We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go here, ever!”
Review of Soula Mari

Soula Mari
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soula Mari
Ranked #73 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never go here, ever!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Over 2000 Euros stolen from 5 groups over 5 nights whilst we were staying there, including 400 from mine. Dead and alive cockroaches in the bathrooms and in our clothes, no aircon but you can buy a fan that doesn't work for 80 Euros. Nikos' (manager) mother slapped our friend, who then had a panic attack from their threats. CCTV cameras conveniently didn't work even though Nikos had said he'd got a friend in to fix them! All lies, and they use their baby to make them seem innocent. NEVER GO HERE, EVER!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    5
    2
    19
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Arrived at Soula Mari on the 11th July for 8 nights, with 4 girls. Read through all the reviews of this hotel before we went and we were a little worried, however we could not possibly ask for a better hotel! The staff were so friendly and couldn't do more for us, Nikos is amazing so much fun. The hotel is literally on the strip, its a fab location and about a 15 minute walk to the beach straight down the strip. We never had any issues with anything being stolen, or heard of anything like that through our stay, We had two rooms in the hotel and both were clean and no cockroaches anywhere. Yes when we arrived we were dropped off at the end n the strip and had to find the hotel but this is no fault of the hotel, we were dropped off at peak time and there was no way the coach or any other vehicle could have driven down the strip, that's just one of the sacrifices of having such a good location, this was no inconvenience to us we found it funny, and there were other people wandering round with suitcases its just a regular thing, we found the hotel petty easily after asking people for directions and arrived to a very friendly welcome from Sonia and Nikos, we decided to go straight out and we were given free drinks and shots by Nikos. You can pay for air con in the rooms if you want it but we didnt and the only time the room was a little uncomfortable was at night when we were getting ready but that is inevitable with 4 girls, this was fine as we just opened the windows and balcony doors. However it it had been too uncomfortable we could have got aircon for i think 80euro's for the week which we thought was very cheap if you consider it as 20 euros each. The atmosphere in the hotel is amazing, great for pre drinking and chilling by the pool in the day. Absolutely gutted to be home and will be going back again staying in SOULA MARI!!!!!! best hotel in Malia :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

First night 250 euros stolen, second night 150. Consulted the manager/owner Nikos who said the CCTV cameras were conveniently not working. He also accused me of lying about the robbery. His mum slapped my friend. He scared us. Don't go here; ever.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malia hotels

Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived at Soula Mari on the night of 24th June with 9 girls, we planned on staying for two weeks. 3/4 of the rooms we had booked were covered in dead cockroaches when Nikos let us into the rooms. At first he came across very friendly as he was giving us free shots and drinks however,it all seemed it was part of his plan. We discovered that he wanted to get us as drunk as possible because when we got in from the strip, I caught him in my room. He gave two different stories as to why he was in my room first he said he was sorting the cockroaches then later on he said it was because my hotel door was open. I asked to see it on the CCTV but as a coincidence - the CCTV was broke.
I checked my money bags straight away which were hidden in my case and 300 euro was missing. I went mad at Nikos but as there was no CCTV I had no proof so there was nothing I could do about it.
Three girls went home after 7 days as they could not stay in such an awful place and the rest of us went after 10 days. We were constantly on edge as Nikos was not a nice man at all and he would act very sneaky. He lives in the hotel with his mum, wife and child. He would complain at the slightest bit of noise but why would you bring a baby up on Malia strip!??
Our rooms didn't get cleaned once in the whole 10 days, they were disgusting!! The pool is 7ft deep the whole way round and the pool area is very small. It absolutely ruined our holiday and I dread to think how many young, vulnerable girls he takes advantage off. Showers are freezing cold you get an hour of warm water at 10 at night. No air con but it is available at a cost in some rooms.
He also keeps the passports the whole time your there and will not give you them back which is ILLEGAL!!
This place needs shutting down please do not stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: Some upstairs rooms have air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we traveled 2 couples ages 25-27 so we booked 2 rooms.we arrived in the evening the reception was closed (the reception was always closed and there was no one to talk to) they left a note on the door with our room number, for the first night we stayed 4 people in one room! (when we called the manager she was very rode said that she doesn't have another clean room this evenning and said "no sex today tomorrow 2 times"). the rooms are horrible, single beds from the 60's' dirty, stains on the bed & on the sheets. there were no cleaning during our stay there and when we asked for another toilet paper roll we been told that there was a store down the street go & buy some! the shower has no curtain so when you take a shower you need to take the toilet paper out of the room! at the second day the shower head fell off and we had to tape and hold it togther each shower! most of the time there were no hot water.
the dishes in the kitchen were filthy and had rust on them. the view from the rooms was a construction site full with garbage and looked like a drug den!
the pool is tiny and very very very dirty (the color of the water was green) with dead insects inside and were closed all the time.
this place is not a hotel it's worse then the cheepest inn!!! stay away and don't waste your money on it! it will ruin your holiday!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Arrived at the hotel with a group of 5 girls that have been on previous party holidays (Magaluf & Kavos) and ready to party!

We got dropped off at the top of the strip and couldn't find the hotel anywhere, we were walking around peak time of the night (3am) with our suitcases. We arrived and the staff took ages to check us in even though we were the only guest arriving, we got shown to our room and I didn't expect the best as it is a cheap party holiday but this was something else, a rusty stove, rock hard beds, the smallest balcony with a view that looked like a rubbish center you get in England with a stray dog walking among it. Two of the beds were in the kitchen area and the view from that was a part built building with vodka bottles, belts, tshirts, kitchen pans threw on to it and at the bottom floor a washing machine and tyres and a bed which we sworn we saw a man staying in it one night.

First day- went to go and have a shower and the shower head flew off and was left with a 'hose pipe' to shower with, let alone FREEZING cold water. Went straight down to reception and they insisted they will get someone to fix it..... Lets just say 10 days later (the last day) we were still with the 'hose pipe' after several mentions to the reception, until we had the idea to stick the head back on with nail glue!
We also asked staff why every time we showered it was freezing cold (even though its a hot country you want to be able to have a pleasant shower) and to our shock they replied telling us that they only turned on the hot water between 7-10pm!!!

During our stay there were many other foreign people (not Greek) with a microphone and speakers singing religious prayers which echo'ed throughout the whole hotel. At first we didn't mind at all until they got moved two doors down away from us.

ANTS everywhere! One of the room's got so filled up with ants and after 4 complaints and promises from staff that they will solve this they came back to us and said they don't have anything to get rid of the ants but the supermarket 10 mins walk away does have some ant killer that we can purchase ourselves as it isn't their responsibility!

The kitchen utensils I wouldn't even feed my dog out of, rusty not washed and the hob having orange sauce all on it from previous cooking which had not been cleaned before our arrival.

One morning I woke up with this stench from the bed so I began to strip my bed to find the mattress stained in every place in urine and the hotness of the air brought out the odor, the staff again did not do anything about this so done 'top and tail' for the rest of my stay.

Pool Area is so so small and I wouldn't say the pool had been cleaned or up-kept to the standard it should of been as you could not see through the water within our last 3 days.

This hotel should seriously be on Holiday's from Hell!
The only positive thing I would give this hotel is the location as it is directly on the strip of Malia, once you actually find the hotel!

The owners would have to pay me to stay at their hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jess521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Me and 6 other mates arrived after a long time lookin for the hotel, as many taxi drivers didn't know where it was. However, on arriving, nicos and the others took us to our rooms and were friendly, which was true for the rest of the week. The rooms were very good at first view, and appeared to be well worth the money. The shower however was cold, and the floor flooded every time we had a shower. Other than that, the room was exactly what you need for a lads holiday, and most of all is right in the middle of the strip, so was perfect for going back and getting money if needed.

An hotel in the best location and definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.0 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
0.0 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soula Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soula Mari

Property: Soula Mari
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soula Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Soula Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soula Mari Crete
Soula Mari Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing