We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent two weeks at the hotel.”
Review of Hotel Cosmomare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cosmomare
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent two weeks at the hotel.”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Piano di Sorrento after spending two weeks in this beautiful part of Italy. We had a lovely time. The hotel is run by a very nice lady and her daughters, who were very helpful at all times. The young man in the breakfast room was also very helpful and friendly, which is the nature of Italian people. The hotel is very clean. The quality of the furniture is very good. The view from the breakfast room and some of the bedrooms overlooks the marina and the sea. We definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room, which allows you to sun bathe if you wish, or sit out and have a drink or rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    104
    46
    6
    9
See reviews for
40
131
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

When I arrived I had some trouble finding a parking space on the street. Then I saw the building and looked rough around the edges and I thought I was getting a very low quality hotel. I followed the signs to hotel Cosmomare and it took me inside the building which looked like a apartment complex (not what I was expecting). The elevator you have to take to the fifth floor for the hotel. The steel cage elevator barely fit me and my luggage. At this point I was thinking what did i get myself into. Arrived at the fifth floor and to my surprise it was very new looking, remodeled, and clean. Very nice views of the sea and mountains in the lounge. The service was excellent and I had a bottle of wine and fresh strawberries waiting in the room for me. I would suggest pay for their parking garage if you are driving. Eliminates the unexpected happenings with parking on the street. The staff there was very nice and friendly. They were always eager to help in anyway possible. For example, I was a hour late for breakfast and they were still kind enough to get me what i wanted. The rooms were very simple but nice, clean, and sharp looking. I had a balcony view of the mountains which was very relaxing to sit out at night and watch the town. Over all I had a great stay there and despite what it looked like from the outside, it turned out to be the best choice for my hotel I could have made. I hope to visit Sorrento again very soon and I will be staying at Cosmomare again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave8685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is the third year I have stayed here with a large group of teenagers. At first the staff were tense and obviously not used to school parties. This year though they were excellent and very warm and helpful in all they did. It is a great spot and the views are splendid. Everything works efficiently, and any small issues are quickly addressed. A super hotel for groups and individuals. The restaurant round the corner, il Chiosco, also excellent homely local cooking and excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBauckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conure59
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Entrance by very small lift but no problem, once in hotel the staff very nice and helpful.We were allocated a triple room with a balcony and the views from our room and breakfast / bar area were fantastic, overtowards Naples and Vesuvius and the islands. Breakfast was cereal,rolls,croissants, cake,yoghurt,french toast and preserves,coffee,tea and fruit juice. Sat overlooking the marina and extensive view, it was a pleasure to experience. The Family owners recommended 2 restaurants. At both, the staff took time to explain the menus to us and the food and service were excellent. We used the hotel garage for our hire car, (driving in Italy is not for the faint hearted).So once more thank you to a friendly family for a lovely holiday and we hope to return once more.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the top floor with a lovely seaview and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conure59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I came here on a school trip in july. The staff were rude and unhelpful. They threatened to take our deposits away for things wehad not done.
They made one of our teachers go to a different hotel because the hotel room was double booked.
The food was disgusting every day. One day we had a liver and aubogene pie and cooked lettuce. It was horrible.
The beds were unconfortable and I couldnt sleep, the sheets were not confortable
Some people in our group had money stolen.
Rooms were hot and stuffy.
The lift broke while we were inside it. Several times.
We had room 611 (i think) and we had a lovely view, i took a picture from our balcony which is now my background on my computer. We had a room at the back of the hotel, not facing the road :D

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road are nice. Great view of mountains, south easten windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff were exceptionally rude and unhelpful. Whilst sitting in the bar area one night talking, the member of staff made it difficult for us to order drinks and dropped subtle hints that he wanted us to go to bed like turning the lights off and turning the TV up which he sat and watched next to us

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commodus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for a night before we left the Almafi Coast. You access the hotel by walking into a block of flats and going up in a rickety old lift, it's very strange! However, when you get to the floor the hotel is on, the views are amazing. Rooms are nice enough - clean and ok decor. Only issue we found was that the air con goes off at 2am. It was boiling hot so the room was stifling!

Overall, hotel is ok, fine for a stopover or even just as a base to sleep in if you are exploring Piano di Sorrento but don't expect a pool or lots of amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jossters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#11 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmomare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmomare

Property: Hotel Cosmomare
Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 43, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmomare 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cosmomare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing