We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent peaceful hotel at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excelent peaceful hotel at great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The journey time from Naples airport to hotel was approx 1hr 20mins with some traffic on route and with narrow winding roads as you aproach the hotel.
The hotel itself is in a fantastic set up, the gardens are lovely, the pool is very large (if a bit cold) and the hotel itself is nicely decorated, very clean and large bedrooms/bathroom. We had room 338 which had one of the lagest balconies I have seen and extended the width of the hotel with views down to the sea and Sorrento itself, much better than other rooms balconies and also views down the Almalfi coast. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath (Although location of tap was a bit stupid as was in your standing space). The room was cleaned twice a day and the double bed (two beds pulled together) was comfy.
Room contained safe which was included free in the room, large wardrobes with plenty of hanging space, although not many hangers provided so take your own.
Electric shutters covered blins and windows and also provided extra security (not that anyone could get onto balcony)

We stayed All Inclusive and it was a must, given the prices of food and drinks in the hotel.
6 Euros a beer, 10 Euros a pizza. The all inclusive drinks were all named brands, the beer was Nastro Azzuro (Same name as hotel!!!).
However, the barman was a grumpy so and so, who insisted on people only having one drink at a time, he spent his time spying on your table to check you had completely finished your drink before being allowed another, even if you only had a mouthful left. This was especially the case at 10pm all inclusive last orders when people tried doubling up. The All Inclusive system was new to the hotel and they werent used to English drinkers, especially those who liked a beer and it was almost to the extreme reluctance to serve people.
As the all inclusive was new, you had to sign for every food and drink item. They obviously are working out the average cost of each drink and meal.
The food was OK but not excellent. It was a menu based choice rather than traditional all inclusive buffet style. Usually 4 choices of both starter and main meal each evening, with a fish dish and a pasta dish. No matter what the option of sauce each night on the various meat dishes, it all tasted of the same gravy!!!
Breakfast was continental buffet section of meats/cheese/bread/croisants supported by English breakfast of sausage/bacon/boiled eggs and a selection fo cereals (Not on par with kellogs and tasted stale!). If you like brown sauce on your breakfast, take your own as none in hotel.
Breakfast served in basement restaurant which has outside covered terrace.
Main evening meals served in main restaurant just off the lobby. The gala night has piano player in room and is 4 course set menu, with the waiting staff prancing the food round the room to music VERY BIZARRE!!!
The lunch menu is served at the pool restuarant and covered terrace (Seats in sun if wanted). If bad weather thismoves to main restaurant.
Hotel lobby has bar area and seats in evening with piano player and room for any couple wanting to dance. Also large outside covered terrace with great views.

Hotel is about 20 mins on shuttle bus to Sorrento, you just need to book bus in advance.
A larger coach was used one day due to a lot booking on at same time.
Almalfi drive is at start of hotel, so easy to hop on local bus to go down coast.
DO NOT book ant Thomson/First Choice trips, as everything can be done on your own accord for a fraction of the price and for a longer time period. Station in Sorrento is 2 mins walk from where hotel bus drops off and train goes through to Pompei for 3 Euros 30, this takes an hour. The same line is to Pompei and is about 25 mins on train, with Pompei main site 2 mins walk from station. If going to Rome, its very simple, 1 hour from Sorrento to Naples and from 1:20hr - 3hrs on train from Naples to Rome depending on what train you take, the price reflects the speed with slower train at 10 Euros each way.

The hotel gardens and pool is very peaceful and benefits from no kids. The views are superb. Hotel provides one pool towel per person which is collected using a voucher and voucher returned when towel is returned each day. Sunbeds and deckchairs were easy to obtain round the pool and umbrellas. The gardens have several gazebos in them for those wanting to sit in gardens in the shade and there is a patio area above the restaurant in the gardens with tables and chairs, very pleasant for an evening drink.

Hotel also has another seperate annex with views down Almalfi coast.
Hotel has a tennis court which also have great views from.
Laptop available from reception for internet.
Room service available at 8 Euro charge even if on all inclusive, but menu choice was poor, better sticking to restaurants.
Mini bar fridge in room, not included in all inclusive, but useful for putting own water etc in. Hotel all inclusive provides bottles of water and packed lunch if heading off on day trip.
Rubbish hair dryer provided in bathroom, hardly any power. Towels provided and changed each day, toiletries and soaps provided.

We arived at hotel at 11pm and cold buffet was left in room with bottle of wine and water, food was good and nice gesture on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    319
    85
    28
    22
See reviews for
60
1,407
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

we stayed for 1 week and it was fantastic, Although the hotel is some distance from Sorrento itself (about 25 minute drive) it offers a pretty good shuttle service into town. Even better is that if you go to Positano or Amalfi, it is on the SITA bus route and the bus will happily drop you off there.
The food was first class and the staff helpful and friendly. The decor and standard of cleanliness in the hotel was second to none and the gardens are beautiful, with breathtaking views.
Despite any negative views expressed on this site, I believe you will always get those who have a complaint and they are much more likely to register it than those who are satisfied. We were delighted to have chosen this hotel. Believe me when I say we usually stay in top class hotels and this compared very favourably, especially in view of the cost.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leewmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We enjoyed our stay here as the staff were friendly and the surroundings peaceful & relaxing which is just what we wanted. We had booked a half-board deal with Expedia which was great for us as we were out seeing the sights most days but we did have to pay a bit for our drinks though. We had a garden view standard room with a terrace to relax with a book in the evening light. It was rather nice to have breakfast sitting outside while admiring the views and the waiting staff were very attentive. The same staff served us at the evening meals which were lovely and varied in choice. The shuttle bus was very good for taking you into Sorrento itself - it even took us on a lovely trip to a sister hotel with a private beach and sea view swimming pools one day. You need to book the bus in advance to get the times you want. Housekeeping were fabulous as the rooms were very clean and tidy. They visited twice a day but we were flummoxed when they removed our shower curtain the evening before we left which we didn't realise had gone until the following am causing a slight problem?! The only complaint I would have was the fact we couldn't use the safe as there were no instructions in the room even though we did request a copy! The only regret? - we didn't get round to using the health & beauty facilities (hot stone treatment etc).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We went to this hotel for our honeymoon and it was amazing. The scenery around the hotel is so beautiful and the location of the hotel makes it an excellent choice for a relaxing holiday. All the hotel staff were so friendly and the service was great. The hotel is very clean and so are the hotel rooms. From our balcony we could see Mount Vesuvius and The Bay of Naples which looked lovely on a night time all lit up. The choice of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good, we never went hungry and there was always something we liked on the menu. The hotel was fairly quiet when we went which was nice as the restaurants and pool area were never too busy. The views from the hotel terrace and pool area are to die for. The courtesy book is an excellent service, it runs nearly once an hour to and from Sorrento and the drive down in the bus offers some fantastic views. We loved heading back up to the hotel at tea time and getting away from the busy areas in Sorrento and relaxing at the hotel. We can't wait to go back to this hotel again next May.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands - UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We travelled for Whit week with first choice all-inclusive and it was all-inclusive from the safe in the room, to the choice of the bar even including freshly made cocktails. No limits at all you could drink wine by the bottle from 10 to 10.

Breakfast was continential with limited hot selection but the coffee and english tea made it a very pleasant experience. Lunch served by the pool was limited but freshly cooked waiter service the pizza were out of this world so was the ice-cream. Dinner in the main dining room was buffet salad and desserts (which were varied and naughty!!) with a soup or pasta course followed by a meat or fish course both waiter service. On Thursday they have gala night which is a real treat with a little theatre (I won't spoil the surprise).

Oh with all the wonderful food and drink nearly forgot the room was large and omfortable with maid service twice a day and nice white cotton sheets. The free shuttle into Sorrento gave us the chance to explore but we were glad to get back to the peace and tranquility and the lovely fresh mountain air at the hotel.

Defnitely want to go back as it was a totally relaxing holiday with great staff at a well run hotel. (Naples airport is another story but that is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanttogoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Hotel was nice and clean in all areas.
First Choice do this hotel All inclusive which is a must or you will pay £9 for a small vodka and coke, £7 for a small ice cream, £10 for a cheeseburger, no roll or chips just a burger on a plate with a bit of cheese, a few chips are £3 extra. £10 for a pizza £5 for a beer, £5.50 for a glass of wine £3 for a bottle of water. It doesn't state in the brochure but all inclusive finishes at 10pm and you are not allowed to stock up on drinks.
Evening meal is waiter service, a choice of 4 pasta starters then 4 main courses always 1 fish and 1 vegetarian on menu. Buffet selection of salad and desserts. Food ok but bland. Lunch is just snacks by pool, such as burgers, pizzas, salads and sandwiches, all edible but not that good.
Shuttle bus service into town very good, not sure if will be so easy to get a seat in height of season.
If you like a bath, request this when booking as some rooms have them and some don't.
Trips are very easy to do yourself and so much cheaper than going with the rep, for instance to visit Amalfi booked through the rep it is about £45, public transport is very frequent and easy and it cost us £6 for a 24 hour ticket that you can use as much as you want.
Pompeii trip was £47 plus £11 entry fee, we paid £3.80 return on the train plus £11 entry fee. We weren't told that if you want to hire an audio guide you need your passport, driving license or credit card so wasn't able to get one. An italian man approached us and said he would do a 2 hour english tour for  €10 each, once he had got 6 people he began the tour, we were a bit dubious but it was well worth it, he was very informative.
Evenings in the hotel was very low key, a man each night on piano or guitar and the atmosphere was good.
If I wanted to go back to Sorrento I think I would still book this hotel.
Amalfi is very nice and food, drink and shopping seems much cheaper than in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kazzalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Yes it is remote from Sorrento but the shuttle service is efficient and reliable. The local area is peaceful and the views are great. There isn't really anywhere to walk if you fancy a stroll after dinner - the hotel makes much of the grounds but, though they are charming, they are steeply terraced and not really designed for just wandering.

We booked late and so comments I have read of expensive meals didn't apply as we got half board for a very good price. Dinner was huge every evening and one night a week is a gala dinner served formally with music and a certain amount of ceremony - we weren't looking forward to it but it turned out to be fun.

We booked through First Choice and their excellent rep made it trivially easy to book the usual excursions for which shuttle buses or taxis were arranged for us.

Overall great. Go there if you want peace and quiet, good service, are not seeking lots of facilities and like your food.

I'd suggest don't go there if you are not prepared to plan your day ahead (a spur of the moment taxi to Sorrento will cost 30 Euros), want to be occupied all the time, are impatient or quake at the sight and sound of coachloads of German tour parties descending on the dessert buffet at dinner (only kidding - there certainly were lots of Germans but they were all fairly charming!)

  • Liked — Hotel staff, scenery and food.
  • Disliked — Remoteness, relatively few hotel facilties.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyDaveSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.4 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#19 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing