We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff were rude and unhelpful... nice view though...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cosmomare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cosmomare
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staff were rude and unhelpful... nice view though...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I came here on a school trip in july. The staff were rude and unhelpful. They threatened to take our deposits away for things wehad not done.
They made one of our teachers go to a different hotel because the hotel room was double booked.
The food was disgusting every day. One day we had a liver and aubogene pie and cooked lettuce. It was horrible.
The beds were unconfortable and I couldnt sleep, the sheets were not confortable
Some people in our group had money stolen.
Rooms were hot and stuffy.
The lift broke while we were inside it. Several times.
We had room 611 (i think) and we had a lovely view, i took a picture from our balcony which is now my background on my computer. We had a room at the back of the hotel, not facing the road :D

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road are nice. Great view of mountains, south easten windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    100
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
35
123
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff were exceptionally rude and unhelpful. Whilst sitting in the bar area one night talking, the member of staff made it difficult for us to order drinks and dropped subtle hints that he wanted us to go to bed like turning the lights off and turning the TV up which he sat and watched next to us

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Commodus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for a night before we left the Almafi Coast. You access the hotel by walking into a block of flats and going up in a rickety old lift, it's very strange! However, when you get to the floor the hotel is on, the views are amazing. Rooms are nice enough - clean and ok decor. Only issue we found was that the air con goes off at 2am. It was boiling hot so the room was stifling!

Overall, hotel is ok, fine for a stopover or even just as a base to sleep in if you are exploring Piano di Sorrento but don't expect a pool or lots of amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jossters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Came here on a school trip very excited. I was very let down. The rooms were ok the views incredible but the staff terrible. They were impolite and rude to us. They even threatened to take all of our deposits away when we had done nothing wrong. The food on the first and last night was disgusting. I'm not a fussy eater but I couldn't eat it! The breakfast had no options of cereal etc it was French toast, a small role or a brioche.
I think the staff ruined it because we paid good money to stay there and they wouldn't even smile or say "ciao" when they did say something it was blaming us for something we hadn't done! They clearly didn't want us there!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italychick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmomare, Proprietario at Hotel Cosmomare, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
"Sorry for the disruption occurred. By taking the maximum liability for what happened, please go to our hotel, and we will offer you maximum comfort. "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Best value; best view; best room; excellent breakfast; quiet but close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zillyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This small hotel in Sorrento peninsula was a very nice surprise of our trip to Campania region. It's brand new and you can enjoy the sunset facing the sea view and the Vesuvio! We have 2 young daughters of 4 and 1 years old, the staff has been very professional and at the same time taking care of our "million dollar requests" to take care of our kids. The room we got allowed comfortable stay for all 4 of us. The hotel is near to train station, which is crucial for going around the province of Napoli, but not that near to hear the noise!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank france_lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

A modern, clean & comfortable hotel close to all Sorrento amenities. The staff & everyone at the hotel were warm & friendly. The views across The Bay of Naples were superb. A great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerwallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Antico Casale Russo
Antico Casale Russo
#3 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#10 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmomare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmomare

Property: Hotel Cosmomare
Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 43, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmomare 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cosmomare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing