We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Malia.”
Review of Soula Mari

Soula Mari
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soula Mari
Ranked #75 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worst hotel in Malia.”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I went to Malia in 2010 and stayed here.. And from the second we arrived it was terrible. Staff were rude, hotel was so dirty that we had to change rooms. We had a view of a garden FULL of rubbish and broken furniture tossed about it, Packed with litter and beer bottles. It was disgusting. The balcony door was so flimsy and only had a small plastic latch to keep it locked. One night me and my friends got a little too drunk and probably too loud (We were 19 years old and on our first girls holiday so I believe this was to be expected) and one guy who worked in the hotel threatened to punch me if i did not shut up and was screaming in my face.. No joke. I was disgusted!! The pool was dirty and very small. The only good thing i can say about this hotel is the location as it is right on the strip.. But I would rather take that extra 5 minutes to walk to the strip if it meant an enjoyable stay in a hotel. Malia was absolutely amazing.. But avoid the Soula Mari at all costs!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not go for the absolute cheapest. You might think there is no point spending that extra £50 just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    5
    2
    19
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here with 6 lads last summer an it was sick!! Litterally on the strip, so close enough to stagger home after the nights out.
Rooms are billy basic, which is fine as your only going to kip in it.. The only downfall is the rooms ain't got air con an the pool is a bit small, but decent enough to chill during the day. Owners are wicked niko gives you free drinks at the bar, "niko special" which always starts off the night! Stay here, its not as bad as some reviews are saying!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

From the moment we got there, we felt right at home. Nikos, Sonia and Marilena we absolute ledgends! Couldnt have done more to help if we had any problems and were great at sorting us out drinks. Free shots and Nikos' special cocktail were the order of the holiday. We had 18 other friends staying at other hotels at the same time as us and all of them said they would rather have stayed here. Compared to the other hotels it is such a relaxed atmosphere. Would recommend it to anyone and would definatly return! No problems with security at all and most of the times even left the doors open and had nothing taken.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daveyt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I was a little apprehensive before going after reading some bad reviews but cannot express how surprised i was and how amazing this hotel was!

After staying in malia last year and being robbed we were a little worried about it happening again but thankfully we were fine and everything seemed safe. Compared to the hotel last year, the soula mari was miles better. the staff actually care about giving you the best holiday possible. we were greeted by free shots which continued all holiday. We spend half our night in the bar some nights because the atmosphere was great and they had us dancing on the bar and pool table! Some other guests had birthdays during the week and the staff got cakes and got everyone in the hotel involved. They organised a bbq one day as well which was really nice!

the only downside was the air con..which is actually only a fan and with us being on the ground floor we couldn't leave our windows/doors open to let some air in.. so some nights were unbearable!! But that just made jumping in the pool at 10am sharp all that more satisfying and definitely cured a hangover!

Location is fab! right in the middle near to the split in the strip where sticky fingers restaurant is (deffo work checking out!) which means you could go either end of the strip easily and stumble home at the end.

Overall i had such a good time and am completely surprised as to why there are bad reviews. Nikos, Marilena and Sonia practically made my holiday!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor to get a cooler room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabriellaK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Well before we went we read the reviews and that put us off . but after a week at soula mari it was great staff where very kind lots of free shots easy to get to strip .the only bad thing is air con but apart from that it was the best lad hoilday you could ask for ps only go here if your up for a laugh party and have the best drunkest time of your life !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Soula Mari is in a great position on the strip. There are many bars around it and a one minute walk will take you to a club! Stayed here with 3 other girls and we had an amazing time.
Yes there were downsides to the hotel, for example we arrived late at night to find that reception was closed because they had gone to a wedding! panic. Eventually the non-english speaking security man let us into our room thank god!
The second was the pool, judging by the pictures we were scared it was going to be tiny, it wasnt and most days we were all able to get sun loungers together. However on about our 3rd day the pool got very dirty and cloudy, you couldnt see your hand in it. Eventually it started getting clearer again and you could tell they were trying to clean it. Note: if you are not a good swimmer dont go here, you cannot touch the bottom of the pool anywhere.
Enough with the bad points!
Highlights were the very friendly staff, the maid coming every 2 days, the nice pool bar food and of course all the other guests there :)
Basically YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, If you want somewhere right on the strip with simple facilities and a nice pool area to nurse your hangover then go! if your looking for piece and quiet dont bother, we would have found it very hard to sleep if we had not been completely bladdered every night!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofiw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went to the Soula Marie with absolutely no expectations and we were pleasantly surprised. We found things like kettles, little cooking hobs, a reasonably sized fridge and very decent sized rooms.

All of the staff are very friendly and they definitely made our stay worthwhile. We joined Nikos at the bar for many (free and paid for) drinks and were greeted every morning by Sonia when walking in for some breakfast with our really sore heads from the night before.

We believe the cleaning was too a good standard, our room was fully cleaned about twice during the week, we were given clean towels and our sheets were also changed.

I would recommend these apartments to anyone as we've had a great time and I would advice to go with an open mind set and to ignore all the bad reviews that are online. We got a safe on the first day and during the week we stayed there was no trouble, thefts, fights etc etc.

We had a great time and would seriously consider going back for another drink with Nikos, Sonia and Madelena!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucFeenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.0 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soula Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soula Mari

Property: Soula Mari
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soula Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soula Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soula Mari Crete
Soula Mari Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing