We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A precious gem of a hotel!”
Review of Hotel Ploes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ploes
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A precious gem of a hotel!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you are looking for serenity and beauty, then Hotel Ploes is a must.
Imagine a Venetian palazzo, the front of which faces the Aegean sea, the back of which provides glimpses of all the landmarks of hilly Hermopoulis, the most cultured city of the Cycladic islands. With its direct access to the sea, its amazing main terrace, its sea-facing balcony and roof terrace, the hotel is integrated into a symphony of light, colour, breeze and water that delights all human senses.
We found our room beautifully stylish, yet cosy, and in wonderful harmony with the turquoise shimmering sea just outside its windows. Starting the day with a Ploes breakfast, served on the main terrace by excellent staff, is a treat second to none: The colourful arrangement of fresh fruit, the perfect Latte, the delicious egg dishes and different assortments of bread is the perfect inducement to lingering and relaxing. And what a priviledge to be able to end the day on that same terrace - now candlelit - over a glas of wine with the lights of the town dancing over the blackness of the sea!
As art enthusiasts we initially found it difficult to leave the hotel at all, as it exhibits an exquisite selection of original works of contemporary fine art (mostly Greek) and high-quality reproductions of ancient Greek sculptures, and kept luring us into its fine art library (books in Engl. and Greek!). Inspired and guided by the harmonious proportions of the mid 19th century mansion, its decorated ceilings and wooden or mosaic floors, the chandeliers, carpets, and decorative elements must have been chosen with great deliberation, care and immaculate taste. To us, it seemed as if it extended the art motif from the architecture and the exhibited art work to the hotel's interior design. Yet, Hotel Ploes is not a museum. It rather feels like an idyllic home, in which people are extremely well looked after. Our children (not yet teenagers) liked the place as much as we did and seem to have been as fascinated by the house and its atmosphere - with countless photos to prove it! - as we were.
Everything, from the warmhearted welcome and service we enjoyed, to the accommodation and the well chosen suggestions of where to go and what to see on the island made our stay at this hotel a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I would prefer rooms with a sea view, although there is ample opportunity to enjoy the seaview (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuttenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
113
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Staying at Hotel Ploes, with its breath-taking vantage point over the Aegean was a simply unique experience. Wide and fascinating, simply elegant rooms, artistic marble bathrooms. The terrace overlooking the great blue sea gives you a sense of infinity, relaxation and calmness. The interior design reflects the elegance and heritage of Syros, one of a kind paintings, frescoes ceilings and wooden floors. The service was unobtrusive and personalised. Definitely, staying at Hotel Ploes is something you should not miss if you visit Cyclades and Syros. For me its simply a reason to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venicekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have been blown away by the very personalized, authentic and warm service of all the staff, bar none, in this very nice boutique hotel.
Very strongly recommend it, if one is looking for a classy hotel with outstanding service then Ploes is it

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I must admit I was a bit reluctant going to Syros but Ploes hotel made it one of my favorite destinations!!! This boutique hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Syros but in a very quiet and pitoresque part of the city, surrounded by beautiful old buildings. The hotel itself, is a 19th century renovated mansion, right above the sea. Most rooms have amazing sea view and just a walk down the stairs is the best swim of my life. I have always avoided the sand, the heat and crowds so this hotel was paradise for me, it had the bigest and greatest pool in the world!!!
The rooms are impecable, truly 5 star quality everywhere, luxurious marble bathrooms, huge bed, great bed linen and towels , perfect service. We had an event the next day and they arranged for our clothes to be pressed within half an hour, they recommended very good restaurants and mede reservations, arranged for taxis always with a big smile! They even offered us a late check-out as our ship came in the afternoon and they didn't have another reservation for our room.
Couldn't reccomend it strongly enough!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0.0 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Brazzera
Hotel Brazzera
#1 of 4 in Finikas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ploes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ploes

Property: Hotel Ploes
Address: 2 Apollonos, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ploes 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art "Hotel Ploes" is a neoclassical mansion of 19th century with the contemporary five-star services. The hotel has high painted ceilings and is delicately furnished, with the enchanting decorative touch of handmade rugs and genuine Venetian chandeliers. The lobby and the rooms are decorated by paintings of modern artists.Terrace and balconies offer a beatiful view to the Aegean Sea and veranda has access to a private swimmining area with relaxing sun beds, perched above the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ploes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing