We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing hotel”
Review of Cretan Malia Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cretan Malia Park
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly amazing hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Visited in August 2012 for the third time and the Cretan Malia Park was as superb as always! Plenty of loungers, goodfood and pristine pools. We have always stayed half board which has meant that we often have lunch at the pool bar. Portions here are very good so you are able to share a sandwich etc between two quite easily if you wish.

My one gripe would be that sometimes salad dishes had meat (ham, mostly) in unnecessarily and this was not listed as ingredients on the food labels - as a vegetarian i found this a bit annoying.

The entertainment isn't great but seemed to draw a fairly big crowd each night. Boules on the beach was always fun. There is a lovely bar down the road called Violets (down the hotel driveway, turn left and walk straight for approx. 3 minutes - the bar is on your right). Drinks are more reasonably priced and the service is relaxed and friendly - excellent.

Whilst this hotel is child friendly I wouldn't recommend it for families with young children.

I have read some reviews in which holidaymakers say they didn't enjoy Thomson's Spinalonga trip - I found it very enjoyable (I enjoyed it so much we have done this twice). The 4x4 jeep trip is also very good.

I particularly enjoyed the cat cafe situated outside the front of the hotel!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lovely and much cheaper than the bungalows. The garden (or sea?) view rooms loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlixBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear AlixBrown,

thank you for your so valuable comment, concerning your latest holidays in our hotel.
We are glad to hear, that you spent a relaxing and joyful holiday here on Crete, in our resort.
We consider our guests feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    141
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
131
175
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The whole holiday was brilliant from start to finish. We had VIP passes at the airport from Thomsons that we didnt expect which was a great start to the holiday and the taxi transfer was so quick. We stayed in the main hotel which was lovely, the bungalow rooms looked really nice aswell. The hotel itself was everything that we expected, all the staff were brilliant, food was good, my only niggle there would be they were a bit slow replinishing the trays when they were empty, and the show cooking chef did struggle to keep up. It was lovely to be served bottled wine in the restuarant and not have to go to the normal pumps to serve yourself. It was a strange set up with all of the different boards and no wrist bands but it worked perfectly. The quality of drinks was much better than your normal AI, dont normally do cocktails but had a go at working my way through. Spent most of the time on the beach which was so spacious, couldnt get my head round the pool set up, you just seem to get a bed and put it wherever you wanted on the grass, which was nice if you wanted some shade, there were no real sunbed areas to lie in. There was always plenty of beds at any time of the day, no need to reserve, although we did see 2 beds with towels on for 4 hours and when they came back they only used them for an hour and to make it worse they were British. My other comment was that at lunch time the only place to eat was the main buffet, there was a pool bar but that was mainly for half board guests and carried a charge. The two outside entertainment acts were really quite good and think I will leave it at that, it is really though more of a hotel to sit and chill. My one gripe is the rip off price of the excusions, we did go to Spinnalonga, glad I did the trip but wished I had sourced it elswhere, definatly not what we expected. Went for 10 days and could have stayed some more, if your going you have picked a lovely hotel, enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefferlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear jefferlog,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Cretan Malia Park.
We were delighted to read that you were happy with your choice. Your constructive comments regarding our restaurants have been taken on board and are much appreciated.

We would like to take the opportunity and clarify why our all inclusive guests have their lunch in the Main Restaurant and not in our Pool Restaurant.
All our guests have booked meals in buffet style. For a la carte meals there are extra charges for all guests (Half Board and All Inclusive). Unfortunately our Pool Restaurant, as an open air outlet does not support the buffet option, due to health and food safety reasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort for another relaxing experience.

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We visited the Cretan Malia Park hotel in May 2013. Flights were ok (even though I'm not a good flyer) and we had a taxi transfer which was a nice touch, however the taxi driver drove like he was on a race track and was a complete maniac - not a very relaxing journey at all (it only took him 40mins to get there!) We arrived very late in the evening so check-in was very quick as it was only us. Although it was 11.30pm we were taken into the restaurant for something to eat and drink while our bags were taken to our rooms.

We were in room 126. Had a lovely balcony looking out over the pool which was nice and could just see the sea too, however it was right above the bar and I think it could possibly be a bit noisy peak season, although it didn't disturb us.

There was a bottle of wine and fruit, and packet with biscuit/bread for us when we arrived. A fridge and a kettle and mugs etc which was good. A free safe in the cupboard, pool towels and bath towels could be changed each day if needed.

Unfortunately we had twin beds pushed together to make a double (which inevitably came apart in the night and left my partner falling down the gap!) so I would definitely ask for a double next time. (we did book a twin assuming it'd be a double bed)

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and the aroma from all the different flowers and bushes was very pleasant. The swimming pools were kept clean and often saw the pool man in the morning hovering out any bits. The cleaners were very friendly too and always said good morning, our rooms were always spotless when we returned.

I thought the food was fine, and plenty of choice! - although some of the food seemed repetitive I think this was more them trying not to waste food and making something from the leftovers! but there was always a chef cooking something fresh which we tended to go for rather than the pre-prepared food.

The sandy beach was lovely and we spent more time on the beach than we did round the pools. we did a bit of snorkelling in the sea too just off the beach and saw quite a lot of different fish!

The entertainment - well it was very low key, some nights there just wasn't any. There was a band one night and also Greek dancers which were good. Anna from the animation team worked very hard and always had a smile on her face no matter what. She was always doing something, and she was very good with the children, how she sang and danced to the same songs night after night I'll never know!
Sorry to say the DJ want very good, one night I think we had the same 4 songs on 3 times. The karaoke night was a disaster and only 1 person sang, he did try hard to get people involved but it wasn't the right atmosphere for karaoke and people weren't really interested. We struggled to understand him too, (other than the 3, 2, 1 that he seemed to say a lot) it wasn't well organised and it seemed they were just 'winging it'. Give him credit for trying but he would have probably felt more at home behind the bar or something...he did always cook a pasta dish at lunchtime too which looked very nice!

The other guy who was in the animation team seemed to disappear after the 2nd day, and we later saw him when we went for a walk working in a bar down the road, so only assumed he had left.

The bar staff and waiters/waitresses were very polite and efficient. We thought Yianis was fantastic (we named him super Mario as he looked a bit like him and was always running around!) he was always cheery and happy and looked like he enjoyed his job. The night there was a band he was up dancing around with a tray of drinks! definitely more entertaining than the entertainment!

We did a Thomson trip to Agios Nikolaos markets and harbour and into the mountains. it was only half day trip but was a nice morning out. We were hoping to go on a small cruise too but were told the cruises weren't running at that time of year which really was a disappointment. We did other things though which were good and overall we had a really lovely holiday.

I would recommend this hotel to others, but probably more for adults and couples rather than families with children.

Room Tip: We were in room 126, good view over the pool from our balcony and could just see the sea too. Above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Rebecca T,

we are very happy to hear, that you did spend a nice vacation in our hotel.

It is very helpful to receive positive comments as well as suggestions in order to improve our hotel. Also, it will be our pleasure to inform our colleagues that you mentioned about your compliments.

Maybe we will get the opportunity to welcome you back someday.

With best regards,

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Just back from Malia Park and really enjoyed the experience, the service is the best we have had for a long time. The setting is lovely with lots of space around the pools and gardens for the sunbeds are plenty. The ambience is very chilled and relaxing and we were lucky that we were there at a quieter time as I would think it might not be so relaxing if there are a lot of children about. The only issues I had were that we thought we were getting a bungalow but these are two stories and we were on the upper floor which had a quite small balcony. We had requested a quiet room and although it was a nice quiet area facing the gardens we had small babies both sides to us who cried a lot but fortuantly not during the night ! ! The other issue was as previous reviewer said the food was very good but did lack variety, most days it was the same choices and desserts were always the same, but the wine was good for an All Incl deal. Also the drinks such as beer and cocktails were excellent, no problems getting a drink at any of the bars.

The beach was a bit untidy but it was easy to get into the sea where the pedallos are kept,there was always plenty of beds and umbrellas available and the service at the beach bar was excellent. There are quite a few other nationalities mainly german but everyone was very friendly and there were enough brits to chat to as they were all very cheerful and friendly, no moans either !!

Entertainment was okay, and the animators were excellent and really tried to get everyone involved, but most people were not too interested especially in the karioke, but we were there for a week and there was a good band one night and greek dancers another who were also very good, so no real complaints as the hotel is quite low key.

I would definitly return but ask for a downstairs room if possible and no crying babies...

Our whole experience including the travelling was brilliant, apart from check in at gatwick which was a bit manic with long queues, leaving us very little time to have breakfast and shop. But our flight with Thomson was excellent as we were on their new plane plenty of leg space and good service. Then we had a mini bus to the hotel to ourselves, no waits etc. smooth check at hotel and the same on our return, very unusual but great. Well done Thomson. Even the rep Lauren was really good, so friendly and helpful. However wouldn't recommend Spinalonga trip as it was very busy too many other boats at the Island and too many people on the beach stop off, we had to stay on the boat, so quite expensive to not see very much. There is a much cheaper boat trip 25 euros from Malia harbour.

If you want a quality; relaxing; friendly hotel this is the one, but I am not sure whether this is the case when you have lots of children around, I think this hotel would be best suited for adults only..

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are quieter, we were in 223 and I would imagine being on the higher room there is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Patsy66,

thank you for your review, concerning your stay with us.
We do appreciate all our guests’ feedback, as this is the only way we have to truly measure and continuously improve the service we provide to our guests.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove to you the standards of service our guests have come to expect from us.
We are looking forward to see you again someday in the future.
Best regards,

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We visited in May and found the hotel and grounds very good with direct access to the beach. Food a little disapointing not a lot of variation. Entertainment - the MC did seem to struggle to get the audience taking part. We struggled to understand what he was saying most of the time. The two nights of outside entertainment which included a band and local Cretan dancers were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherylt2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear cherylt2113

Thank you for your review.

We have made note of your comments about our entertainment program and will try to do our best to improve the entertainment in the future.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel on a future visit.

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, but after other nice hotels the food is lacking variety.always enough to make a decent buffet but not as much choice, especially at breakfast but we have to remember we are in Crete and they may have introduced some cutbacks.
All the staff are great.We would return if we got the same good deal from Thomsons.However be aware the bungalows are two story blocks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear scannerman

Thank you for sharing your impressions from your stay in our hotel with others, here on tripadvisor.

We would like to ensure you, that we are not introducing any cutbacks and that we try even harder to please us much as posible our guests. We have taken your constructive comments on board and we appreciate your feedback.

Thanks again.

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEDS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed here 1st week of oct ,12 . and i can confirm that all the praise on this hotel is absolutely true.
We were all-inclusive with thomson,and we had upgraded to a bungalow room,everything was fine we were in 327 and was a great position,as we were close to restaurant and evening entertainment which was usually finished by 10-30 pm, and it was not as bad as made out,the animation team certainly give there all,and we had two great greek nights.
the hotel is right on the beach and has a beach bar,and the farthest room away was mins .
there were not many english guests ,mainly german ,and were very friendly.no problem wiith sun beds,restaurants or seats in evening.
This probably ranks as one of the best we have stayed in,its seems to have got the blend right in every way and our fellow guest to boot!
the only real gripe we had was the distance from hotel to get a local bus ,which is a stiff 20 min walk up

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BedfordshireChud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.9 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#8 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#9 of 90 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
8.4 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Malia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Malia Park

Property: Cretan Malia Park
Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Malia Park 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cretan Malia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Malia Park Hotel Malia
Cretan Hotel Malia
Cretan Malia Park Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing