We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best, but ok”
Review of Real Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real Palace
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“not the best, but ok”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

stayed here in August 2008 with 4 other mates. It as ok, nice and clean and the pool was nice. I do resent having to pay 30 euro fine to bring a girl back though. but not the end of the world. generally a nice enough place to stay, maybe a little far to walk to the main strip though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    51
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
16
42
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

So we read the reviews when we booked it and all looked good. However, when we read the new ones the day before we were due to fly out there and I was considering 'misplacing my passport'! Honestly though we needn't have worried. 7 boys, 6 girls, some couples, ages ranging from 17-24 and we all had a brilliant time. Nice staff. There were a few occasions when Manos had to tell us to be quiet, and our inflatables got taken off us at one point when the lads were being LADS (lol) but it was fair enough. Nobody got hit with a rounders bat and dragged out of their room though! We did eat and drink there all day long so maybe we were let off a bit but I think if you respect the staff and their business, you'll receive the same respect back. Very clean and well looked after. Our balcony door didn't lock properly though so after previous reviews I thought this was the start of things to come but I told Manos on our way out at night and it was fixed on return. We got one safe in one room and all just used that for passports etc which was fine. I was a bit apprehensive about the safes and the money situation thanks to previous reviews so used a cashcard but others in the group left their money in the safe and all was fine. Air con is a must. Some tried to save money and not bother with it but ended up sweating the night away and getting eaten alive. A bit expensive but worth it really for that reason. We ate out every night- best places were in the old village area a short walk away from the hotel. You can also get a great daytime gyros from the busy main street near the strip (can't remember what the place was called but the sign had underground logos next to it!) Reliving the hol a bit here and missing it! Defs go! #takemeback #nocalsbeforemals

Room Tip: Poolside was best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Me and my partner holidayed at the Real palace for a week, arriving on the 25th September. We were a little apprehensive about how we would find the apartments and owners, as we read quite a few negative comments on trip adviser about the place, but we really needn't have worried. The apartments are immacualate.The whole complex was built in 2006, so its quite new, and has been taken really good care of. Everything was spotless. The apartments had a lovely modern kitchenette, and loads of space to put your things in the huge fitted wardrobes. The maid cleaned 3 tmes a week and changed the towells and linen 1 once a week. We had a balcony overlooking the pool, and it was a lovely little sun trap. because it was out of season, it was very quiet at the complex. Just a few families and couples, so there was no rowdiness or noise.
The apartments are situated along a quiet road in the old town, and its only a 10 minute walk to the main strip.
The owners Manos and Costas were very friendly and helpful. They both work very hard to make the grounds, pool and bar stay spotless.
I would reccomend any couples that want a lovely out of season holiday to book here, I know i would again.

Room Tip: Have a room overlooking the pool. Its a suntrap all day, and you have beautiful views of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Have just returned from a very enjoyable weeks stay at the Real Palace.....great place, nice quiet location in lovely grounds, spotlessly clean, lovely pool, good food (the club sandwich was delicious) and the best banana milkshakes ever. A short walk into town, and the strip (10 min walk), with some lovely places to eat nearby in the old village. Kosta and Manos were friendly and helpful. All in all not a bad word to say about the place, we had a great time and will certainly go back there again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaLamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Do not be put off by the bad reviews on here, these must be from very arrogant people, who don't respect other people. We as a grooup of 4 girls stayed here for an extremlly enjoyable 10 day stay. The hotel is really clean, and the rooms are of a good size. Costa and Manos are really friendly and look after the guests really well. the pool is really ace, and very relaxing. The food is good (especially the omellettes). The walk to the town takes about 10 minutes, even if walking slowly, no taxis needed at all.
We had a brilliant time and are already planning our next visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HullYorkshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

i cannot express enough how absolutely horrible the staff are. Manos is THE biggest dikhead i have come across. one of our friends come onto our patio at 12 midday for a drink and manos came running over screaming at us like we were children. threatening to call the police or all pack up an leave unless we pay him 30 euros. one of the flimsy plastic chairs had a crack in it. i made the mistake of not pointing it out straight away and forgot about it an sat on it. i broke it. 2 hours later at 9 in the morning whilst i was still sleeping manos lets himself into our room screaming me awake, opening the blinds getting blinded by sunlight as to being woken with a shock. then demands 50 euros or leave the hotel an police action. Then theres vladimir the cleaner is also a dikhead. shouts at you to be quiet when were siting on the patio. just chatting. we werent playing music or being loud. this happens everytime you go onto the patio after a night out. THen there the charges for the sheets and towels. dirty towels cost you 40 euroes whilst sheets cost you 30 euroes. as far as im concerned after a few days of just sleeping on sheets an getting dry of towels. they are going to get dirty no matter what. this is advertised as a young persons place to stay. its not at all. nobody should stay at this place its a complete rip off. its too far away from the strip. i could write a essay on how bad this place is. overall manos an vladimir are fookin dikheads that in my opinion give greeks a bad name. do not stay here at any cost.

Room Tip: just dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lewis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

First off, i should say this is a decent quality hotel with a good pool and good bar service. The staff (at first) seem nice enough and are up for a laugh. However, like most places in Greece, all they care about is swindling money out of you and have very volatile personalities. On the second night, 3 of us went to sit on the people's balcony below us for a chat. Nights out in Malia can last until about 8am so this story takes place around 7am. So we sat there talking, and out of the blue, a wild Manos appeared and attacked. He grabbed my mate and dragged him across the lawn. Now, my mate's a stocky chap, so he did well to keep cool, but Manos was on fire. He grabbed me and shoved me into my room before slamming the door, and then continued to abuse the others. He told them we all had to leave the hotel, wouldn't allow us to take our money or passports out of the safe, and to come back tomorrow, leaving us to think we'd be coming back to empty rooms. The next day, he made out as if nothing had happened.
That day, I accidentally broke a standard white patio chair on my balcony and Manos made me pay no less than 50 Euros to replace it. My pleas that this chair was already damaged, as was most of our garden furniture when we arrived, seemed ineffective. Having already witnessed Manos's wrath, I paid the 50 Euros and advised him to use the change to buy him and his wife a nice cruise.
Next, I come to the cleaner, whose sole intention in life is to spray a few tiles near the entrance to the hotel whilst stopping anybody from bringing back guests. In other words, Manos has hired himself a professional cockblocker. I wish him the best of luck.
Finally, I want to talk about toilet roll. Replacement of this item would seem a fairly common practice in most hotels, but our cleaner, bless her, managed to go a whole week without one replenishment.
Overall, a generous 2 stars. Manos, if you're reading this, I want you to know that Costas and your wife are invited to my Malia reunion party next week, but there wasn't enough room for you. Sorry mate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Thorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.7 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#12 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.4 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#31 of 90 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Palace

Property: Real Palace
Address: no 19 St George Loutres St. | Outskirts of Malia Old Village, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palace Hotel Malia
Real Palace Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing