We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent, good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ariadne Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Excellent, good quality hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from 1 week at this hotel, hotel is just a walk away from all the shops, with many many brand imitations! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, plenty of space on the beach and pool, although you have to pay 5.40 for 2 but that more or less guarantees a space to enjoy the sun, beach was excellent, loungers in good shape,beach bar was excellent and clean,but fairly empty at night, hotel guests were a mix of young and old and mainly couples, and seemed very popular with german and russian guests. Food was good for a buffet, both breakfast and dinner has a excellent range of food, not too greasy and something for everyone and importantly tasted good.staff in the restaurant were attentive and tables were cleared quickly. The street outside is very busy with all the people,cars,mopeds,bikes and pedestrians at nightime, but lots of lunch options and very good bars,We got an upgraded balcony room with aircon and sea view for 15e a night,the normal ones seem to face the street with no aircon, so with the noise and the heat it really is necessary for the price. Altogether was a very clean and nice hotel and definitely worth a stay here. Only bad points was the shower curtain in the room was very dirty and needs to be replaced or washed, the shower cublicle was pretty small, and the hotel cameraman seemed a bit pushy.
Also, the hotel could sell water at supermarket prices, may be handy for the guests as people seemed to be in and out with water all the time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    87
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
103
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

lovely location shops bars outside door 2k walk into Malia if you want to experience crazy create. right on beach hotel very clean room cleaned every day to a high standard buffet food in restaurant was good found something to eat every night. we stayed in room 315 was fine had view of main reception side view of sea pool good power in shower hair dryer in bathroom.by the pool and on the beach you had to pay for sun loungers cost €5.40 for 2 for the day this was not a problem for us as it stopped the covering of sun loungers with towels by the early risers.we were not offered any room upgrade on arrival and our room was a very nice standard. we were charged €12 euro for safe rental and €42 for air con rental for the week both required.
good points
location couldn't be better.
very clean.
food was good.
Bad points
having to pay for air con.
two of the waiters in restaurant where very sleazy while you were waiting for your drink they ware hitting on all the young women in the restaurant Very unprofessional.
no entertainment in bar.

Room Tip: standard room is fine go for a drink in the paradise bar up the road great value lovely people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

...for all the usual reasons, and maybe a few less comment able ones. This is a well managed enterprise. The managers know what their guests want I.e. they know their audience, and they know how to deliver. The resort was built a few decades ago, but you wouldn't know it, since the owners have clearly ploughed back considerable capital to ensure that the product, and supporting service is of a really good quality. Everywhere you went the staff had the right attitude; courteous and ver professional. They knew what they were doing and were very obviously well motivated to do it. Bottom line, one always felt that one was getting full value for money.

The beach was excellent, and the weather consistently good. Since loungers and umbrellas had to be paid for, this meant that the ratio of beach furniture to guests was more than adequate; no competitive running around with beach towels to reserve loungers etc. Equally, the ratio of space to guests meant that there was adequate space for groups to park themselves, either on the raised grass terraces overlooking the sea or on the beach itself. The food was...well, frankly, school food. Decent quality, some variety but not a lot of imagination. Very little fresh fruit or veg. Buffet style food always encourages the overfilling of plates, and this canteen proved no exception. It was clearly a concept that most of our fellow guests were very familiar with given the average girth of all participants. Gave 'the Hindenburg Effect' a brand new meaning. I'd watch with admiration on my trip to the coffee machine as they'd lean in to their tucker with as much determination of purpose as the Pontypool front row.

Can't resist one last curled lip sneer: for all the excellent facilities of the hotel itself, the road outside hotel and the environs of Stalista is not for the faint hearted. It makes Blackpool look elegantly understated. Fried food restaurants buskers compete with footy bars, car hire outlets, mini-markets and fake watch emporiums. Quad bikes with mullet-haired drivers roar erratically up and down the street competing against each other and yelling over their shoulders. Pass me the smelling salts Daphne...

Notwithstanding, I enjoyed myself and came away satisfied. Overall good experience, and the competence of the staff and managers made me feel valued. I'd recommend it to others, and do it again myself.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Titus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Lovely location, only two complaints.... sunbeds now 5 euros per day(For two) and having to pay extra for drinks with the evening meal- even water.
If I were to go again, I would consider hiring a car to see more of the island as the organised trips are either too long or too naff!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to room with fridge, balcony and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louiebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

My stay in Ariadne was pleasant and enjoyable. Location is nice and quiet. Territory is green. Fresh Greek food and polite personnel. Lots of people staying next to the swimming pool so the beach usually is not crowded, you can enjoy almost private stay next to the sea on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great location, great people and just an all around lovely hotel!

We travelled with our daughter whose was 14 months at the time, the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us.

The food was good, well put it this way, I am a very fussy eater and managed to eat every night, my daughter never had a problem which was my main concern.

The location is fantastic. We paid to upgrade our room to have a sea view and it was definitely worth it (not that you had to, the whole hotel was lovely), the views are gorgeous!

This is a perfect getaway if your looking for a very relaxing day with great surroundings and it's up to you what you do in the evening, you can go to Stalis which is very bustly or stay at the pool bar and relax.

The only thing I don't like is having to pay for sunbeds. The guy who manages the sunbeds was a wonderful guy, very polite, so I guess if I didn't pay he wouldn't be employed. I can see why they do it because the hotel is smack bang on the beach and many people come from other hotels an use the facilities as it's so nice. I think though may be in future the could find a way to distinguish the hotel guests from other guests.

Other than that I LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

First of all I have got to say that we were there May, 2011 instead of 2012 but I cannot select 2011 anymore. Hotel was not too expensive and transfer from airport was good, but cost you 1h. Directly before hotel they leave you with the bus, very small roads there, but they bring you directly to the hotel. Staff was very friendly and it was always clear and well organized. We payed 15 EUR extra each day for sea view room with better comfort, they showed us after arriving, but we also could say we take or room booked via Internet without sea view. Pool looks nice and was always very clean. Breakfast was really good and with buffet we were fine with, the same with dinner. It is no 5* food, but you do not book 5*, so it is not any problem. For category it was really ok. Next to the hotel is a car sharing house and the owner was really friendly and prices were also really ok, here I would book car again. Beach of this hotel we don't like and never enjoyed the sea here. We always travelled by car to some nice beaches around Crete. There are so many really cool beaches out there, why staying at the home beach which is not that nice? "City" next to the hotel is very touristic and the locals always talk to you, something to eat or drink. For every day it was not ours, but this wasn't plan of the holiday. I can confirm that you won't do any mistake in booking this hotel if you would like to mix up your holiday with relaxing at the pool, travel around by car and do some sightseeing stuff and to bath at many other beaches. Fuel is expensive, but booking cars not. So it is just ok. Next to the hotel you have got some shops, supermarket, restaurants and all the stuff you need. For bus station you have got to walk 300m to the main road but we always had a car, so we didn't test travelling by bus.
So many words about this trip...; now few short words about: Hotel is good to safe some money against other hotels, but you should know that you will receive what you booked, you can't expect 5*. But for 3* service and area of this hotel I ever can confirm that it is absolutely bookable. From my point of view hotel is best for people who do not like to spend too much money and travel a bit around, but not too much. You won't see crete completely because hotel is located too much right of this country and you only have got 1 really good street and others you do not be able to drive fast.

Room Tip: If it is very hot during your holiday in the summer month, I would prefer sea view with clima automa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xarix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.4 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
1,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#10 of 95 in Malia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
1.1 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#6 of 95 in Malia
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariadne Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariadne Beach Hotel

Property: Ariadne Beach Hotel
Address: Tagmatarchou Grammatikaki Nik., Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Malia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ariadne Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ariadne Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariadne Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing