We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Portain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An Portan Guest House and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunquin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Portain”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a wonderful few days in this guesthouse, the rooms are separate from the restaurant which is nice and gives more privacy. The rooms were very spacious and modern with plenty of hot water and ability to control the heating in the room (quite a rarity in Ireland in Summer but sometimes very welcome). I'd suggest a few big mats inside the doors though (or tiling) for all those walkers boots etc before the nice new carpet becomes marked.
The dinners and breakfast were excellent with great fish & vegetarian choices beautifully cooked and presented. Our hosts were great, good conversation without being intrusive. Prices were very competitive too (not just for Dingle). Surprisingly quiet.
This is a great place to base yourself for a trip to the Blaskets, ferry pier is just a few minutes away (which we found really worthwhile) and as there are no other premises serving food in Dunchaoin, the only place to eat in the evenings if you don't want to drive again.
We look forward to going again, a wonderful place to chill out and Krugers pub across the road is a must visit for a 'deoch amhain'

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet as is mainly walkers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    14
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in An Portan for the June weekend. While Diarmuid was no longer there, his standards of food and hospitality have obviously been ingrained in Ronan. The rooms and breakfast were absolutely great, and there was no problem facilitating Ann's gluten free diet.
We look forward to going back many times over the summer.

Peadubh

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peadar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed after a long day of walking and were very impressed. Although it was early in the season all was ready and wonderful and Ronan made us feel very welcome..the food and lodgings were superb and we really enjoyed talking to our host and learning about the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Host Ronan and son Rory were very charming as well as very helpful and accommodating. The served an excellent dinner with a good menu selections. Large bedrooms. Very quiet (our group of 7 the only guests at the time). Great breakfast. Host was unimposing, but very attentive and helpful. Note: no food stores or other food options near-by, but we were forewarned by Ronan so we could purchase food for lunch the day before arriving in Dunquin.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtsterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We spent five wonderful evenings at An Portan. An Portan is an excellent location for hiking the Dingle Way, visiting the Blasket Islands or simply enjoying the beauty surroundings of the Irish countryside. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The full Irish breakfast was very good and a great way to start the day. And dinner was plentiful and very good. Our host, Ronan, was a most friendly and helpful man. The sole negative was a very limited selection of alcohol, with no beer available, although there is a pub just across the way.

Traveling would be great if all hotels were operated with the care and warmth provided by An Portan.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cresheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My friend and I arrived at An Portan the day the proprietor died, and only heard about it from a man at Tig Slea Head who offered us a ride there. My friend had been looking forward to meeting him, saying what a sweet man he was over the phone, and quite chatty. Despite difficult circumstances for the family, and us offering to relieve them of having to cater to us, they still went out of their way to offer us a lovely time here. Sure, the rooms seemed unfinished and not quite up to their usual standards, i suspect, but it was understandable given what had transpired. In lieu of a dinner, the grandson took us for a ride into the next town and suggested a place to eat which we enjoyed immensely. The next morning, we were given a full breakfast and also enjoyed a nice chat and some advice on what to see and do. Arriving here after a challenging day of hiking and trying to beat the rainclouds, I really wasn't sure what to expect, and I am sorry our timing was not the best, but I don't know that I would've traded this experience at all. I hope to visit again, under the best of circumstances.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Similar to others we came to An Portan a little ahead of the season in April. Probably that partly accounts for the somewhat lonely feeling of the place and the rooms seeming somewhat unkempt. Apart from that they were basic and OK, with lasting hot water in the shower.
Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, giving us tips for the next leg of our Dingle Way walk. Breakfast was great and plenty, a good basis for the walk ahead.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingoism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunquin
6.0 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
656 reviews
9.0 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,141 reviews
9.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
655 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
6.0 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Portan Guest House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Portan Guest House and Restaurant

Property: An Portan Guest House and Restaurant
Address: Baile an Teampaill, Dun Chaoin, Dunquin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dunquin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — An Portan Guest House and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your An Portan Guest House and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing