We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience that improves the longer you stay”
Review of Cretan Malia Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cretan Malia Park
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good experience that improves the longer you stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

So my title is based on how my opinion of the hotel changed with time. Important to note that we did not book this as part of a TUI package and therefore probably paid more than many others but I would return again but just opt for the one of the deals.

We started as All Inclusive and I was a bit let down but the lack of extras that this gives. Of course you get lunch, a very mediocre buffet, or to have some "snacks" (cold sandwiches) at the beach bar but even cocktails came with a surcharge. Once we switched to half board, at a price diff of 60EUR per night, I appreciated the hotel value more. I think the fact that they allow you to switch either up or down is a benefit and appreciated that that staff were so helpful.

Food: Really pretty mediocre from my perspective but I doubt that other Cretan hotels offer much different. Even the food in the two a la carte restaurants was not great so this is what keeps the hotel from getting 5 stars in my opinion. Noting that by allocating 4 or 5 stars that does not align to the hotel being a 5 star, just that they do a good job within their price range at what they offer. We did opt to pay extra and have the lobster dinner one night and it was great - worth the money and well done. Also, they have cheap wines on the menu so you don't have to spend a lot of extra and they also sell snacks and drinks at their little store so you could save that way.

Animation: The team is fab as individuals and you have never met a harder working group. Many of their shows are good in the sense that they offer comedic relief and entertainment. Of course this is not high level dancers, singers, etc but they get out there and make you believe they are having fun. Unfortunately the audience is drab. No one claps and gets excited so I believe it must be very hard to go on smiling every day. The Ani team is great with kids and teenagers alike and I view this as one of the real strengths of this hotel, a factor that pulled my rating up from a 3 to a 4.

Beach and Garden: 5 star all the way. Good access to shade and sun, wonderful for swimming, lovely plants in the garden, clean blue flag beach - truly perfect. Also, you felt you stuff was safe, people were nice, there was enough space for everyone without lying side by side and as we got out to other areas and explored we really realized how special this hotel is for the green space.

Cats: What can we say, we liked them. We did not pet them and I they do go through the restaurant hoping for extra stuff that drops but we had no problem with them and respect how the hotel tries to educated guests to not feed them anywhere except the cat cafe, which is cool.

Room: At first I felt our room was outdated and not as nice as I would expect for the price but the room grew on me. It hand A/C you could personally control, was well insulated so you did not hear noise outside, gave us space as a family and had a view of the beach. Yes some furniture was older but the bed was comfortable and each day when we took refuge in our room I realized that I should give more credit to the +++

So, although the food was not so great the other factors pull the hotel up and now that I know what to expect I would consider returning and would recommend it (as Half Board and as part of a package). Good diversity in guests and good service from hotel made for an easy stay.

Ps. Yes Malia is horrible but like us, if you read other people's reviews then you should already realize it is not the place to go to town for dinner. Rent a car and get out a bit.

Room Tip: I think the bungalows are the best, or the family suites that are maisonettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Calendar21PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    142
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
132
176
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

To start with a big thank you to all the staff here for making us feel welcome, Worthy name checks to Stathi, Aris, Yiannis, in the lobby bar and Ruud and Stefan in the main dining area, all very helpful and talk to you like a real person and not just another tourist. We booked a bungelow room with garden view, where there were plenty of sunbeds for your own use if you didn't fancy the pool or beach. The pools were clean and plenty of sunbeds, some reserving going on but not to any detriment.The beach was not perfect but could do with some more 'housework', the beach bar was good and service with a smile from Giorgiou and a quip to boot! The room was clean and tidy, didn't expect anything more really, beds were comfy, fridge was sufficient and the air con just right for the time of year (26-6-14 to 6-7-14 ), The food in the main restaurant was varied with some theme nights and show cooking, best times to get there were either 6.30pm or after 8pm, food was fresher/hotter at those times it seems, we were all inclusive and even though they encourage you to buy bottled water for the room from the on site shop if you ask any one of the staff they would give you a bottle to take away with you. Overall very nice place to stay if you don't want to venture too far as the towns seem to be miles away, only ventured in to Malia once but found it far too young for us, bit hectic reminded me of Veronicas in Playa de las Americas, Tenerife 25 years ago, but hey ho!
In response to other reviewers ref cats, if people stopped feeding them at their tables they wouldn't sit there pleading with you!
Would we return again? Probably not due to the remoteness of the complex and there are we believe hotels of equal quality elsewhere on this lovely island.

Room Tip: If you get the opportunity, book a bungelow room, these type of rooms are away from the main pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a lovely hotel in a beautiful well cared for setting. The accommodation was clean and well appointed. I loved the fact that I could sun bathe just outside the bungalow room and also only had a few steps to the lovely pool. There are two very nice pools.The food was good and well presented although we found them a bit slow to fill up when things were emptied. The big draw back was the fact that cats were allowed to roam freely in the grounds and even into the outside dining areas of the restaurant. One day as I was waiting for a bus at the end of the drive, a cat appeared and rubbed itself up against my legs and I then later found flea bites on the back of my legs. We wouldn't have chosen this hotel had we known about this love of cats.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALIA PARK H, Guest Relations Manager at Cretan Malia Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Sheila

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay in our hotel.

We do appreciate all our guests’ feedback, as this is the only way we have to truly measure and continuously improve the services we provide.
Receiving positive comments is always very encouring , but it is even more important when clients express their suggestions to us, because this helps us in improving our hotel.

Concerning the cats: In Cretan Malia Park there is a place, far away from the restaurant area, were staff members feed the cats, that belong to the hotel. These cats are neutered and also checked by the vet. This is the so called “Cat Café”.
The Cat café is the only place, were we or the guests are allowed to feed the cats. Unfortunately, against our guide lines, some guests choose to feed them in the restaurant too. As it is clear, taking away the cats from the restaurant becomes for us a very difficult task, and were are in search of possible solutions.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

With warm regards

Your Cretan Malia Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we have been before but after a break of a year the hotel was a great as ever and the staff were wonderful. Hotel has a combination of gardens and beach with plenty of places to sun bathe. We look forward to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a second time and nothing has changed, it is just as good as last year. We were immediately recognised as returning guests and given a very warm welcome by everyone. This accommodation is first class and the staff friendly, helpful and professional. The animation team, Dominique, Katerina, Gabor, Gabriella and Daniel are full of fun and hardworking giving much pleasure to all guests young and old alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just visited the Malia Park for the sixth time in seven years. We were recognized by the reception staff and immediately sent off to the restaurant for dinner whilst other members of staff delivered our cases to our room. Whilst in the restaurant we met Ruud and Maria, they came over and made us really welcome and we had a great time joking and talking to them again.
The hotel was just as enjoyable as on our previous visits and we were very pleased that we were able to have the same room which we had requested by "E" mail. Overall the staff had not changed and they all helped to make our holiday enjoyable..
The Animation team had changed with only two members the same. This year there evening presentations were far superior to the year before and got better over the two weeks.The team always had time to stop and a chat whether during the day or evening. The team all came to say goodbye when we left.

Room Tip: Choose a Garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Cretan Park between 25/5/14 & 1/6/14. We'd booked our holiday as Thomson A La Carte holiday only to find that it had been downgraded to a Thomson Platinum by the time we got there, resulting in no taxi transfers which caused us a lot of hassle and delayed everyone on the coaches going to & from the airport. Something we were all unhappy about The hotel is just outside of Malia which I'm sad to say is a bit of a dump. If you are looking for a place where young people are enticed into the bars to get as drunk as possible & do whatever then Malia is for you! If not don't go there! We found the hotel to be a calm & friendly place. It was very clean set in beautiful gardens with it's own lovely beach. We had booked a double & single room in the main hotel. The double room was small not much bigger than the single in fact so whilst our teenage daughter revelled in all the space we felt somewhat cramped in our room and one of our cases was left out permanently. The décor of the room was clean & functional but the bathroom was tired and needed some work. Although it did have a bathroom cupboard with complimentary cotton wool balls and cotton buds which was a nice additional touch. The communal areas of the hotel were well decorated and maintained. We found the food in the restaurant at both breakfast and evening meal was ok but not great for choice. There was one night with no veg and another with no potatoes. If you like pasta you are fine as it's on every night to fall back on but for the one person in our party who doesn't like pasta or rice it was quite limiting. There was a selection of wines but we found them to be very poor. You have a choice to eat inside or outside but if you are a non smoker then you really don't want to eat outside. There is a Cretan restaurant and an Italian restaurant outside of the main hotel building where you can also eat. We started off our holiday spending time around the pool & it was really refreshing that there was none of the getting up at the crack of dawn to claim a sunbed. All the sunbeds near the pool are on the grass areas which are crawling with large black ants and we got some very nasty bites. As a result of this we spent most of our time on the beach and in the sea which was lovely and clear but very rocky on the bottom. Although on two days it was very windy and red flags were flying. Unfortunately we also had a problem with ants in our room 102 they came in through the balcony door and even up between the mattresses onto the beds. There was a plug in device in a drawer which we initially thought was for mosquitos so we used our own more modern plug. When we did plug it in, in desperation, it did help reduce their numbers. However by the time we had discovered this we had all been bitten & I had over 30 bites on my arms and legs. Germolene was the best treatment but 2 weeks later and back home I'm still using it to treat the bites. Entertainment in the evenings was surprisingly good and the animation team worked hard but were never in your face. There was limited wifi but you can get it in your room for 30 euros for the week. Due to the location , the ants the quality of the food we would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAWES162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
5.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#12 of 90 in Malia
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#6 of 90 in Malia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.2 mi away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#9 of 90 in Malia
380 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Malia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Malia Park

Property: Cretan Malia Park
Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Malia Park 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cretan Malia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Malia Park Hotel Malia
Cretan Hotel Malia
Cretan Malia Park Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing