We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and me had a great vacation of one week at Ikaros Beach quite close to the end of the season there (October 15-22, 2011).

Without any doubt, we enjoyed the staying at this Resort and will recommend it to our friends.

5-stars in almost all of the aspects.

First of all, the services were really good. They know how to work with customers and cause them to feel well.

They mention in the web-site: the elegant atmosphere, the reputed gastronomy and the attentive service of Ikaros. Fully agree with these!

The only exceptions were:
- WiFi connection has to be improved
- Evening ammusements could be better

Bottom-line: excellent!

You really get Return On Investment.

Uri Farkash
Israel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Uri_fa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    164
    46
    8
    3
See reviews for
251
282
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Had a pleasant few days here and generally enjoyed the stay but while the resort, accomodation, pools, beach facilities are all good quality, the experience was disappointing in a few respects - sufficient to say I wouldn@t go back there.
The "bungalow" we had was well finished, but the "PC and internet" in every room claim was rather exaggerated. Yes there was a PC. However, the PC & Monitor required a power point each - and there was only one there. Add to that there was no internet connection point and no wireless except at a couple of hotspots in the main hotel and it is fair to say - there is NOT a "PC with internet" in every room!
We booked a double - and got two single beds pushed together - OK I hear you say, that's pretty standard. It is - except they were made up as two singles too, with seperate sheets on each bed. They apparently haven't heard of quilts there either - just sheets and blankets. Beds uncomfortably hard too.
Our bungalow was right beside the beach bar/cafe - which was OK except the same "muzak" played over and over and over and over does get to you after a while! They seem to have 3 soundtracks of 5 minutes each!
Rooms were however, clean and spacious.

The food - all buffet style - was pretty average but a good selection most of the time. We couldn't eat anything on offer one night so went out to a local restaurant. They do offer an a-la-carte option, but you need to book it ahead of time (and they only offer a 12 Euro credit for half or full board customers towards the cost of a-la-carte - so if the cost of the 3 course buffet is 12 Euro then that explains the "average quality".

Resort is well maintained (pretty new) with three main pools (outdoor) and one indoor one (the indoor one is really for keep fit style swimming being just a rectangular long thin pool). The bungalow pools were too cold to be usable when we were there (weather was not too good and quite cool).

All in all a 5 star rated resort but needing to do better to justify this rating - after all, they charge as if it is a real 5 start resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nelliefraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Paid a lot of money to upgrade to a Bungalow with a sea view, we looked out over a dusty road and field, with a limited view of the sea.
Food was average at best unless you paid extra for A'la carte. Entertainment was so bad it was funny.
Although there was notices up telling you not to reserve sun beds, most had towels on by 9.00am with people not turning up until after breakfast. Complaints to Management made no difference.
On a positive note, the rooms where large and clean.Grounds well kept and service from staff was excellent.
If your going to spend a lot of money in this area of Crete, shop around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 456Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

arrived at hotel at 01.00 hrs greeted with a cold snack & drink in resturant very nice
taken to room to unpack luggage, may aswell get it out of the way now fresh start in the morning,woken up at 8.30 with letter being slipped under door
please ring reception,rings reception tobe told we have been given the wrong room.
explains we have already unpacked & we are going to breakfast,[reply we will help u pack]
anyway repacks taken to new room, opens door lovley surprice bed unmade towels on the floor bins full up lovley rings reception [reply can u go to beach for 1 hour till room is cleaned] ;
great wasted 1/2 a day.
paid £3,200 for 10 nts with a veiw of a tree.
anyway now the good points great location central to malia on the left stalis on the right
beach is fantastic no problems getting sunbeds ,<free> lovley sand crtstal clear water,
food is very good but a bit bland at times staff at bars & resturants very helpfull and likes to enjoy them selves ( not like reception )
all the pools are great & clean,
anyway back 2 bad points asked to keep room on as we wasted 1/2 a day at the beginning of the holiday [ reply yes sir that will be 230, euros for 12 hrs ]
no thanks might come back might not.
i think i will stay with the atlantica hotel chain more organised.

Room Tip: dont get garden veiw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SouthamptonThesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife booked this trip and at first it seemed a little pricey to me. In the end - It worth every penny and we were sorry to leave.
The whole place is very well thougt, built on a peninsula sort like a greek village - the concept offers intimacy and great wiews from the rooms.
Rooms are cosy and clean, food is great, people are friendly and proffesional.
People who are demanding whith the food will not be dissapointed. The Chef is allways on the lookout and really knows his job. All eating areas are very clean.
Lots of pools and beach is great too. There are three a-la-carte restaurants built on the rocky shore whith great wiew. There are special places and a pool for small children too.
Most of all we never felt crowded at any time. No queue at the restaurant and enough sunbeds for everybody at any hour of the day - at least on the beach.
On the downside the entertainment part had some lacks. There were four young people that did their best but... no voleyball court during day and low budget entertaining programs in the evening. Anyway exiting the hotel premises puts you straight on Malia`s Seashore Street - where all the action is!
All in all an excellent resort - a place worth coming back.

Room Tip: best room location - rooms situated on the rocky seashore whith private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liviur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

excellant facilities for families,family animator matteo and his team are amazing and genuinely nice people.
hotel is situated in beautiful,well maintained grounds and private.beach is sandy,sea is clear and beautiful to swim in and safe.
all restaurants are great and varied a la carte allows children and is fantastic food and view,especially lobster evening.
the spa is amazing,the therapist georgia is the best masseuse and facialist i have ever had,great experiance
we didnt want to leave this wonderful place and seriously would go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurajls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed 5 days (4 nights) in Crete at hotel Ikaros beach, in a seaview bungallow with private pool.
We booked a bungallow without pool, but at the arrival (at 23.00...) the manager at the reception told us, that 'sorry', there is no available bungallow without pool, so we were upgraded - without any extra paying - for a very charming bungallow with own pool and beautiful seaview.
Charming, village-like bungallos, nice staff, very-very good and rich buffet style breakfast and dinner (really 5 stars).
Clean and beautiful private beach, nice pools - for children too...!

Important: be careful if you arrive at the hotel in the night - because on the main road there is only one, not to big sign with the title 'Ikaros Beach'; in the dark you can easy miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungallow vith seaview...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosszido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
4.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
7.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
51.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
5.3 mi away
Laguna Resort and Spa
Laguna Resort and Spa
#1 of 7 in Anissaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
7.7 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Promenade, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#1 Spa Hotel in Malia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#2 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the northern coast of Crete, an island renowned for its unspoiled coastal charm, natural beauty and rich culture lies the picturesque Ikaros Beach Luxury Resort and Spa. The hotel is perfectly positioned on a rocky peninsula with sandy beaches, coastal flora and sweeping views overlooking the Cretan Sea. Our five-star hotel - steeped in the warmth of Cretan traditions and hospitality - brings luxury, romance and world-class services together to ensure an unforgettable holiday as our rich culture and unique traditions become part of your experience. Whether you want to have a romantic sunset stroll and feel the sand between your toes or indulge in a Mediterranean feast made from the finest products at one of our restaurants, sip on a signature cocktail, simply relax or get pampered in The Aura Spa, Ikaros Beach can make your dreams come true. With our eclectic mix of true Cretan architecture, outstanding services and amenities we bring you the best of both worlds; a chance to have an authentic experience with the option of choosing between our Bed & Breakfast, Half-Board or All-Inclusive packages as you enjoy our high-quality concierge and services. With welcoming open arms - next to the cobalt water and right by a sandy beach, 35 km from Heraklion - your tranquil Greek delight awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Ikaros Beach Luxury Resort And Spa
Lti Ikaros Beach Luxury Hotel Malia
Ikaros Village Plátanos
Ikaros Village Hotel Plátanos
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing