We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dragged away kicking and screaming!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dragged away kicking and screaming!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked this hotel because it was all inclusive and couples only and we thought it seemed like good value for money, how wrong we were! It was all those things and oh, so much more! The staff could not have worked any harder to make our stay more enjoyable and the location, in the Sorrento hills breathtaking! Angelo, Giovanni and Carmine (Sr) could not have done anything more to make us feel welcome and the food, good grief! Not putting on weight is not an option on this holiday and the all inclusive drinks menu is extensive. Is it ok to have Prosecco 'o'clock when back in the UK? Cocktails on the terrace at 6 every day is sorely missed and cooking for the family a chore to now be endured. The excursions by Thomson are expensive and if you want to go off piste and visit Pompei without the cost, then give it a go. It's easy and a fraction of the cost. The hotel will even give you a packed lunch to take with you with drinks (non-alcoholic!). We had a wonderful holiday and though not a scorchio in terms of hot weather, still warm and just right for sightseeing.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with terrace at the back overlooking olive trees, very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JanandChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    323
    86
    28
    22
See reviews for
60
1,425
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Travelled with Thomson holidays to the Nastro Azzurro and found the hotel practically perfect in every way! The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful and if there was something I could have bought home with me it would have been the chef! The food was absolutely amazing. I'm usually quite picky, this is impossible here, there is something for every taste, even gluten free pasta! Helen and Greg are the hotels entertainment and were brilliant, singing and playing the most beautiful music. The hotel is a bit remote, however they do provide a shuttle service to Sorrento. You do need to book this and we used it only once, unfortunately more people were on the shuttle than had booked and we had to wait for another shuttle to arrive, although others who had used the shuttle more often said this was unusual. The rooms are OK, nothing special but nothing to complain about. The hotel grounds are kept beautifully which makes it too easy to relax in!
Would return to this hotel tomorrow if I could, however not with Thomson holidays, they let the hotel down, no reps available, trips booked and then cancelled, reps not being truthful and leaving hotel staff to make right what Thomson reps had made wrong. But don't let that out you off this hotel, it really is a jewel in the crown with first class staff. :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ImogenStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzuro in April 2014. The hotel, the amazing staff, the food, the beautiful spring weather and the stunning Amalfi Coast surroundings combined to make this the best holiday of our much travelled lives.

There are so many positives to write about, but for us the hotel and staff where the stars and in honour of all of them I have written a little poem:

A Poem for the Staff At The Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro, Sorrento, Italy

In the hills above Sorrento there is a wonderful place.
Where you'll feel most welcome, they never forget a face.

Angelo and Giovanni run the restaurant like captains at the helm.
It gets very busy, but nothing will overwhelm.

Like busy bees the team work hard to meet all of your needs.
They like nothing better than performing their good deeds.

From breakfast in the morning then lunchtime at the pool.
The amazing dinner in the evening always left us full.

The music was wonderful, simply a joy to the feet.
An English Rose's beautiful singing with a guitarist keeping beat.

At the bar Carmine takes the orders, always remembering what you drink.
Dancing and joking with the guests always giving a cheeky wink.

All the guests are very happy, but on departure there are tears.
We will all return next year and for many, many years.

Thanks To All Off The Management and Staff at the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzuro.

Special thanks to:

The friendly management and reception team for answering questions and giving help
Angelo and Giovanni for taking the best care of us in the restaurant.
Piña - for serving us with a smile.
Chiara - for working so hard and for finding me some Tiramisu, as a special request one evening.
Vincenzo - The new guy who got better and better each day.
Carmine, Fabio, Giuliano, Giuseppe and the rest of the excellent bar staff.
The Omelette and pancake chef who took great pride in making the perfect omelettes every morning.
Helen and Greg aka The Buendias for there excellent music and entertainment.
James and Claire the hard working Thomson team.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Out-on-a-Lymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This Hotel is excellent - staff very efficient , attentive & friendly .

Only let down is the very poor Thomson Company presence .
Returned yesterday ( 11/04/2014 ) the Thomson Representative went sick first day ( no excuse she was very , very poorly ) .
Thomson's did not fly in another Rep. and so their Welcome Meeting , room problems , Queries and breakfast arrangements for departures before 06.10 am & transfer arrangements had to be dealt with by the Hotel Reception staff ( very efficiently ) .
Thomson's only arranged for 2 coaches to transfer ALL guests on departure back to Naples Airport - many more customers were on Transfer's to Gatwick , Manchester , Birmingham - Glasgow etc .
Fortunately again the Hotel Staff came to the rescue & organized another coach - Naples Airport THOMSON DESK computer hitch so all Thomson's only flights delayed - A Shambles .

Clare ( entertainment co-ordinater ) at Hotel told guests " She not a Thomson employee " so could do nothing ! .

Again thank you to all Hotel Staff - you shined and I & my wife will return again because of your attitude & caring .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week here. We have experienced AI holidays before but this surpasses all.The management and staff were incredible, they all seem to have the knack of making you feel special .The food is amazing, probably too amazing!, We hated going out for the day and missing lunch! If you want a lovely relaxing week in an elegant hotel surrounded by great scenery this is for you .A huge thankyou to management and staff for making our first trip to Sorrento unforgettable .

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 141kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This Is by far one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure to stay in . Set in the beautiful settings of Piano di Sorrento. The staff are absolutely on the ball and the overall ambience is something special. The views from the rooftop are unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I decided to stay here through Thompson and it was no disappointment. We stayed for a week all inclusive and it was the best holiday we have ever had. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff are incredible and friendly and the food...oh the food is amazing. I have never looked forward to meal times so much. The drinks are a bit too lovely and convenient. The wine is lovely. the entertainment in the night was good. But in the room you could still hear them. But the music wasn't bad so we didn't mind as much.
In terms of it's placement it is a bit out of the way. we didn't walk anywhere. We took the shuttle bus into Sorrento and walked around the town, which is lovely also and serves amazing ice cream. Sorrento has a busy train station and we got a train straight to Pompeii and I believe you can travel quite a bit using the trains. Beware people like to pack themselves like sardines for some reason. If you are out for the day the hotel will make you up a packed lunch if you tell them the day before and they are gorgeous.
Just to warn you you WILL put on extra weight as the fresh pizza by the bar, the puddings, the cheese and bacon bread, the parma ham and cheese omelets in the morning and the cocktails will put pounds on you. But boy is it worth it. I highly recommend this hotel. It is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Nut_farm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.4 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
1,225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,015 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing