We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rathkeale House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathkeale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Food and service fantastic.well done to all the staff for your professional expertise in catering for 244 people at a wedding.we had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel the bedrooms were spotless breakfast cooked fresh for every guest lovely outdoor area and beautifull gardens we will be going back to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaypdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    24
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
28
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We planned to stay for one night, but extended our stay to three ! Our room was large, very clean and comfortable, overlooking a large garden. The owner and staff were very attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was very relaxed with large areas where you could sit quietly if you wanted.
The varied menu catered to all tastes and offered good value. The owner even produced his own jar of vegemite to cater to our Australian taste.
Rathkeale is central to lots of areas to explore making this hotel an ideal base.

Room Tip: Rooms with heavy curtains will block out late night and early morning sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After travelling for 8 weeks around europe and staying in fancy hotels i have found that this has been by far the best hotel. the rooms are large and airy and the bed was so comfortable i thought i was back home in my own bed. overall aver clean hotel. best nights sleep to date. the staff are so friendly and did far more than i expected in making my stay happy and comfortable. the food is to die for from a hardy irish breakfast to a feast for dinner and all an affordable price. it is in a great central location for exploring munster county, dingle, limerick and more. will definetly be staying here again. thank you to all the staff for making my stay so good.

Helpful?
1 Thank joeyd67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ireland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel . We had a bedroom on the second floor.The bedroom was very dated and old fashioned. There was a very musty smell in the bathroom as if it had'nt been used in quite a while. There was a considerable amount of dust on the toilet roll holder.The beds were very comfortable but there were blankets rather than duvets which is very unusual these days.There was tea making facilities in the room in addition to flat screen tv and wifi. The real problem came when we ordered our breakfast,we had to wait 40 minutes as they had forgotten our order and we had to ask again. When the breakfast did arrive, it was beautiful, very good quality products , freshly cooked to order. It was such a pity that we had to wait so long.All of the staff members we met were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor appear to be more dated than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

As part of a family reunion our group booked 5 rooms at the Rathkeale House Hotel. We were shown to our rooms, 4 out of 5 rooms were satisfactory although not as the professional bedroom photo on the website. The hotel promptly addressed all room concerns and an alternative fifth room was found. The bedrooms were clean and simply furnished with crisp white bed linen, we all slept well. The bathrooms do need up dating and I found that the shower ran hot after 8:30am, tepid prior to this, at 7:30am/7:45am the receptionist checked both the boiler and shower for me and said give it another 15mins, which duly became another 20mins to run hot.

The food was excellent and all dietary requirements were met. Food quality, freshness and flavour were excellent, with generous portions served at the carvery. Iced fresh water was always available with all meals.

Our party had mixed dietary requirements a couple of vegetarians, dairy free and gluten free/ceoliac. I emailed these ahead of our arrival. The chef was excellent and went out of her way to accommodate our group, the gluten free bread was delicious, not the usual tasteless sawdust. My sister kept pinching mine.

The hotel was easy to locate within Rathkeale and well placed for a quick shopping trip to Adare. It was quiet and secure with a pretty garden, prior to our booking we had checked that there were no large functions planned. The car park is generous, which helps when getting elderly relatives in and out of the car.

Everyone had a very enjoyable, relaxed stay at the Rathkeale House Hotel; I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room over looking the gardens with the summer house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EWood321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. The room was basic but clean with a nice bathroom, tea/ coffee facilities and a tv.The room had a double and a single bed. We also had a cot in our room which we had requested. The food in the bar was lovely with lots of choices and no complaints about any of it, staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, cooked to order and very tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EbhL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed for two nights whilst attending family funeral.the staff couldnt do enough for us providing efficent friendly service.we requested a large lunch for 180 with two days notice and they duly obliged. i needed access to type a document and the manager
allowed me to use office computer.we upgraded to executive room well worth it.thank you to all at rathkeale house who helped us through our difficult time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathkeale
7.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
16.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
16.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
13.8 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathkeale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathkeale House Hotel

Property: Rathkeale House Hotel
Address: Lower Main Street, Rathkeale 000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Rathkeale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathkeale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathkeale House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an old orchard well recessed from the Main Street, with ample parking for 200 cars and coach bays. Rathkeale House oozes the charm and character of an old world hotel. However this purpose-built hotel only opened in 1997. Large, spacious public areas high ceilings, earthy colour decor, open fires and the use of wood create a unique atmosphere. The hotel has 26 tastefully-decorated bedrooms, all en-suite, with direct-dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and multi-channel TV. Relax in the foyer where you may enjoy a leisurely drink by the warm glow of an open log fire. Be it that special treat, evening meal, wedding function or conference it is without doubt an ideal central venue. Newly Re-opened The Hotel was reopened in September 2011 under the ownership of Damien & Brenda O’Grady. Damien, Australian born has returned to his roots as his father was born just outside Rathkeale. Family-Run The hotel is family-run so you can be assured of personal attention at all times. It is our aim to ensure that your stay will be a truly memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Ideally Located The Hotel is ideally located for business travel & holiday makers with Shannon, Cork & Farranfore Airports all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Rathkeale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing