We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“teds review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

hotel nastro azzurro sorrento we stayed in the occhio marino annexe it it was worth paying the extra as we had a balcony and on the roof it had a nice sun terrace, with loverly views.staff was excellent , as was the food, cleanliness, and waiter service, free hotel mini bus to sorrento was very good,beware of bus time delay about one o clock,as a taxi to hotel will cost 42 euros.

Room Tip: upper floor in occhio marino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzuro in June 2014 for one week for our honeymoon – it was amazing, and we would have stayed longer if we could!!

Our stay started perfectly – arriving in the evening, we were met with prosecco arrival drinks and whisked through to dinner whilst our luggage was taken up to our room.

Our room was a standard double room with a balcony – it was gorgeous, and comfortable. Being in the main hotel, it was modern and we felt a reasonable size – the air con, tea/coffee making facilities, safe etc. were useful. Our view from the balcony was a real WOW factor. The mood lighting was fun too!

The food was excellent…at breakfast we particularly enjoyed freshly cooked pancakes and the freshly squeezed orange juice. Lunch by the pool is done in a similar buffet style; the freshly baked pizza (outside) is a highlight, and not forgetting the ice cream. Dinner is waiter service, and it really was like visiting a good quality restaurant every evening – there was a bruschetta of the day, and a vast array of Italian dishes throughout the week. The wine was enjoyable too.

The hotel facilities were fantastic: the pool, the Jacuzzi’s, the garden seating – there seemed to be a free space whenever we used these areas and they didn’t appear overcrowded.

The hotel bars were great too – we particularly enjoyed the spectacular views at the sunset bar and the cocktail menu at the main hotel bar.

The entertainment isn’t intrusive – the music performed by the resident duo was very good, and we did spend an evening listening to them whilst enjoying a drink on the terrace.

The hotel is situated perfectly to appreciate the magnificent scenery this part of Italy offers. To explore though, you do need to travel into Sorrento via the hotel courtesy bus – this was reliable and runs frequently enough for you to make plans for your day. We did also go on a day trip to Vesuvius and Herculaneum – not to be missed!

And our final compliments go to the lovely staff – efficient and helpful, friendly and good-humoured (particularly with the England v Italy World Cup game taking place during our stay).

If you travel with Thomson, their reps, Nik, Kate and Claire, are there if you need them – Nik’s tour of Sorrento was great; he was knowledgeable and it ensured we made the most of the town when we returned on our own later in the week.

THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsTAH_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was most definitely a holiday to remember for all the right reasons. We stayed a the hotel for 2 weeks from the 20th June to 4th of July.

Our room 124 in the main block above the restaurant, spacious, modern and cleaned daily to a high standard. The room had a large balcony / terrace with beautiful views and sun facing until mid afternoon.

The staff are amazing...all staff and managers alike work hard and nothing is to much trouble, it is nice to stay in a hotel where the customer experience really does come first and all staff from all departments work extremely hard to achieve this.

Meals - buffet breakfast with lots to choose from, BBQ style at the pool bar, I would also recommend the packed lunch if your planning to go out and about available if you order before 9pm the night before.

Evening Meal - Full table service, choice menu and wine list all included in the AI. Theme nights where the restaurant was fully decorated. All excellent..Maître d, Angelo in one word Professional!

Bar - Branded drinks with no measures all served to the table, cocktail menu good too. Waiter Gio always service with a smile :)

Entertainment - On the whole pretty good, the Italian themed nights were excellent, resident duo good although do become quite repetitive in the second week, quiz night entertaining my only negative is with "Movie Night"...Thomsons what were you thinking " What Women want" ??? Still can't understand the reasoning behind this. I will say that the entertainment Rep Jess was great and lots going on.

Trips - We decided to do the Amafi Drive select and would highly recommend this excursion I don't think you would see as much of the panoramic coastline If you tried to do this on your own, you also need nerves of steel to hire a car I've driven in many places but would not even contemplate driving here.

We also went to Pompeii, we did this ourselves, booked the shuttle bus from the hotel, caught train in Sorrento 4€ return x2, 11€ entry to Pompeii x2, would recommend a great place to see. Advice turn right out of the station in Pompeii as the touts tell you to go left for tickets...don't listen the Pompeii entrance is a 2 minute walk to the right from the station.

Huge thanks to everyone at the hotel, we would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rhian-williams29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I meant to write this sooner but better late than never!
We stayed at this lovely hotel from 23rd May for 10 days and had a marvellous holiday in a beautiful location. I won't repeat all the details except to say that the hotel staff really did contribute so much to our enjoyment of the holiday. They worked very hard and most were always very friendly, charming and helpful, from the manager Carmine, down to the chambermaid and I just wanted to say a huge thank you for all your hard work.
We stayed in the annexe and had a very spacious, clean room. We found the food excellent and were so glad it was 99% Italian( great chips at lunch if required) and beautifully presented.
The Maitre d'Hote Angelo was the epitome of old fashioned Italian charm and made every lady feel special on arrival for dinner. The restaurant was very elegant and civilised unlike a previous family AI hotel been to and the charming waiters(Pepe, Giovanni, Francesco to name a few) helped make every evening feel like a date night out. There was more than enough choice and everything we had was good.
The pool was unheated but if you brace yourself and do the first length it is fine. It was great to swim without the noise and splashing of a family pool now we have no children with us. The poolside and lunch waiters were attentive and also very patient with my attempts at speaking Italian... thanks especially to Luigi, Vincenzo, Guiseppe ...all of you!
Thanks also to the talented Helen(great voice) and Greg who also encouraged us to dance in the evenings. What fun! The themed nights were good(well done Claire) and again the staff added to the fun,dressing up and dancing a little. Make sure you hear waiter Gio, sing on the Italian evening. We heard no noise at all in the annexe. We also met and chatted with some lovely fellow guests.
We went on a couple of organised trips(Amalfi drive and Herculaneum& Vesuvius) which were pricey but well done and absolutely worth doing. Amazing scenery and fascinating history combined.
We did Pompei by train on our own which was easy and cheap. Just go early.
We never go back to the same place twice but we really could envisage a return visit to the beautiful Nastro Azzuro hotel and have fallen in love with Italy.(Despite losing to you at football!)

Room Tip: Annexe quiet and not a million miles away. Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacquie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we stayed at this hotel from the 13 june to 27 june 2014. We were greeted by Nik the thomson rep and received a glass of bubbly and were taken for lunch. Our hotel room was in the main hotel and was ultra trendy and very clean with everything you needed.
The hotel is located in the mountains and is lovely and peaceful with the option to go to sorrento with the hotel mini bus.
The main thing about this hotel is the outstanding service of the staff particularly the restaurant and bar staff and the quality of the food and drink. it was brilliant that it was waiter service and you had a choice of what you ordered off the menu and a choice of what named wine you wanted. The food was restaurant quality. The choice of food and what you got at breakfast and lunch was great too particularly the pizzas.There were bottles of wine that you could take from the pool bar all day to drink in the sun, i have never seen anything like it. the staff wanted you to enjoy yourselves and even the managers would muck in and help pull pints and cut up pizzas - excellent team work.
Would recommend the hotel for all ages, the views are spectacular and it is such a chilled out resort of top quality. The trips were amazing but just be careful with extras and the select trips,as Thomson will not tell you about the standard trips which are cheaper.Just book this hotel you will not regret it!!!!!!

Room Tip: high floor in main hotel,over reception.stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CumbriaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in the main part of the hotel in room 206, overlooking the garden in a superior room. . The staff at this hotel is what makes this place perfect, As soon as you arrive you are given a brief over view of the hotel and then showed where to have lunch till room is ready. Each meal time you are sat by one of the amazing staff, this did cause a slight queue sometimes in the evening but worth the wait as it was not a free for all. The evening is a 3 course meal served , there is a buffet bit too if you wanted salad, extra veg. I would agree that the welcome meeting was a trip selling exercise, we did however do the walk around Sorrento and we found it really good, especially as it prepared us to go on our own, showing you where the bus stopped and picked you up and it was free to go so why not. The pool is freezing and we did not go in. We did have 2 days of slight rain and 1 day was windy but that did not spoil it. The staff at this hotel are the best people, so attentive and happy, you are truly made to feel like part of a family as soon as you arrive Some people that we spoke to had been going there for years.. It is spotless and clean, yes it is in the middle of nowhere, but you do your research before you go, we liked this idea which is why we booked it, yes there are stairs but once you are at the pool, everything you need is on that level till you need to go back to your room. We did our own trip to Capri on the ferry and then got a boat over to the blue Grotto this was beautiful, a tiny boat takes you into a cave , the boat only holds 4 people and you have to lie down to get into the cave but once in, the water is magical, the guy steering the little boat makes it feel magical. They do like a tip once back out the other side. This was a lot cheaper than the Thomson one. However there was a few trips that after speaking to some people that did themselves, I would go with Thomson on some of them. The transfer from airport is about an hour and a half, but an hour of that is driving through the beautiful scenery. Don't forget the tax that you have to pay at the end of your holiday, we was not told about this and was only aware cause we had seen a sign. They have themed nights, one was black and white so be prepared to take something with you, they have the resident photographer round that night so get your best frock on and people do tend to dress for the evening. The Italian night was the best, Italian singers and a conga round the hotel. The food was a carvery buffet night. Amazing. My husband has never been to the same hotel twice, but we are already looking at going back. Please go and enjoy this amazing hotel, it is a stunning place in a stunning location with the best staff, an absolute credit.... thank you for making our holiday so perfect.

Room Tip: The main part of the hotel apparently has the best rooms. Higher floors did not always have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickioliver2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having just returned from a two week break at the Nastro Azzuro we left feeling a tad jealous of the Thomson customers arriving to begin their holiday in Sorrento! You choose this hotel if you want to experience top quality customer care in stunning surroundings....it's a Couples hotel so it's an adult environment and the hotel's stylish surroundings compliment this. Some reviews criticise elements of the package offered but you must consider that this is a 4-star rated hotel and not a 5 star deluxe establishment ... There are hotels in this area that cost for a weekend what we paid for two weeks! As such this hotel is tremendous value as an all-inclusive option ... The food is varied and very good quality overall.. I read a review where breakfast was criticised for being the same on a daily basis, but the choice is vast ... Including a chef who prepares freshly made omelettes, pancakes and eggs to order and an automatic juicer using fresh local oranges to produce fresh juice... To criticise is to be pedantic! The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are of the highest calibre. The pool area is spacious and the chill-out area in the gardens suits those of us who like some shade and a peaceful place to read... Or take a bottle of wine and sit in a hot-tub with a view across to the Sorrento hills.. Not a bad way to spend a late afternoon. This hotel is 20 minutes out of town but the shuttle buses were regular and reliable. The Thomson reps (Nik and Kate) were absolutely first class and the excursions we purchased were excellent. They are expensive but this area is not the easiest to visit independently... Car hire favours only the brave and in our opinion the roads are so tight, and the local drivers so unpredictable, that our view was to let someone else do the driving and enjoy the views! Our recommendation would be the 4x4 Vesuvius trip which includes lunch at a fantastic local winery... Absolutely first rate excursion, don't miss it! This hotel is just a great place to chill out and unwind... It's also worth mentioning that the drinks included in the AI package are branded... Smirnoff , Gordons etc. which compliments the rest of the package. This is definitely a hotel to consider when visiting this absolutely stunning area of the World... The staff make everyone feel special and that is a rare thing at this level...

Room Tip: Pick a front facing room in the annexe on the 2nd floor if you want a stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hootsmahaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
1.8 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: £774 - £834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing