We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Retreat!”
Review of Hotel Ploes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ploes
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having visited the Greek Islands many years Hotel Ploes was an absolute treasure. A restored mansion once owned by a well known banking family literally hugging the shore the current owners have spared no expenses to capture the amazing views from nearly every corner of this spectacular hotel. Exemplary service and the in-house chef is a culinary delight. You must try the egg souffle. The service here was impeccable and we will definitely return and we highly recommend you stay at this amazing home away from home. Hardwood floors throughout adorned with period antiques and spectacular original art. This was truly a sparkling Gem resting on the sparking Aegean sea. After visiting more the 35 different countries over the years, I tell you this is the highest quality you could want away from your own home. This is not on a public beach, it has it has its own private sea front just off the wonderful veranda.

Room Tip: Seaside is the only way to go.................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinCasillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

couldn't be better. excellent quality on all aspects. And considering the cost, you should take in mind that there are no hidden costs. Free internet high speed through wifi covering the everything, even on the swimming platform for as many devices you wish, excellent breakfast, parking and free mini bar and cable tv. Instead of swimming poll, they have direct private access to the sea.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are excellent. They are fair. if you don't mind to have sea view, you pay less
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steliossavvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our first stay in Syros and Hotel Ploes should have 10 green circles, not just five. Lea, her husband, and all of the staff go out of their way to satisfy any wish you may have and pay attention to every detail. The rooms are enormous by Greek standards and luxurious as well. In fact, I am 2 meters tall and told them this in our reservation. They actually bought a King size bed to accommodate me(and future tall guests). This is just one example of their extraordinary service. It is a lovingly restored old mansion set right on the cliffs of the sea, furnished with many antiques and beautiful art work. We left our window open at night and were lulled to sleep by the waves. The included breakfast is made to order and first rate. It is served outside on the seaside terrace. Everything is within walking distance. We would highly recommend Hotel Ploes to everyone and if we return to Syros we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BobandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We loved our stay in Syros and at the Hotel Ploes a couple of years ago so much that we just had to return. The staff was amazing to the point of remembering what coffees we prefered and which room we liked the best. Nothing was too much effort for them and they really made a special occasion of the private function that we had at the hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is decorated differently so try them all. Sea facing rooms are delightfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

If you are looking for a really beautiful place down-town Hermopoulis this is the right place to be.
In a renewed Venetian-style building, Ploes can satisfy the highest required level. In fact, rooms are spacious and marvellously decorated with sophisticated style, bathrooms as well. The hotel is very well located. It is close to the main town hall square, to the Opera and with a large choice of restaurants nearby. Breakfast is served in a veranda in front of the sea with a marvellous view. All the people working in the hotel are wonderful and extremely friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: All the rooms are marvellous each one having a different style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pavlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was my first time in Syros and, while the island has some great things going for itself (lovely capital city, not overrun by foreign tourists) and some not so great (ugly commercial port right in the middle of the bay, so so beaches), my stay at the hotel Ploes is what would make me want to go back to the island. The building itself is lovely, the view from the terrace fantastic, and the staff really on point. They care about your experience and cater to all the small details that make a stay in a hotel special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed at many fine hotels in my travels including the Grand Bretagne in Athens, The Astir Palace in Vouliagmeni and several Four Seasons, but none compare to this hotel. It is so charming and beautiful that I didn't want to leave it. From the moment I entered, I felt like I had stepped into an idyllic world, suspended in time. But it does not feel like a museum, rather I felt like I was a guest in an aristocratic cultured home. I know I am gushing, but words cannot do justice to my experience. Breakfast is phenomenal, service is unparalleled. I wish the weather had been better (I came late in the season) because I would have loved to swim from their jetty. I had to leave very early in the morning (4:00 am) and the owner insisted on calling a taxi for me. I have never encountered such genuine kindness at a hotel. Thank you to everyone at the hotel. I must return here someday.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SherrieEloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#8 of 14 in Hermoupolis
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arion Boutique Hotel
Arion Boutique Hotel
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
29 reviews
0 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ploes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ploes

Address: 2 Apollonos, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range: £124 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ploes 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art "Hotel Ploes" is a neoclassical mansion of 19th century with the contemporary five-star services. The hotel has high painted ceilings and is delicately furnished, with the enchanting decorative touch of handmade rugs and genuine Venetian chandeliers. The lobby and the rooms are decorated by paintings of modern artists.Terrace and balconies offer a beatiful view to the Aegean Sea and veranda has access to a private swimmining area with relaxing sun beds, perched above the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ploes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing