We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Rousse Studios
Ranked #1 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, great location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Maria rousse was myself and 2 friends. Room was clean with fridge, little stove, toaster and kettle. The cleaners come in every other day.hotel grounds were immaculate the grass was kept short and neat! Pool was very clean and a nice temperature. Local beer mythos was great and cheap everywhere including hotel bar. Staff were friendly and very helpful we were asking about taxi's and George rang the taxi rank to price our trip up for us. Food was decent at the pool bar too. There is a security guy around the ground of an evening, to make sure that only residents come into the grounds, also telling to people to turn their music down if it was too loud. The strip wasn't our scene only went down it for the beach every other day and ate on it one night, so we ventured into the old town which was beautiful and only a 5 minute slow walk from Maria rousse. We walked into stallis which was around 30-45 minute walk. And find the blue sea fish restraunt it was amazing 15 minute walk and the food was spectacular. Enjoyed our holiday.would recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    53
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
107
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Came back from the Maria Rousse two weeks ago now and all i can say is this hotel should not be a 3 star! It was a group of 4 of us girls, the location of the hotel was brilliant, beautiful views of the mountains from the room, the location was brilliant was only a 2 minute walk to the strip and 10 minute walk to the beach. The staff are lovely and made us feel very welcome on arrival helping us carrying are suitcases to are room. It was always clean and the food was lovely. I would 100% come back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone! There is a short walk down the ally way to the restaurant what sales really nice bacon buttys, the bacon in Maria Rousse wasn't English but was eatable. I would recommend to take out quads for the week too and drive up the mountains, was the best thing about our holiday and theres a car park (quad park) next to Maria Rousse. 10 out of 10 on malia and the hotel it's self. Worth every penny. And have to go pre drink in heaven then HAVE TO GO REFLEX!!!!!! Best club in Malia!!!!

Room Tip: Top floor 426
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannonstaniforth95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for one week with my boyfriend and had a brilliant stay! The room was clean and roomy and the air conditioning kept the room very cool. The pool was right outside and it was kept very clean and tidied every night. Security is very good and the bar area was very well maintained. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Wish we had booked a longer holiday. Would highly recommend this hotel. Very close to the strip but far enough away that it was quiet when you need to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Maria Rousse for one week in Mid June. The Strip was not for us although we did venture down just to see what it was all about. Malia has so much more to offer, just take a walk up into the old town and experience a typical Greek environment and some wonderful restaurants. Stalis which is a short walk away is also very welcoming. As for Maria Rousse itself it was perfect. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and made you feel like one of the family. Take a trip to Spinalonga and visit the old leper colony made famous in the book 'The Island'. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank McCarthy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my 3 friends stayed at the Maria Rousse for our first girls holiday on the 1st of July for a week. We took advantage of the excellent food every morning for breakfast and ate tea there a few times. All the staff were lovely and the security guard, Tony, was brilliant! He looked after our keys while we were out at night. The cleaners were also brilliant. They cleaned our rooms every other day and were friendly. I especially liked how they lined our shoes up and presented any pyjamas neatly on our bed. The hotel was located in a perfect position for me and my friends to access the corner shop, supermarket and main strip.

The Maria Rousse definitely deserves a higher star rating than it currently has.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catherinenotty .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and 6 of my girlfriends flew out to Malia in June 2014 and stayed in Maria Rousse studios for 1 week but I wish it had been longer. The owners and everyone who worked there were so attentive and lovely and were happy to help if you asked them! Lovely pool area with plenty of space for sunbathing and bar food is lush! (Especially the chicken gyros). We went out on the strip every night as it was only a 3 minute walk away and it was so fun, so much happening even in June which is early in the season! Despite the strip being so close once back at the hotel you couldn't hear a thing! Another lovely thing to come back to at the hotel after a night out was lovely tony the security guard! So friendly and nice and always looked happy to see us (even if he wasn't) hahah!
Went out for 2 meals in Old Town Malia as well for some traditional greek food which was delicious and only a 10 minute walk.
Overall it was such a fun first girls holiday and I would recommend this hotel very highly and would love to go back! Whether your 17 and want the nightlife or not it would be perfect!
P.s safari is the best club on the strip ever. Completely hilarious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

second time of staying at the Maria Rousse and once again we were not disappointed there was a party of 19 arriving 10th June till the 17th, so we more or less took over the place ,and our hosts George and Barbara were fantastic, nice quite area and a short stroll for the famous Malia Strip
and the old town was really nice
to sum up this is by far the best accommodation in Malia book early as this is a very popular place

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickyrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.5 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Suites
0.6 mi away
Dessole Malia Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Rousse Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Rousse Studios

Property: Maria Rousse Studios
Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Rousse Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maria Rousse Studios are in an ideal location, just off Malia Beach Road in a quiet area but close enough to enjoy the resorts nightlife. The beach is a relaxing ten minute stroll and the resort centre is also close enough to walk to with its shops, bars, restaurants and clubs. The airport is approximately a 25 minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LoveHolidays so you can book your Maria Rousse Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Rousse Studios Hotel Malia
Maria Rousse Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing