We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bitter sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from GNA after a weeks stay. Having read the reviews on here we were quite excited about our journey and stay there.
On arrival about 10pm we were very impressed to be told that we were to leave our bags and go straight to the restaurant where food was being served and that our bags would be taken to our room. We were greeted by a glass of bubbly and led to our table by very smart waiter and were given a lovely 3 course dinner which was well received as we had not eaten in some considerable time. The food was lovely, hot and well presented, this gave us a very positive start to the service we were to expect as mentioned here in many reviews. However no one directed us to our room and we had to ask for directions.
On arrival to our room we found it to be exactly like in the pictures but what they did not reveal was that they are quite compact, the bathroom a little tight for space (neither myself or my husband are stick insects nor whales) the balcony was big enough to get 2 chairs and a little table on it but that was about it, so a little disappointing there. However as we were only to be sleeping and showering there it was not much of a problem really. There are 6 English T.V. channels apparently but we only had 3 all news channels, next morning we reported this to reception and were told it would be addressed, after 4 consecutive days of reporting the same thing it was still not fixed so we gave up after all we were only there for 7 days. We are aware that the surrounding areas are beautiful and that there is a lot to see and great excursions to go on but we like to watch a little T.V before going to bed but we could not stand any more news items that are basically in a loop. (brainwashing!)
The food is lovely and plenty of choice and you are not rushed by any manner of means which for an A.I resort is unusual.
It is also an adults only hotel but to be honest I thought would be wonderful but it was rather quiet but again that is my personal opinion.
The pool is very well presented and beautifully kept but be prepared it was really really cold. I assume this is because it is early in the season but I think some sort of heating to take the edge off it would have been better. The weather was lovely and hot but the pool was so cold I could not go in past my knees.
Also there is no shop on site for say you needed more sun lotion or a paper, paracetamol etc, there is a free bus service to Sorrento (20-25 mins ) where you can get these things but a bit far. By the pool there is a small shop but it is never open.
My advise is to take the excursions if you want to see the surrounding beautiful attractions as driving is somewhat dangerous.
Don't let this review put you off, the place is beautifully kept, clean and quiet but it is not as "perfect" as we thought it was going to be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmap59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Please read for a few tips and friendly advice for anyone going to Sorrento or this hotel. my boyfriend and I booked our holiday from the 25th April - 2nd May 2014. if you ever book a holiday to this hotel please make sure that you have checked the weather forecast first *very important for this particular hotel* make sure you don't mind coach trips everyday for at least an hour to get anywhere from the hotel for any of the excursions! Me and my boyfriend were both fed up of having to sit on coaches by the time we got to the hotel as it took nearly 3 hours! to get there when it should of taken 50minutes! In to the center of Sorrento it took 15 minutes by free shuttle bus. be prepared to pay three figured payments for any of the excursions. out of the 7 days in Italy it had rained for 4 of them, 1 overcast day and 1 1/2 was sunny. on the sunny days we obviously made the most of these and sunbathed. when it was raining we couldn't do anything in the hotel as they were not equipped with any indoor activities such as, table tennis, pool, board games, swimming pool and Jacuzzi; all of the activities were outdoors! all we could do was sit around watching the world go by and thinking of what the weather is like back in England because it must have been better than Italian weather. I am so glad we had each other and that we get along so well and enjoy each others company!
The Jacuzzi was ok, when it was hot, we had troubles with the heating!
The swimming pool was freezing cold.
The young staff members were quite ignorant and rude, not apologising for wrong meals and bad service. the Older staff were faultless, absolutely perfect standard! Vinciento and Angelo were great! the reception staff were superb!
the room was very nice and snazzy!
the food was brilliant!! couldn't have faulted it, you could have desserts for breakfast dinner and tea.
please don't attempt to walk into Sorrento or anywhere on the road, as there is no footpath anywhere and the Italians are crazy drivers!
Entertainment duo was nice, different themed nights was good!
as we were stuck in our room for a couple hours each day due to the weather, the TV was rubbish! we could only get 4 channels out of 900 that would convert into English. channel, 3-4-22-26
the hotel doesn't have great Wi-Fi signal

Overall the holiday was nice and relaxing getting to spend time together, although the weather could have been better, should have been more facilities indoors and the service could have been a bit more polite about the little things.
I would recommend this hotel if you are rich, loved up with one another, enjoy coaches, like good food, music, and like lots of drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hi All my Wife and I have just returned from a fantastic week at the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort On arrivel at the hotel we were greeted with a glass of Presseco and the wecome speech from the front of house manager delivering the normal things Bla Bla. All I can say to this is its the first time that the staff at a hotel exeed the wecome speech, the staff don't go the extra mile they go the extra TWO miles never before have my wife and I stayed in a hotel so clean even the lifts look brand new. The food is of a good quality and great variety every day wine is not served by the glass as it is in most all inclusive you get a bottle of what ever including sparkling which is a nice touch. In the evenning there is a duet singing which are very good .
If ther is a draw back to this hotel it's a bit far out of town saying that all the good hotels are a bit out of town and run shuttle bus's the same as the Nastro Azzurro free of charge which is not a real downer

Room Tip: Occhio Marino Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went on 16th May for a week with my husband from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were so well looked after and felt so spoilt and relaxed. The food was incredible, I am particularly fussy and we do not eat pork but there was so much choice, we eat so well and drunk v.well also :)!!! We had some delicious red wine witj dinner and got bottles of prosecco for after dinner!! The hotel is vey clean and v.well maintaned the staff are so helpful and kind. We ventured out the hotrl as wanted to explore got s boat trip to Capri and bus to Amalfi coast (bus 6.20 euros return) total bargain and we even took a pack lunch that you can request at reception!! Do not book excursions with Thomsons total rip off we booked ourselfves in Sorrento for half the price! We had the best holiday ever so badly miss getting ready for dinner with h

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As many others as stated , the hotel is along way from the town , not walking distance , stunning views amazing staff , branded drinks , and a fantastic menu ! The downside for myself was the entertainment the duo who sang most nights got a taj boring ! It should be advertised that it is not suitable for people with walking difficulties , a long walk and lots of steps to the pool area .Also the hotel shop opened 2 days before we left , but not with essentials , T towels and gifts etc ! We met some wonderful people and as lin and ken stated on holiday it was wonderful how all the brits jelled , we are not all lager louts , lol .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden for sleep quality,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlymouthJanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks Holiday at The Nastro Azzurro (May 2014) and the whole experience was just perfect. The Hotel, Staff, Scenery & History this place has it all. This is not your average all Inclusive Holiday - it is more so much more. Sorrento is a short (but exiting)drive away via the Courtesy Mini Bus and is well worth a visit - be sure to take advantage of the free Walking Tour. Special thanks to Nico for making our trip so wonderful. Thanks too to all of the Staff at the Hotel - the food was the best I have ever come across ! The Entertainment was a Duo called The Buendias - Helen has a beautiful voice and is a reminder how such hard working groups deserve a break. Along with Gregg playing Acoustic Guitar the blend and sound was just perfect for such a relaxing Holiday. Thank you all so much. We are already looking to come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ianclarke103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Words cannot express the the amazing holiday we have just returned from in the Nastro Azzurro. Each and everyone of the staff are so wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. It seems like everyone is part of a big happy family. The rooms are exceptional, we had mood lighting, a double shower, they were spotless. The food was very varied and plentiful , lunch by the pool, dinner in the restaurant, cocktails in the sunset bar, wish I was there now. And the wine and proseco flow like water. The hot tubs are very soothing. The courtesy bus is great for visiting Sorrento if you can drag yourself away from the hotel. We enjoyed the entertainment, and the Thomson staff joined in with the hotel staff to make for very pleasant evenings, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank allecus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
167 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: £84 - £836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing