We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time had” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
tamworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great time had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Just got back 14th August. Ignore all the bad remarks we had a great week there. Rooms clean, food good, staff helpfull polite attentive. Pool area real nice as for the view simply stunning. Would we go back without a doubt we plan to go back soon, would we recommend this hotel most certainly. Oh yes! thank you Sam our rep who was there if needed and helpful friendly with us all done your job well Sam. Regular shuttle bus from hotel to and from Sorrentto and once in Sorrentto getting aroun by public transport easy and cheap. Take public bus to Positano and Amalfi on 6 euro for all day return ticket both these places breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    313
    84
    27
    18
See reviews for
56
1,357
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

me and my new husband stopped at this hotel for our honeymoon fron 27th july to 10th august 2009. we wanted a quiet, relaxing beautiful hotel and that is what we got.
the hotel room was spotlessly clean, maid service and fresh towels daily, bedding changed twice weekly. small balcony with amazing views of sorrento, you could see the coast from our room too. the room also had a telephone, tv, hairdryer , aircon and free electronic safe. dont be put off when booking your room if it says twin beds as although it is 2 singles pushed together it doesnt make any difference as it has a double duvet etc.

if you want to stop in sorrento i strongly recomend this hotels all inclusive package for value for money as it it is the only hotel which provides this in sorrento and eating and drinking outside the hotel in the centre if sorrento is incredibly expensive ( 10 euros for a lemonade and a beer = £10). when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the all inclusive ended at 10pm which we were dissapointed with, however on the 2nd night they decided to extend this to 11.30pm to avoid huge queues at the bar at 9.45pm which was great! the food was excellent. buffet breakfast (tea and coffee served at your table), beatuiful breakfast area with gorgeous views. lunch at the pool bar with a wide variety of food (waiter service). the hotel was full when we stayed and this did sometimes mean waiting a whle for food, but we didnt mind as we could see the staff were rushed off their feet and we had all the time in the world anyway! evening meal was my favourite, 4 course meal every night in a beautiful dining room. the meat in particular was delicious, cooked to perfection. (i also recommend the rose wine with your meal as this was lovely). again, as the hotel was full, on 2 occasions we had to share a table with another couple but we didnt mind and it was nice to meet new people. the drinks at the bar had a huge selection of cocktails, spirits, beers, wines, soft dirnks etc and had many branded spirits such as southern comfort, malibu, baileys, jack daniels etc ect which i thought was brilliant!!

the courtesy bus was another big plus piont for this hotel as its 7km to the centre of sorrento, and the hotel is sutuated on a hill. the bus ran every hour and was free of charge although most people gave the driver a tip. the bus was always on time and was airconditioned (good job as it was 38-40 degrees outside!).

the first choice rep sam was the best rep we have ever had. she seemed to spend most of the day at the hotel, until late evening some nights, was very chatty with the guests checking they were ok and sorted any problems quickly. i would strongly reccomend however that you do not book the trips via the rep as they are a rip off. we travelled to pompei, capri, amalfi and possitano by ourselves very easily using the local trains, busses and boat trips, so easy and way cheaper than reps trips (4 euros for train to pompei, 35 euros if you went on the first choice coach trip and thats excluding entrance fee!!)

this hotel is not really suited for families with young children but is an ideal get away for couples. the only negative thing i can say is that the evening entertainment was poor, a keyboard man EVERY night playing the same songs over and over....ok for the first night but by the end of the 2 weeks holiday we knew this set list off by heart! i would reccomend taking a pack of playing cards and having a game whilst the keyboard is on
(-:

overall i would rate this hotel highly and we had a fantastic honeymoon there, definately go for the all inclusive option though, it will save you a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eposar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I went to this hotel with a large group of us for a friends wedding. Understandably it was peak season but for a week it was still rather expensive (£800 ish).
Staff were incredibly friendly and our rooms were cleaned daily very well including picking up my clothes from the floor.
You want to try and get a room with an odd number as these are on the front side of the hotel which have amazing views over serrrento. The rooms at the back of the hotel have a lovely view of a white hut, although the rooms either had a nice size bathroom and small bedroom or the other way around. The balconys on the first floor were huge ( we managed to get 27 people on one balcony with loads of room to spare) whilst on higher floors were big enough for 2 people to sit comfortably.
The wedding was amazing and the wedding party really enjoyed the ceremony which was held at a Villa in sorrento.
Unfortunately the wedding took place at 1.30pm and so we were unable to attend lunch which was only held at the pool restaurant, the brother of the bride tried to arrange so that we could have a proper cooked lunch once we arrived back which was at about 2.30pm just after lunch was stopped being served. Instead of a nice hot meal they gave us each a bag with one ham roll and one cheese roll and a plum. This probably sounds picky but at £800 for a weeks holiday i would expect a much better packed lunch which i had to endure 3 of the 5 days as we went out on excursions for 2 days.
The hotel has only started doing all inclusive and so they stopped serving alcohol at 10pm at night which is way to early, by the last two nights of our holiday they had pushed this back to 11.30pm which was much better.
The pool was lovely, as the hotel is on top of a hill approxiametly 15 minutes from the coast so this was the only place to go during the day and offered really nice views down to sorrento and the pool was really large and well cleaned and maintained (im a leisure centre manager so i know my pools!).
Being Italy i expected the food to be good and it was. The lunch time menu was amazing, the pizza's were especially lovely.
Food in the evening was served in the dining room which has a long trouser policy for men and this can be strict so be warned. Italians eat 4 courses so be warned ive come back with a bit more weight than l left with!
Although the food was lovely, the starters were nigh on the same every day and the deserts were a bit hit and miss on how alcoholic they were (some were just brandy in cake form) but there were gems if you could find them! All the food was italian so a lot of pasta was consumed whilst the proper main courses of fish or meat were exceptional (ive eaten at a number of michelin starred restaurants and it was nearly on a par).
Entertainment wise, well there was not much to write home about. Each evening a man would sit on the balcony with a keyboard and play some italian songs that nobody had ever heard before but it was nice to just sit out on the balcony and listen to him whilst drinking a nice cold beer and looking over serrento and mount vesuvius (thats probably spelt wrong).
Overall a really nice hotel with great staff and a beautiful view, they just need to work on their all inclusive package and this hotel will be a must for anybody heading to Serrento.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janesy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

my wife and i have just got back from holiday at the Nastro Azzurro hotel and must say that we where shocked that some of the reviews on here are not good, as we could not fault this hotel or the staff, the food was good with plenty of choice, the staff where friendly, we never felt the Italians got better treatment at all. our rep Sam was excellent, she was always happy to speak with us, asking us if we were having a good time, she was always around and even advised us about the local bus which i have never come across before from a rep, she is a credit to First Choice. the best part of our holiday i must say was when Sam advised us all that she had spoken with the owner about the bar being extended to 11.30pm as all inclusive, as there was queues at 10pm everynight! the only suggestion i would like to make is that a shop within the hotel would be good as the nearest village is a 15min walk along a busy road, but Sam even bought bus tickets for us... i would reccommend this hotel to all my firends and family as the value you get from all inclusive is unbeatable, Sorrento is beautiful but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Its difficult to summarise the hotel really as although there are some good points there are lots of bad ones too.

The location was okay, out of the main hustle and bustle of Sorrento, the surroundings were nice and kept clean and tidy. The room was nice, fairly big, large bed but two singles pushed together. Other guests werent so lucky and had quite small basic rooms.

The pool, I thought was nice, however it could be really busy so you had to go out early to get a sunbed and you had your usual selfish English reserving 8 sundbeds and not using any of them! I didnt see the pool cleaned or tested either but thats not to say it wasn't done.

The food was fairly inconsistent and really depended what your ordered. Breakfast was nice although you don't get a full cooked breakfast (scrambled egg, small frankfurter -hot dog type sausages and bacon was available).

Lunch is okay if you order pizza and pasta the salads and sandwiches are pretty poor, if you aren't on the all inclusive deal dont bother as they are incredibly expensive.

Evening meal again okay if you ordered the right thing, the fish was hit and miss as was the 'turkey roll'.

Service..............hmmmmmm breakfast good, evening meal okay, lunch could be awful unless you were Italian! Only one person took the orders and there were approx 3 menu's being shared around 50-60 people. Depending on what mood the manager was in depended on whether you got served in order or not. It could be fairly frustrating at times.

Entertainment was non existent and despite it saying generally couples resort there were lots of children.

Another thing that was fairly frustrating was the bar in the evening you could only get two drinks per room and after 9:30 there was always a massive queue so if you finished dinner late as the service was slow you would only generally have time for one drink.

The hotel is too far away to walk into Sorrento so the hotel put on a courtesy bus. However in the first week there was only a 16 seater which ran pretty much every hour, the hotel was at full capacity so with a few hundred guests sometimes you had no chance of getting into Sorrento before 2:30 in the afternoon. In the second week they sporadically put on a 50 seater so it was slightly better.

The trips via the rep were extremely expensive and you could organise them yourselves for less then half the price. We went to Pompeii on the train for 3 euro's (the train station is in the centre of Sorrento, ten minutes walk from where the shuttle bus drops you off) Or you can pay the 40 odd euro's the rep wanted for picking you up at the hotel. The same with the Capri and Amalfi trips you can book the ferry from the port in Sorrento for a lot less then you have to pay via the rep.

As stated by other guests, if you were Italian you did receive a much better service than the English and sometimes I felt like I was treated poorly as I was on the all inclusive deal.

There were guests having money stolen out of the safes too (the Police were called and apparently claimed the safes hadnt been tampered with!!!!!) Which put a bit of dampener on things. The manager did reset all the safes though and we didnt hear of any others having money stolen.

On reflection perhaps my expectations of the hotel were too high. Definitely don't compare it to other all inclusive deals as you will be disappointed.

A group of us got together and complained to the rep about a few things described above, she did pass our comments on to the manager who did try and improve things in our second week.

In summary I think the hotel will appeal to some but dont expect luxury.

Sorrento itself is wonderful with some lovely shops and restaurants. Its also a great location to get to other attractions, Pompeii, Capri, Amalfi Coast etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLSBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed for a fortnight 10 july-24 july. The service is terrible sometimes waiting over an hour for meals to be delivered. The room was ok as were the views but everything was spoilt on the last day. We had been warned in our first week that money was going missing from rooms including safes. We had 60 euros stolen from our safe and both next door amd door but one also had money go missing, obviously its a member of staff that can get into rooms and safes so beware.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NottsRobinhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

very nice hotel,very clean,good shuttle buses but could do with 1 more,handy for positano and amalfi as the local bus service nearest stop is about half a mile away and is well worth the 3 euros to amalfi.only real problem was lunch when the head waiter gives out menus then proceeds to serve the italians while some people waited over an hour to get served.if going here choose all inclusive as sorrento very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandStevieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing