We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, friendly, modern hotel- BEWARE the 'reps'!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carolina Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carolina Mare
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly, modern hotel- BEWARE the 'reps'!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I travelled with a group of four friends 15-23 july 2014, before we went we read reviews slating the hotel describing it as a 'building site' and that it was a german hotel, so as a group of teenage girls travelling the first time alone we were terrified!!

but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised, it was definitely the nicest hotel out of the ones we saw during our transfer, it was clean and modern and the reception was lovely, they even had left some food out for us as we arrived at 3am but they kept the restaurant (again clean and modern) open with some bread and cheese, nothing fancy but a nice touch.

Our room was again clean and simple and was tidied everyday, although the towels weren't changed daily however we just dried them on the balcony.
One problem was that whenever we had a shower, what we thought was a drain in the bathroom actually pushed water up so we ended up having to swim to the door after a shower. i think because the hotel is being renovated they haven't bothered to fix this as it will probably be modernised soon.

now the only MAJOR problem we had was with our HOTEL ALLOCATED 'REP'. She was called Alexandria and was extremely rude, pushy and arrogant, during our welcome meeting she was constantly on her phone and slagged off everything to do with Malia really. My friends wanted to book the booze cruise and malia slides with her as it seemed safer than booking in a shop.
we paid 80 euros each for this and on the saturday was our booze cruise, transfer included apparently. we turned up at the hotel gates 10 minutes before it was meant to arrive and were still waiting nearly an hour later, we tried to ring Alex to say the transfer hadn't turned up and she didn't answer her phone, strange as she was always on it during our meeting. we went to the beach, trying not to let it ruin our holiday and rang back at 3;15. she finally answered and was extremely rude, no apology and said she would look into it and we wouldn't get our money back unless the transfer agreed they didn't turn up. anyway we argued with her and eventually got our 50 euros back for the cruise but didn't get any refund for the other activity we booked with her as it was less than 24 hours (it started at 3 the next day and if she had answered the phone it would have been within the time)

anyway that was not completely the hotels fault however they should really not recommend horrible, rude reps that cannot do their job!!!!!

overall the hotel was lovely, however it was difficult to find a sunbed unless you went down at 6am like we did after getting in after a night out!! there were also a lot of german kids who are rude and will kick and splash you however not really the hotels fault.

i did find it unusual that in such a large hotel there was no activities in the day like beach volleyball etc or that there was no entertainment at night, not that we would have used it but just worth noting.

the hotel is a good 40 min walk to Malia which we waled every night with little problem as it was well lit and felt safe. taxi was only 7 euros if we didn't want to walk. i would recommend hiring quad bikes if you were to go to the strip a lot, if we were to go again we would have done so.

it is right on the beach and although its rocky near the water, the sea was warm and refreshing and if you couldn't find a sunbed near the pool there was lots on the beach.

the food was okay, the usual all inclusive food- salads, pasta in sauces, fish and feta cheese. It was edible, the salad was really fresh and there was not really any complaints in that department.
there was always something to eat, the two pool bars had sausage rolls, greek salad, pizza and bruschetta throughout the day which was nice and there was unlimited self serve ice cream too.
the drink was average too, alcohol was weak however they would give you tequila shots all inclusive so can't really complain!! the barman at the main pool bar was amazing, always smiling and happy and always gave us a cheeky bit of extra alcohol!

overall a lovely hotel, really getting better than it was, the best advice i can give is to not use the hotel reps, get up early for a sunbed and get a quad bike or hire a car!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
Hotel reconstruction is not finished yet. During the coming winter Carolina Mare hotel is going to be refurbished and next summer we will welcome you in fully modernized hotel! Our rooms are going to be completed in new style with completely new furniture and technics.
We would like to mention that in order to safe water and environment, towels are getting changed once in two days if needed then we change it.

We all look forward to seeing you next year.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!

Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    136
    43
    10
    14
See reviews for
137
120
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
hazel5658912
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

3-7th July 2014
We had an email from our holiday agent (On the beach - Avoid!) who told us the hotel name had changed. This concerned me especially when I read the first review here and saw pictures of the empty pool etc. I called the hotel and had a good chat with the manager who assured me the hotel was up and running after a lot of work. They were also very helpful as we had tried to add an extra person to our booking which they did for us.
We were a group of 6 girls in our late 20's. When we got to the hotel I was very surprised at how lovely it was. Better that the original pics from the Phaedra hotel, which we had booked as it was cheap. They have changed the reception and dining area. Not 100% finished as the walls were just plaster. The staff were friendly enough. The manager - Dark hair as mentioned in the previous review was a bit snappy but she was always helpful. She was probably fed up with our group for causing so many problems (Usually when one of the girls kept pushing buttons on the air con and breaking it!) But they all did their best to help us out from booking taxis to places to go for shopping etc.
The room - These have not yet been updated. We had 2 rooms with garden views on the ground floor with a balcony. It was basic and always clean. However, as adults, I was not impressed with having bunk beds. One of the girls managed to sleep on the top of one, but the other room we had, one of the girls ended up with the mattress on the floor which is more an issue I need to take up with On the beach. The shower was not brilliant and had to hold it up. We also had water coming up from the floor in both the rooms we had. Someone did come out and try and fix it but it happened each time someone showered. The beds were comfy enough and had a fridge, tv (didn't use) and the air con. We didn't pay for wifi or air con which I was expecting but I presume this was because of the work going on.
The hotel - Food was great. A lot of choices for everyone and very fresh and hot. It was a little repetitive but anyone who moans is just fussy in my opinion. When the main restaurant was closed you could get snacks at both pool bars. mainly pizza and bruschetta. Don't forget to help yourself to the ice cream! We also had a meal in the Al a Carte restaurant. Not really our sort of food but was a lovely evening by the beach. Drinks were okay. You did have to pay for them after 11pm but we usually were off out by then. Nikos and Vasilis were so friendly and always happy to help or answer questions about Malia. The pools were lovely but could do with more sunbeds. Same with the beach. While we were here, they were doing some work on an old building but this didn't really disturb us and was quite nice to see how they were improving the hotel. I would have liked a heads up about the work but again this is the agents fault, not the hotel. One thing I would say is that as a hotel that seemed to cater for couples, families and party goers, they need to issue more keys with larger groups. It was very noisy from 2-6am with people banging on doors to get in their rooms. We were all out to have fun but it was a bit much if you had managed to get in at a sensible(ish) hour and was trying to sleep!
Out and about in Malia - As a group of girls in their late 20's, we were a bit old for the Malia nightlife! The average age down the strip seemed to be 18-25 (Sure I saw some 16's too!) but we didn't let that ruin our fun. We enjoyed all the bars and clubs especially Reflex, Kings cross and Safari. Once we decided to avoid all crappy shots and stuck to plain spirits, we stopped having the awful hangovers and had many great nights. When it gets really lively, it was a bit much for us with all of the ‘PR’ people trying to pull you in to a bar. Very hard when you are in a group and the whole street is packed! Our last night was a bit disappointing as the police were doing some sort of raids and the music kept being turned off all the way down the strip. Interesting at first but we got fed up after a few hours. It only costs 7 euro for a taxi to the strip and we always had nice and entertaining drivers. We spent a lovely evening in Hersonissos (I think that's its name) which was great for a nice meal out and lots and lots of shopping! That cost us 20 euro in a cab. We also had a day at Malia beach. Some of the girls walked from the hotel which only took about ½ hour. It is a lovely long beach but don’t get pulled into the first bar you find!
All in all, we had a great budget girl’s holiday. I would recommend The Carolina Mare hotel as I know that by next year it will be totally different and probably far more expensive!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel5658912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
Hotel reconstruction is not finished yet. During the coming winter Carolina Mare hotel is going to be refurbished and next summer we will welcome you in fully modernized hotel!
As well as our rooms are going to be completed in new style with completely new furniture and technics.

We all look forward to seeing you next year.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!

Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Considering this is actually only a 3 star hotel, it far surpassed our expectations.
As a group of 6 girls we had originally planned on staying at Phaedra Beach Hotel, but on arrival we discovered it had been renovated into Carolina Mare, and what a surprise it was! The reception is exceptionally posh, almost like a 4 star hotel. The receptionist speaks good English, and there was even someone to take our bags to our room! As we were expecting an absolute dump to be honest, we were pleasantly surprised. When entering the room we had 4 beds when there was only 3 of us but that didn't matter! Rooms were spacious with free air conditioning! They were also cleaned regularly, even if you'd slept past 12 they still made sure they came in at some point while you were out to clean them!
The only concern we experienced was the shower, it was either really powerful or not enough! So we just ended up holding it most of the time.
The pools were lovely and very clean, and the bar staff (especially Nikos!) were very friendly!
The food was also very good, much better than what we expected with a wide range served at meal times. One of my friends is very fussy with food and still managed to find something she liked every day. However they weren't many snacks available, apart from pizza and bruschetta but that didn't bother us much.
All in all this is probably the best 3 star hotel I have ever been to. Perfect distance from the strip and it was never too noisy so you could get a decent nights sleep! Holiday blues already.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 675 which was right next to a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jlou130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
Hotel reconstruction is not finished yet. During the coming winter Carolina Mare hotel is going to be refurbished and next summer we will welcome you in fully modernized hotel! As well as our rooms are going to be completed in new style with completely new furniture and technics.
We would like to mention that we have two bars that they are offering snacks daily.
We all look forward to seeing you next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!

Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trnava Region, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived to Carolina Mare in the night, on 26.6.2014, receptionist was nice. When we came to our room, it was not tidied, so we went to reception and said him about our problem, he apologized many times and gave us another room. Next morning was our room totally(!) clean. Whole week was the room and whole hotel clean. We like the staff in restaurant (they're working really hard), in bars, reception, char women. Every person of the staff was kind, helpful, smiling. The best friend-bartender is Nikos!!! The food was good, also its diversity. The sea and beach are beautiful and clean and we always found enough sunbeds and sunshade. Animators were also nice, always smiling, kids were satisfied and adults playing beach -volleyball/football, too :) Only thing we missed was more of evening programs, with music and dance. (program with Dimitris, Dimitris, Dimitris, Dimitris...was great :) ) You can see, that the hotel is still growing and people working there work hard every day for making the hotel better.
We recommend Carolina Mare Hotel to you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea_Jakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
During the coming winter Carolina Mare hotel is going to be fully reconstructed and next summer we will welcome you in fully modernized hotel!
We all look forward seeing you next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!
Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are very grumpy most of the time while we were staying here at Carolina Mare, while using the wifi when the pool bar closed at 1am we got a formal warning for not going back to our rooms. As for the person who rents the quads here, he will do anything to get money out of you so stay clear of them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
We would like to express apologize for any inconvenience we might cause, as well as to mention that hotel takes care about safety and comfort of our guests.
The only reason for a guest to receive a warning is for noise during night hours in order not to disturb the other guests.
We all look forward seeing you next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!
Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived on the first day and were put in rooms 701 and 702. On entering we were greeted with broken glass dirty ceilings and a shower that was most likely refurbished in the 40's. The curtain stuck to you as it was so small and you had to hold the shower head to wash-not easy when you are trying to avoid the curtain.
We had 2 beds in the room and there was about 1ft around the bed.

We went to reception and spoke to the staff there, they are generally very rude the dark head lady and the pig of a man are horrid however this review is not all bad as the young blonde lady and Maria at guest relations were very helpful and we were moved the next day to a family suite which was clean and comfortable- despite there being a lack of towels for a few days (we did ask the pig at reception and finally we got them after 3 attempts).

The food was good and no one was ill at any time - although you will need to get used to being staired at by the Russians. The staff within the restaurant were helpful and the manager was brilliant very helpful nothing was too much trouble.

The pool bar was always well run and a big shout must be given to Nicos who is lovable and very endearing.

Could do with some day time activities so I would suggest you take/buy some as there is no entertainment.

5 Min taxi ride into the strip which was perfect 7 euros each way but I would not want to stay on the strip, quads and motorbikes tearing up and down not for me.

The hotel is very strict and we received a warning for noise which was fair enough however when I raised the same concern after the room above furniture was dragged acrossed the floor by staff I was called a lier by the receptionist who tried to shout over me. I reminded her I was not a child but a fully grown woman- again she denied this!

on the whole was lovely though and we had a fab time.

Room Tip: ask for any room but the 700's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
We would like to mention that hotel was reconstructed partly, and during coming winter is going to be fully completed. Next year Carolina Mare hotel is going to welcome you in completely refurbished hotel. Our rooms are going to be completed by new standards with completely new furniture and technics.
We all look forward seeing you next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!
Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We came as first travelers to new hotel Karolina Mare 11.6. - 21.6. 2014 :) We were really suprised, becuse we expected something else - we saw only old photos of Phaedra Beach. :) But Karolina Mare was great!!! :)))) Everithing is lighting like in Las Vegas. :) People in hotel are so kind and helpfull. New pieces of komplex were opened every day of our holliday. In these days all swimming pools are opened, I counted 3. :) And 3 bars were opened at 21.6. We don´t have superior rooms, but normal and again - everything nice, and good. :) Food great, still hot, and still full plates. :)) People who are working there, I think they are not sleeping for our comfort. :) Good choice for everyone I think. Good start point for trips by cars and motorbikes to Milotas Cave, to Sissi village, to Lessithi, to Agios Nikolaos, Lichsnostratos (traditional village of Chersonissos) and to Knossos palace and archeol. museum. :)))

Thanks for our great holliday. :) We have good memories for Greece. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise The east side is better, no so much sun in the afternoon on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lindiaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalis A, General Manager at Carolina Mare, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We will use it constructively in an effort to perfect our services.
Hotel reconstruction is not finished yet. During the coming winter Carolina Mare hotel is going to be refurbished and next summer we will welcome you in fully modernized hotel! As well as our rooms are going to be completed in new style with completely new furniture and technics.
We would like to mention that we have two bars that they are offering snacks daily. As well as in our Zeus Bar we are offering some special snack everyday (hotdog, burger, toast, etc.).
We all look forward to seeing you next year.
Thank you for your time and your continuous support!

Best Regards,

Mihalis Apostolakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
1.1 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#8 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malia Bay Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dessole Malia Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
8.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Mare

Property: Carolina Mare
Address: Iosif Chatzidaki, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable beach front hotel in a quiet location, ideal for couples and families with authentic Greek hospitality is waiting to welcome you…Marvelously located on the delightful and quiet sandy beach in the bustling resort of Malia on the northern shore of Crete island, the Carolina Mare Hotel is a popular choice for relaxing All Inclusive holidays in Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Carolina Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Mare Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing