We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diana Rooms

Diana Rooms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diana Rooms
Ranked #10 of 32 Hermoupolis B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. It is quite far from the port and city centre. The room was not cleaned even once during the whole stay. Room was dirty and looked like a brick-a-brac shop [collection of cutlery, pots and plates which do not match and they were very dirty]. Fridge was just filthy. Very noisy during day [kids playing football on the street] and night [other guests above and next door]. Did not like the owner, took my passport straight away and would not give it back [holded it tight in his hand] until I handed him money. Did not offer lift back to the port. Did not feel very welcome. Was quite expensive to be honest, you can get cheaper hotel close to the port.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I would wholeheartedly recommend Diana Rooms on Syros. You will probably pay half of the cost of a typical hotel room. It is located in a quiet area of Ermoupolis. Each room is adequately furnished with fridge and cooker and a couple of rooms have a balcony with a view on the Aegean Sea. Ermoupolis being located on a hill, there are quite a few steps to get from the port to the hotel but the owner, Giorgos, is a true gem and invariably collects his guests with the car from the ferry area. He is a kind, jovial person who brings breakfast to your room and always has a smile on his face. By the look of the hundreds of thank you messages in in entrance hall from all over the world, he has won the heart of many customers, the written pebbles, notes, postcards, pictures have turned his hallway into some sort of shrine to a living idol :-)! To me this Number 1 accommodation in Syros particularly for people on a tight budget.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Yannis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The room was small and dirty ( hair everywhere ), the balcony was even smaller. But the worst was the owner. Interested only in our money, not friendly at all, we felt really bad passing his apartment few times a day ( he lives on the bottom floor ). He really spoiled our stay in Syros. The place is overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marzena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

You might take a flight of stairs till you get to the hotel but its a nice way to get to know the town. The owners were really friendly and nice. The owner met us on the port and got us to the hotel. The room they gave us was just spectacular, with a private terrace and a great view to the port and the city. It was just wonderful waking up and seeing that view. I'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

These rooms are adequate with a good view from the balcony but if you don't lilke walking up a lot of stairs they are too far from the Port by foot. The owner met us off the boat and said they are very close to the port which may be the case as the crow flies but quite a climb up a lot of stairs. We took this room because we arrived very late at night and there was nothing else on offer. If we had a choice we could have obtained rooms much closer without the climb as there are a lot around.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Diana Rooms in Hermoupolis on the isle of Syros in Greece is a perfect hide out to get acquainted with the island. Its close to almost everything worthwhile innse town, including the harbour and bus station. But it is also away from the bustle of traffic and other hotels, as it is just a little higher up the hill. The gain is not only the quietness, but especially the view of the harbour and the city. Enjoy the coming and going of the ferries from high above, sipping your wine on your own, private rooftop terrace. The room is quite small, but equipes with a small kitchen with refrigerator and cooking device. The airco works flawlesly and, just as important, silently.
Very friendly staff makes you feel at home. Picks you up at the ferry if you want.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the top room. Three floors up, but worth every step!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel was very nice! The views from the balcony were so gorgeous of the harbor, and the inn-keeper went above and beyond to help us make the most of our stay. He spoke little english and gave us a feel of being in a real greek family inn. Great service--he brought free breakfast to our room daily. Bring soap and prepare for some cold water showers, but this is the way it is in most affordable hotel stays in the islands.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malmalgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermoupolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pefkakia Park
Pefkakia Park
#4 of 32 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Rooms

Property: Diana Rooms
Address: 8 Gimnastiriou, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Diana Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class rooms for rent. Newly built in a quiet neighbourhood in Ermoupolis near the port and half way to Ano Syros - the medieval town. A public park of pine trees and a children' s playground is located near the facility. Diana Rooms is located in the centre of Hermoupolis, within walking distance from the port and from Miaouli Sq, which is the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Diana Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing