We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but fits a budget”
Review of Diana Rooms

Diana Rooms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diana Rooms
Ranked #26 of 35 Hermoupolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We took a taxi to Diana rooms from Finikas on the other side of the island, not sure if we would have made it the first time without the taxi driver but once we were there the walk to the port and the cafe's was quite short and direct. If you have data on your phone you would be fine first time using google maps. Luckily the taxi driver knew the owner as he was headed out on his scooter when we were on the way in and he came back to check us in before heading out again.
It was interesting on arrival, the manager took us up to our room which was a 3 bed with a nice balcony overlooking the port but said we would have to change rooms in the morning (we did book last minute so this is understandable). The room we moved to was smalls and more cramped. The toilet was basically under the sink and the 'balcony' was basically a outside step, not room to sit or for two people at all.
We did use the roof balcony instead, not sure if this is supposed to be reserved for the tenants of the top floor room (another double bedroom, much larger than the downstairs double) as the access to their room is only up the very tight spiral stairs and onto the balcony. Either way the view was great.
They did take a passport (which Ive found pretty common traveling in hostels in Europe) but I went down the next day and asked for it back which was fine. He was rarely in his office which would have been interesting had we needed the passport sooner.
The beds werent the best matresses but for a short stay its fine. I would recommend for a short stay if you didnt plan of being inside much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived at Syros in the middle of the night, was thankful that the owner came and fetched us! Cannot imagine having to search the place in the wee hours!

The room was clean and basic, we had our short 4 hours sleep there before we have to go to another island, the lady owner even gave us some pastries when we checked out early in the morning.

The walk to the port was mainly downhill and it takes about 5-10 minutes to walk there. Quite a good location.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor to avoid climbing the stairs with heavy luggages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurposefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had two visits to Diana Rooms, as I arrived the first time on my own, but had to go to Mykonos to pick up my partner, and we were caught by Georgios again on returning
. The first time I had a room for a single person on the first floor, which was well equiped, and very clean, but without a view, and really quite small. Yes he is quite keen to get his hands on your passport, and you probably wont see it agin before you leave, perhaps he's had a problem with guests in the past? The second time we had the roof room with double bed and a terrace with view of the port, much nicer, but you will have fun getting your cases up and down the steps. Odd keeping the cutlery in the fridge though, and washing plates etc in the bathroom? We ate out so that didnt affect us, just as well though.
We/I found him very affable, but be warned if you are alone he may on your leaving offer you a lift to the port, together with your suitcases etc, on his Scooter. I enjoyed this, but it is not, Not for the faint hearted! Oh and yes, a lot of steps down to the port and back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbob005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The room we stayed in was small with too small terrace. There are almost no public areas. The park is located where it is completely irrelevant and far enough away from the center. The owners are not professional. I think if you offer and the price was ridiculously high for what they offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escapegiannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were on our way back to Piraeus after 4 weeks of island hopping in the Cyclades and stayed only one night. This really was enough. We got met by George (husband of Diana) in his car and he was friendly enough with his limited Greek. The drive to the apt. takes yo around the town but the walk is just straight up some steps from the port. We had chosen a top floor with a balcony for a view. The view is not brilliant looking over the town and shipyard but it is big and sunny. Getting up to the room via narrow stairs and finally a circular iron staircase proved a bit difficult with our rucsacs and don't expect any help. The room itself is ok for a budget room but still on expensive side. The kitchen was absurd - no sink so if you cooked anything you had to wash up in the tiny sink in the bathroom. The cutlery, mugs and glasses we found in the fridge!! The bathroom was roomy and clean and the shower good. The bed - ok but ignore the cigarette burn on the cover. All in all it was sufficient to stay in to explore the wonderful town by foot . Off the main square which was lively and fun at night we found an excellent restaurant - Archontariki tis Maritsas and had probably one of the best meals of our holiday.

Room Tip: Only room worth getting is a top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valhill56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. It is quite far from the port and city centre. The room was not cleaned even once during the whole stay. Room was dirty and looked like a brick-a-brac shop [collection of cutlery, pots and plates which do not match and they were very dirty]. Fridge was just filthy. Very noisy during day [kids playing football on the street] and night [other guests above and next door]. Did not like the owner, took my passport straight away and would not give it back [holded it tight in his hand] until I handed him money. Did not offer lift back to the port. Did not feel very welcome. Was quite expensive to be honest, you can get cheaper hotel close to the port.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I would wholeheartedly recommend Diana Rooms on Syros. You will probably pay half of the cost of a typical hotel room. It is located in a quiet area of Ermoupolis. Each room is adequately furnished with fridge and cooker and a couple of rooms have a balcony with a view on the Aegean Sea. Ermoupolis being located on a hill, there are quite a few steps to get from the port to the hotel but the owner, Giorgos, is a true gem and invariably collects his guests with the car from the ferry area. He is a kind, jovial person who brings breakfast to your room and always has a smile on his face. By the look of the hundreds of thank you messages in in entrance hall from all over the world, he has won the heart of many customers, the written pebbles, notes, postcards, pictures have turned his hallway into some sort of shrine to a living idol :-)! To me this Number 1 accommodation in Syros particularly for people on a tight budget.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank AlainD653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermoupolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#9 of 14 in Hermoupolis
104 reviews
0 mi away
Pefkakia Park
Pefkakia Park
#5 of 35 in Hermoupolis
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Rooms

Address: 8 Gimnastiriou, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Hermoupolis
Price Range: £25 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diana Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class rooms for rent. Newly built in a quiet neighbourhood in Ermoupolis near the port and half way to Ano Syros - the medieval town. A public park of pine trees and a children' s playground is located near the facility. Diana Rooms is located in the centre of Hermoupolis, within walking distance from the port and from Miaouli Sq, which is the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diana Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing