We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Malia!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Komi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Komi
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Malia!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We arrived at El Komi on the 12th July, and as it was just two girls on holiday we were a bit nervous after reading some reviews before, but as soon as we got there (at quarter past 2am) we met some people and went straight out. We were met with a friendly reception and security guard costas who was lovely and made us all toasties when we got home at 7 in the morning. The room was fine to stay in had everything we needed as we only slept during the day, although would definitely recommend that people buy some toilet roll from the supermarket as its hard to come by!! The maid was also very nice and chatted to us whilst cleaning our room as we stayed in bed. Best hotel rooms are overlooking the strip (ours was 218) as it was good to sit on the balcony wwith a drink before you went out at night. The hotel couldnt be in a better place as it was a 30 second walk from all the best places on the strip but noise from the strip was no problem at all as you couldnt hear too much as soon as you were in your room. Lots of reviews about this hotel before has said owners would not let you play music in your room but this was never a problem for us as the security guard was really nice and couldnt have been more friendly to every guest in the hotel! Pool was good, music all day and drinks, occasionally a free fruit salad which is definitely needed when your hungover. Definitely will be returning to el komi next time we decided to come to malia!!

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the strip!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elicarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    25
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Went here in July '13 for 11 nights and after reading the reviews wasn't expecting this to be the nicest of hotels but with the great location it was a no brainer.

We arrived to a used condom and someone's shorts on our balcony which isn't really a balcony. The bathroom which should be the redeeming feature of the room is nice but not practical it is essentially a wet room that doesn't drain water so the floor is always wet, after a day it smells awful and was cleaned only 3 times in 11 days. You have to hold the shower (one of these silly telephone showers) the hotel doesn't produce it's own hot water so you can only really get a hot shower in the afternoon.

Reception told us rooms would be cleaned daily (3 times in 11 days), towel changed every 3 days (changed once) and bedding was only changed once. The worst thing however is the toilet roll we were forever asking for toilet roll going days at a time without any restaurant napkins are your new best friend. Also be warned there is no 'knock knock' housekeeping, you are just barged in on regardless of your state of undress or if you're sleeping.

The location of this hotel is fantastic however possibly the best situated hotel on the strip and yes you can hear the music at night but there are 2 set of balcony doors which make it easily bearable. On the other hand what also comes with being right on the strip is the noise of your neighbours, I experienced bleating music at 6am and people running up and down the corridors at all hours, people running into your 'balcony' and helping themselves to whatever, door banging and people actually trying to get into your room whilst the couple next door lull you off to sleep. DO NOT intend to sleep any time from 8pm until at least 10am it is truly impossible.

The hotel is bed and breakfast but honestly don't bother your probably not going to be up in time to have the 2 slices of packaged ham and cheese a bit of toast and sorry looking tomatoes there's enough places the do a €2.90 breakfast standard and the restaurant opposite give you 10% discount anyway.

The pool area is the best feature of the hotel music, loungers, alcohol, ice cream and you can buy food the only thing i can say is a few more parasols would be nice.

So overall if your young and want to party hard, not too fussed about being woken up in the morning and cleanliness is not on the top of your priorities this hotel is for you LOCATION CAN'T BE BEATEN.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capricorn0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel with three girls on 27th June - 5th July and REALLY enjoyed it. Before we went we were reading the reviews and were told not to expect too much from the hotel as the star rating is low, however upon arrival we were greeted my the friendly hotel owners who took our passports and put them in the safe and explained where our rooms were. Although there is no lifts there is only one floor above ground level and one below ground level so dont worry!
We were given the keys for our room and were helped to carry the cases. The rooms are standard with a dressing table, mirror, fridge, two beds and a balcony. The bathrooms are tiled and very clean.
The breakfast is served from 8-10 but over the road is a great restaurant, with full English breakfasts waiting for you to crawl across too at less than £3!
The pool area is very clean with a bar serving icecreams, snacks, non alcoholic and alcoholic beverages 9-7 with up to date music playing and accepts requests too!
The staff are so lovely and friendly, this is a family run hotel but they understand thre hotel is in the middle of Malia and we are there to have a good time!
This part of Malia really is not for families but for groups of friends!
The hotel deserves a higher star rating with how great our stay was, HOWEVER the beds and towels are only changed once during the week so i recommend taking two extra towels - one for the pool or beach.
The beach is about a 15min walk down the strip (turn right at McDonalds and left at the quad-bike shop).
Overall i would recommend this hotel to any 18-30s groups, it is on the strip and you will have the best holiday!
There is a security staff that will usher you to be quiet when you come in as the hotel owners sleep in the hotel, his name is Graham, hes a nice bloke and providing you dont push your luck with him he will be fine with you.
The internet is good, 50cent for 30mins in reception

Room Tip: To buy a safe is 40euro for the week To buy the A/C is 45euro for the week Take extra towels Saf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HXRXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

perfect location as right on the strip if you are in malia to party ... the staff in this hotel are very friendly and will help you with what you need . the pool area is lovely with a bar offering drinks and snacks not too expensive . would return to this hotel if i was going back to mailia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

June 2013 jus back from last minute booking at el komi located bang on the strip very friendly staff cannot do enough for you rooms are comfortable clean and considering the location alot quieter than we thort lovely pool area would definately go again probably for the wifes 50th all down to Tina and Mileo husband and wife team who run the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed at el komi with my girlfriend roberta. This hotel reminded me of ancient roman temples from the unique chandeliers to the stone age "el komi" sign. However, this hotel was pure dead brilliant. Although, on our first day at the pool area i fancied a wee swim and was met by a floating brown object. (yous know what im talking about). Even though this hotel has its faults i would reccomend to ALL people. EL KOMI FOR THE WIN.

Room Tip: Choose rooms to the south with a shower curtain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Visited July 2012. This hotel couldn't get any closer to the lively strip! Which yes is the bonus for my holiday as this was number one priority. But the hotel owners hate noise .. So when you want a few pre drinks in your room with a bit of music was a bit of a fail. So we soon hit the pubs pretty quick .. Or when coming in at 5ish you kinda had to go straight to sleep or they'd be knocking on your door to shut you up! Yes this is good for the other people staying in this hotel but what do you expect on a girls holiday aged 18-19 and on the strip? Would maybe go back.. But this time not bed & breakfast because all breakfast were was toast with some different spreads. Owner lovely person though and helped us out ringing a friend in hospital! And also rearranged our rooms so they were next door to eachother. We were the only girls in that hotel tho! Pool is nice, small but very nice as its new.
P.s If you don't like male attention ladies don't go Malia!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.2 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vergas
Hotel Vergas
#36 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Komi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Komi

Property: El Komi
Address: 46 Democracy Str, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Hotel Class:2 star — El Komi 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your El Komi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Komi Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing