of everything" from the buffet.
The traditional greek deserts are tempting for anyone with a sweet tooth but for those without there is a good selection of cheeses including local feta and some imported blue - you may need to search for the biscuits to accompany as they are not with the cheeses but you will find them closer to the restaurant entrance.
Wouldn't like to comment about the evening entertainment as we were often out in the local bars & tavernas. We had thought about the A/I upgrade but on reflection are pleased that we didn't as there is plenty to do & see outside.
The hotel offers lovely gardens, some great pools and a private beech. All are maintained to a high standard. For those looking to burn off a few calories there is a beautiful coastal walk to Sissi (about 90 mins each way). Sissi offers many opportunities to re-fuel and take on liquids in very pleasant surroundings.
Very sad to be going back to the UK tomorrow (particularly as there are flood warnings in place for much of the country).

Room Tip: This time we stayed in a "pool view" room which was fine and a lot quieter than the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed A/I in 2 rooms in main block.
This hotels biggest assets are it fantastic staff and great location on a clean sandy beach.
Good choice of food and all inclusive was very good value for us- a family of 4.
Only one criticism and that has to be the awful Animation evening shows, would have been better to not bother on nights when professional acts not booked and just have background music playing.
I'm sure they drove people away to their rooms early.
During the day they were very pleasant and helpful but not many guests wanted to be bothered with activities.
The beach was great and plenty of sunbeds etc even though hotel quite full.
Nice that pedaloes and kayaks not charged as extra.
We would definately stay here again and hope people continue to book,we saw no sign of problems caused by Greece's financial woes.
,

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms in main block are great, why bother with more expensive bungerlows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ladyjayne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed for three nights as part of a Greek tour. We chose the hotel because it was close to Iraklion (about 30 mins drive) but it looked like a "beach" hotel with the chance to relax in the sun.

The hotel proved to fit the bill perfectly. Good service (although the breakfast/dinner service wasn't the best, and all they had to do was take & deliver drinks orders because the food is all buffet). Food was always fresh and well stocked, although, as I always find in hotel buffets, pretty boring.

The hotel is right on the beach and the pool and gardens (check out the cactii) are pleasant. It was pretty quiet when we were there, maybe two thirds full at most? Our room (508) was great, spacious and in an excellent location. Only gripe was we asked for non-smoking and 508 wasn't, but it was so well located we put up with the smell. I think the rooms in the 500s are the best but probably more expensive - overlooking the sea with its own terrace and sun loungers (though there always seemed to be plenty of free sun loungers around).

I'd say there were more Germans than all other nationalities combined, with British comfortably the next biggest contingent. People were typically young families or middle aged/older people, but we were there in early June so it may change in July/Aug.

Overall I'd strongly recommend the hotel. There were some activities but I could have easily spent a couple of weeks there, reading novels and soaking up the sun

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is absolutely lovely. We did the usual thing before booking here - flicking between brochures, websites and trip advisor and I can honestly say this is probably the best one in Crete. It is set in lovely gardens with 2 pools. Even though the hotel was at maximum capacity it sometimes felt we were the only ones there as there is always a quiet spot and a sunbed to be found. The food is very nice and not the usual all inclusive stuff that gets repeated every night. Yes there was always salads and the normal standard choices but they always put on some show cooking such as carved meats or paella. The drinks and cocktails at the bar were also amazing. However we haven't given this a 5 rating due to two things. Firstly the animation team are AWFUL. They don't bother in the day and if you want to join in aqua aerobics or volleyball you can without being pestered but it is the evening 'shows' that are horrendous. 2 nights of the week they thankfully have a break and bring in outside dancers and live music but the rest of the week is dire. They are a very mixed bunch who act like a group of kids and half the time look like they are just making their acts up as they go along. If the entertainment was good then this would most definitely be a 5 star hotel. The other poor point was that the drinks at night are waiter served and we believed that because you don't have the normal all inclusive wrist band on and you just say your room number when getting a drink or snack the waiters know who are in the expensive rooms and who are in the cheaper rooms . It seemed that if your room number was a 5 or 6 then you got served and treated slightly better but if you were a 1 (like we were) then you were ignored no matter how much waving you did. It was just easier to go the bar in the end. Besides this it was a lovely hotel and we would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lucydevonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great hotel, superb holiday.
We were all inclusive and in the room when we arrived was a bottle of wine an a bowl of fruit.Also in the room was a safe which was amazing because it was free,we have had a safe in many hotels and always had to pay up to 60 euros.
The bungalow was a pool view and at the rear of the room on the patio we had a sea view which was a short walk to the beach.
The drinks serbice during the evening was waiter service,the head waiter was Yiannis who rembered my name and room after the first day.

Room Tip: My room was 614 which was perfect but if you ask for a sea view they will do their best to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MUCKINGFUDDLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
5.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#14 of 91 in Malia
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#13 of 91 in Malia
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.9 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#9 of 91 in Malia
352 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 172 in Hersonissos
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Malia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Malia Park

Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range: £78 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Malia Park 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Cretan Malia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Malia Park Hotel Malia
Cretan Hotel Malia
Cretan Malia Park Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing