We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Syros”
Review of Esperance 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperance 1
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is excellent for the traveller wishing to visit Syros for a few days while island hopping through the Aegean. Conveniently situated right on the harbour of Ermoupolis, it's the prefect base for exploring the surprisingly vibrant and bustling capital of the Cyclades.

The rooms are fairly small, but very well designed and decorated. The style is modern and contemporary, there is wifi throughout and the service is kind and professional.

This hotel was a pleasant and very affordable surprise during our trip through the Cyclades islands, and both the hotel and the city of Ermoupolis are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in June. Absolutely stunning little hotel. Perfect for couples. Modern room, clean and beautiful cottage style décor. Beds were comfortable too. We were in room 21 - sea view opposite port and by the staircase. It may be too loud for some, but with the windows closed we barely noticed.
Very helpful staff (lovely family run business) who are always there to help. Arrived by ferry at 9PM (this place is 5 minutes to the left on the main road as soon as you step foot of the ferry). Rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed every 2 days. You may need more toiletries than they provide.
We didn't have breakfast (booked through Expedia and didn't check properly) so it would be 5 euros extra per person. However, there are LOTS of places to eat around within 15 mins walk (restaurants, cafes and takeaways).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would call this more of a guest house.
Almost opposite ferry port so perfect location, nice new modern/clean rooms, although rooms a bit small.....5 mins walk to the shops & loads of restaurants.
Staff helpful.
Reasonable price, continental basic breakfast 5 Euro.
Stairs to the rooms a little steep & narrow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickieg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights this hotel is brilliant, super staff really friendly. The rooms are bright and tastefully decorated with very modern amenities and comfy beds. 2 mins walk from the ferry port its ideally situated shops and an abundance of restaurants very close by,would definitely use this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durhamdame1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived at 23.30, our ferry being 5 hours late due to bad weather. With nothing booked Esperance was near the boat exit. We were given a room in another Esperance building about 100 m behind the main one. Good choice, it is quiet there. Very spacious and pleasant room, free coffee all day, free wifi, good roof top terrace with shade and no-shade, room cleaned daily, very good modern shower room. But the outstanding feature(s) was the two sons of the manager. Very good English, but also incredibly helpful, whether it be where to eat, best shop for genuine local produce, any help you might need. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small private balcony, we didn't, but used the large roof top terrace. A coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_milnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I only stayed one night here, but for this it was perfect! The hotel is tastefully furnished and located very close to the port. The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and the wifi is good. Traveling alone, I try to find something that would seem a safe distance from town. This hotel is perfect. You shouldn't be disappointed! It is good value for money!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This pretty little guest house is very conveniently situated a stone's throw from the port and a short amble along the esplanade to restaurants, tavernas, shops etc..The newly renovated rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms very modern and spacious. Attention has been taken to every detail even the waste paper bin which is sensor driven. Everything is spotlessly clean.The balconies overlook the harbour and the town or Hermoupolis so have a lovely outlook. This family run 'hotel' is immaculate and very efficiently managed. Staff are friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
208 reviews
0 mi away
Emilia Luxury Apartments
Emilia Luxury Apartments
#3 of 3 in Megas Gialos
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
118 reviews
0 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#9 of 14 in Hermoupolis
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperance 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperance 1

Address: 48 Akti Papagou and Folegandrou, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperance 1 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Esperance 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing