We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel, but book in three's!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great hotel, but book in three's!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Seen on the nice refurbished rooms? Look good right? Think again, if you're going to stay at this hotel going in a group of three! Me and my friend went and stayed here for a week in July, first impressions weren't really until the morning due to our 2am arrival, instantly we were met by a rep called matt from Scotland who took us into one of the lads rooms we met on the coach journey which Happened to be bottom floor and refurbished, looked bang on like the photos you've probably all seen before.. We were give a sheet which basically said which events were which days.. Come on now, we've been travelling all day all we wanna do is get on that strip and get drunk! We don't wanna be parting money the moment we get there when we haven't even seen the strip, wait until the next day guys honestly! And don't be dubbed in on the ' they will be sold out tomorrow' scam because they won't, it's Malia you can get event tickets anywhere you want.. Anyways back to the room, we had this meeting with Matt and it took a good hour and we basically said several times we'll sort it tomorrow... We then all left went to our rooms and this is where me and my mate were a little ticked off to say the least, we paid 560 pound each and expected a decent room for that, we ended up on floor 3 in an unrefurbished room which is a huge difference, everything the beds smaller and older, the balcony is tiny, the shower is small without a curtain and cold! Our safe had problems, our balcony door didn't lock.. Not the best start to the holiday you may say, but anyways we bought air con and safe which was 50 euros, bargain in my eyes as its must need! The only other massive let down in this hotel is the rule of no one being allowed in your room of the opposite sex, absolute madness I can understand the outsiders not being allowed but no, people at the same hotel wasn't allowed either! (Didn't stop us sneaking into people's rooms though) you're only there a week right? Make the most of it and that's what we did, but don't let those two things bother you they are minor after all, literally could not fault the place apart from those two things.. The breakfast was incredible like 3 euros and it was banging! Wifi is 2 euros an hour which is all you need really from time to time, swimming pool was so good and also the pool bar was decent, in all honesty it's the best location too right at the top of strip so you miss nothing! We went to spar which is just down the strip to go shopping everything you need is there, we took more money than most people thinking we would do the events and we never did so we had 850 each to spend on what we liked, if you wanna know about what sort of money to take it depends on you personally what you'd budget daily because little things crop up all the time, I still only came back with 100 euros, water city is a must by the way! Great day out, go karting is further down the strip.. Little tip for you all, bigger the group better the deals, so meet people get to know them head out in the twenties if you have too you will just get better deals 3 drinks, 2 shots, fishbowl was what we had every single bar! Places for everyone food, bars, clubs everything you want it's there for you.. Overal it was the best holiday ever so enjoy your time in Malia! OH AH MALIA SAY OH AH MALIA!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    18
    13
    30
See reviews for
1
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

For what we paid, and a for a Club 18-30 hotel, the room and hotel in general what exactly what I was told it would be like. The room was spacious and was reasonably clean. The bathroom wasn't so good as it lacked a bit of cleanliness and you had to hold the shower head.

The only part that was negative about our stay was the fact that we gave in our key and went back to ask for it but the receptionist told us we didn't give it in. We ended up having to pay for it which was ridiculous seeing as they lost it. The receptionist Anna was also told us we were too noisy and couldn't drink on our own balcony which is also ridiculous because we were probably one of the quietest guests in the whole hotel.

It is in the best location as it is near enough to the strip, but far enough away as well so you don't hear all the noise. It has a little shop opposite and a bigger supermarket about 10 mins away which are both really handy. Overall, I would definitely stay here again as the general hotel atmosphere was relaxing during the day and lively when you wanted it to be in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyclark94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Me and friends have just recently came back from our holiday when we stayed at this hotel, we all wanted a fun exciting holiday before we go our separate ways. Although the hotel manager/women receptionist treated us like we were back at school, our male friends were not allowed on our balcony's or in our rooms at any time. At one point she actually stole our room card so the lights went off and told us we have to drink downstairs at the bar. This was our only problem at the hotel the food was great, the bar staff and the reps made us feel welcome it was just this problem. I think its stupid how 18 year old girls cannot speak to other boys (friends) in our own rooms.
Hope you do try this hotel just be wary of this women

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have no idea where the bad reviews are coming from......Myself and two friends were staying in room 205 (First floor - referb rooms). The room was large and roomy - couldn't ask for more :) The shower was a bit annoying as you had to hold the shower head but apart from that it was great! The rooms were cleaned every day, no complaints :) The utensils were dirty but that was expected from an 18-30's hotel. However, the pool bar downstairs was amazing - English breakfast for €2.50, can't go wrong. People complaining about the noise clearly have no idea what the point of a club 18-30 holiday is - People will be noisy when they're drunk. I slept really well. Overall the stay was great and just what I was looking for. The staff were very polite and friendly :) The hotel is litterally a two minute walk from the strip! There is also a small supermarket right outside the hotel, very handy :) THANKSSS!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground or first floor, they are refurbished. (you can request when you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishtourist-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Well i work in a hotel in england so i was very scared about reading the reviews.. And with how cheap it was we didnt expect much! There was 3 of us and we stayed on the first room 203! Was clean tidy massive enough room for us all! Massive balcony! Only bad thing is the shower is horrible but u get use to it! Pool area is lovely bar is cheap food is great and like €4 for each thing on the menu! Reps were jordan n dan they were wicked always there when needed! Events were wicked white party bar crawl was the best! Did nearly all the events anyway! Dont know why people are complaining about noise u know ur in an 18-30 hotel so its gonna be noisy into early hours but everyone in the hotel was lovely so if u tell people to shutup they will do! Everyones complained about anna shes amazing be nice to her buy her a shot of raki! And she'll love you ( play club tropicana) she loves that song! Staff were brill! Strip was really close 2 min walk! Restaurants round the area was great! 18-30 werent really my thing but if i ever went to do it again in malia id come here!!!! Dont listen to the bad reviews!!!! Thanks hermes!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Ignore all the bad reviews.....I'm very honest about my hotel stays and I really couldn't fault Hotel Hermes Studios!!

We got there gone midnight and were checked into our room within 5 minutes. Our Reps Jordan and Dan introduced themselves and were so friendly, they were brilliant fun all week!

Our room was big and spacious for 3 of us on the first floor but from previous reviews we knew the rooms for 3 were better than rooms of 2! It was clean and tidy and we moved it around to how we wanted it :) the shower was a it crap but then again they always are abroad! Apparently our room was VIP as we had a shower curtain which made us chuckle! There was enough plates and cutlery for all of us for the week.

The cleaners are a bit rude but I think that's because they don't speak much English, we got our bins emptied every day, towels changed once in the week but bedding doesn't get changed but that didn't bother us. The food is cheap and very nice at the hotel but I'd say the drinks are a bit overpriced. Its a 10 minute walk to the strip and SPAR shop which is ideal. The swimming pool is big enough for 18-30s and the deep end is really deep for messing around and jumping in.

The entertainment was good....i would say the foam and paint party are the best in the whole week we had and we never stopped laughing! We went the 1st week of the season so was a bit quiet for our liking but still had a brilliant time! We all said we would recommend and go back :)

If your a light sleeper i would take ear plugs but to be honest you dont go on a 18-30s holiday to have decent nights sleep every night....we didnt sleep brilliantly and had fights outside our room sometimes but we just laughed it off. People always have fall outs when have had a few to drink!

Just lighten up and enjoy yourselves :)

Room Tip: Go in groups of 3 as your more likely to get a bigger room on the first floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannii2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

As a group of 4 we booked two rooms and after seeing the hotel's website and also pictures in the brochure assumed we were getting decent spacious rooms. Couldn't have been more wrong, we were put into the top floor rooms, which are tiny and compared to the other rooms and a bit of a joke compared to the other rooms. We complained to our rep who said that this was due to the fact the lower floor rooms sleep 3 and as we booked 2 rooms for 2 we weren't eligible for them although did say we could ask at reception. However in our second week, we found out there were parties of 2 staying in the other rooms and as we arrived in the first week of the season couldn't understand why we were made to take the poorer quality rooms.
Also EVERYNIGHT up till about 6.30am, people constantly run along the corridors screaming and banging doors, I know everyone can be drunk and you should expect some noise but this was another level completely, they have CCTV on each corridor which is pointless because they don't even do anything about the ones who are hammering doors at 5 every morning and night - bring earplugs if you want a decent sleep!
Another issue is the cleanliness, the communal areas - pool, reception etc are all fine, however the maids who are meant to change sheets, towels ect twice a week are rubbish...Our sheets and towels were changed once throughout our two weeks and then due to the fact the towels were then dirty (due to having to constantly dry the bathroom floor as the showers leak everywhere and some are missing curtains) they tried to charge us although we got away without having to pay as we complained to both our rep and the owner. One thing I didn't expect was the depth of the pool - roughly 3m the whole way round apart from to steps which you can stand, this is ok if you an swim but two in our group aren't the best swimmers so it wasn't much good for them..The pool bar's food and drinks aren't bad and decently priced (3.50 for toastie and chips, 3.50 spirit mixer, 5 for cocktail) although the alcohol they serve which is apparently 'local' spirits aren't that nice or drinkable esp the vodka - never on a holiday have I tasted local drinks as bad as the ones in Malia..
Overall our holiday wasn't completely awful, the hotel is in an excellent location as it 2 mins from top of the strip but a good 20-25min walk from the beach (at other end of the strip)...would potentially go back to Hermes, however you are better to bring own bedding and towels due to the overpriced breakages/damages lists - 20€ towel,30€ bedsheet...just be careful.

Room Tip: Try and avoid getting a top floor room...second floor is probably best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x2sd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.4 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Studios
Sunshine Studios
#68 of 95 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Sun Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Property: Hotel Hermes
Address: Venizelou Eleftheriou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermes Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing