We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ethrion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ethrion
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is not a hotel in the way that some people would expect a hotel to be. No reception, no restaurant, no meals, no porters, no concierge and so on. What it actually is is a group of houses converted to provide bedroom accommodation. It's more in the style of a B&B, but again, without breakfast. Unless you're the type who really craves or needs all those "real hotel" facilities I wouldn't let any of this bother you. The Ethrion provides first rate accommodation in a very good location, and is run by a very amiable and helpful host (George).
The rooms were very clean and spacious, had air conditioning that worked perfectly, a fridge and had a small balcony with a nice view out over the harbour. Outside is a small courtyard/garden where you can sit and relax, read or eat your (own provided) breakfast/lunch etc.
The location is a little way up a side street that opens directly on to the harbour front, close to the ferry stop and the bus stop and a short walk from the shopping district and main square. There was never a hint of noise by day or by night and a good night's sleep was assured!
I can't fault the Ethrion in any way, nor indeed Syros which became our favourite island destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    41
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
67
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way back to Athens. George was very helpful with directions to his hotel. If you have heavy luggage ask for directions by road as there are a lot of steps if you take the walking direct route. The room was large, light and had great views of the harbour. George was very happy to tell us what sights to see and where to buy the best meals. Listen to him - the restaurants just back from the waterfront are better value for money.
Thank you George for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We came here in the middle of October (mid season) for business purpose. The Ethrion offered a double room for 30 € per night, a realistic and fair price in times of crisis. The hotel is centrally located in a very quiet area 300 m from the Central Square (Town Hall sq) and about 150 m from the sea front (250 m from the Blue Star ferries peer). On the way from the harbor to the hotel you have to climb some 40 or 50 steps, thankfully not in a row.
We had a nice large room at the 1st floor with a lovely terrace and a view to the northern part of the town and a little park in front. (Sea view costs 8 € per night more.) The terrace looks to the east and south so there was always a shady spot. Fridge and coffee machine were in the room. We asked for a water kettle for our tea and were provided with it. On the downside: Only one bedside table and reading light only on this night table. So only one of us could put his water glass etc. next to the bed. A weak lamp in the bathroom and a noisy air cleaner.
Yorgos is a very friendly and helpful owner. After the WiFi (WLan) didn't work in our room (it worked in other areas of the hotel, e. g. in the front yard) he gave me a cable to get wired.
Special mention to the leveled terraces that form the front and back yards and are fully equipped with sitting arrangements. The one in front, in the entrance, welcomes the guests with a fragrant jasmine tree, as for the latter, it is always shaded by a vine pergola.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in September. Great rooms, always spotless, and if you ask for a view from your balcony, you will either be swept away by the view up to the Greek orthodox church on the hill, or the other way down to the harbour, or like us, by both! It is a bit of a climb initially to get there (a Greek 100 metres!), but there is another easier way, and once you have a moped - no more steps. The town is enchanting, and there are several lovely swimming bays around this most Greek of islands, of which our favourite was probably Agapothe.
George is a mine of information, and the value can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at hotel Ethrion for one week at the beginning of September along with our 2.5 month old baby, and had a great time. Our room was spacious and very clean (which I appreciated deeply). The room continued to be very clean throughout our stay, as our lovely cleaning lady did a great job on a daily basis. The furniture and decoration of the room were cheap and basic; though a shame, I suppose it's fair enough for the price. The highlight of the room though was our balcony, which had views to the port on the one side, and the church up on the hill of Vrontados on the other. We loved it! The owners were very friendly and helpful, always available to offer advice and tips about the island. I had also called on the same day to explain that we had a baby and ask whether we could have a cot, which we were indeed offered at no extra cost. The hotel is situated in the centre of the beautiful Hermoupolis, within walking distance from the port (which is also where the bus stop is situated), and the main town square. From there you can walk easily anywhere in the town, and can access many shops and restaurants. This hotel is excellent value for money and we were very happy with our stay. We'd recommend it without hesitation and we'd definitely consider going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariax_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my fiancee decided to stay at Ethrion based on reviews, and we were not let down. George, the owner, was very helpful at all times and he is always up for a good chat. We had a nice room, with a great little courtyard and stunning view over the harbour. The rooms were very tidy at all times and the location of the hotel is great.
When we go back to Syros, we wll surelly stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor for a nicer view, ground floors are great as they have a courtyard and the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Best room for the value! George is very helpful and a great host!

The rooms are really clean and if you want to get a picturesque view of the city and the port/sea, make sure to get a room on the upper level! It is breathtaking! Superbe view of Hermoupolis town.

Located 100m from the ocean front and 2 mins from the center o the town, you can't go wrong with Ethrion. Would go back anytime!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matbdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0.2 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 3 in Galissas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ethrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ethrion

Property: Hotel Ethrion
Address: I. Kosma 24 Ermoupolis - Kiniou, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ethrion 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethrion family hotel is situated in a nice garden on a quiet pedestrian street 150 meters above Syros harbor and 200 metrers from the main square Miaouli. It is easily accessible on foot from the ferry. We have just renovated all the rooms and studios(2015).The rooms on the floors have furnished balconies and great views. Studios are located on the ground floor and can accommodate up to four persons.Some studios have terrace and view. All rooms and studios have private bathroom,safebox,hairdryer,kettle,led tv. Free computer corner and free wifi is offered to our guests. The hotel is recommended by Lonely Planet, Routard, Michellin guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ethrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethrion Hotel Siros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing