We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Just got back from a week at this hotel great holiday great food great service.Only fault was room was cold .when we ask the rep heating was put on next morning

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    317
    85
    28
    22
See reviews for
59
1,379
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Been back a week from the Nastro Azzurro was very lucky and stayed in the Occhio Marino part of the hotel. Would like to thank all the staff for a fantastic stay most especially Carmine for getting me the Sambucca as it was not all ways available and he made a point of getting it in for me.

I have read some of the comments about the food and only on one night did my husband and I have difficulties with the food and they very kindley offered something else this was a gala night and i am highley allergic to Mussels which came in the anti pasta they immediatley took it away and replaced with salads for both of us.

We have stayed at many all inclusive Hotels and it made a very pleasant surprise to have waiter service in the evening instead of the mass scramble at the buffet. I did hear a few guests complaining about this as they seemed to think that they should have had larger portions but as our friends found if you asked for more they would get you another full course.
Ice cream was readily available at both lunch and dinner if you asked your waiter always a choice of 5 different flavours. after lunch if you were still hungry you could always go to the main bar and get Panninis from Antonio.

I hope that the full hotel refurbishment that is taking place this winter does not spoil the ambience of a wonderful hotel and that Thomson do not get the rugby scrum of a buffet in place of a peacefull dinner

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yrdraig1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Arrived at the hotel with my wife and some friends, the outlook of the rooms could not have been more different given that these were booked at the same time. Our room was number was 308 and overlooked the front of the hotel towards a mountain across the valley and our friends room 338 overlooked the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. Rooms are quite dated and the bathrooms poor (same quality to bathrooms in Goa). Food at the Hotel was more or less the same for the 10 days that we were there e.g. continental cakes served as a dessert (at no time was ice cream on any menu). Any food left over seemed to be served the following day for lunch. However, after all the negatives the staff were brilliant throughout our stay and as we went All Inclusive the drinks in the evening saved us a fortune. After the evening meal you are a captive audience in the hotel as there is nowhere to go - if you miss the shuttle bus a taxi will cost you over 40 Euro. If the weather is bad and you turn on the TV in the bedroom there are only 2 English speaking channels - BBC World News and CNN.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barca752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

My partner and I stayed at the hotel middle of September. We throroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to other couples. It was great value for money, the views from the hotel were stunning and the service provided by the staff was wonderful. I have noticed that the location is a problem for some of the reviewers but we found the shuttle bus reliable and we used it every day. Ok you had to book a day in advance but it ensured you planned days and got the most out of it. Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri and the Amalfi Drive (Amalfi, Positano) are so easy to get to and do it on your own as it's much better value for money. We would definately stay again, but perhaps upgrade to the superior rooms as we stayed in the older rooms which were a little knocked but still didn't spoil our holiday. No complaints about food either although the Gala Night wasn't to our tastes other guests seemed to enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyAtkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
225 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel was ideal for our 10 day stay.  Although not in Sorrento the shuttle bus and the very reasonable and frequent local bus service means that you are not too isolated.  The location is wonderful - mountain and sea views all the way around.  Our room, although in need of a freshen up was very good.  Spacious, comfortable, with fabulous views.  We were in the Occhio Marino block where the rooms were better than in the main part of the hotel. We were on an all inclusive package (booked through First Choice) and the food was very good.  In reality I would rate this hotel 3 star, but with a bit of work (which is planned this winter) it has the potential to be 4 star.  It was well run and for the price we paid, we definitely had value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felicityma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

On the face of it this is a beautiful hotel. All the public areas are very swish and beuatifully kept. The staff are excellent and the food generally is very good. However there are 2 reasons why we would not stay there again.
Firstly the rooms are tiny and badly in need of refurbishment. There is talk of this happening and things may be better (but more expensive) next year. However the walls are paper thin and this may not be addressed. We slept with ear-plus in every night. The bathrooms while clean are very dated with equipment not working (droopy shower head, no plug, fan not working). The balconies offer no seperation at all and if someone was on theirs, they'd be able to look straight into your room.
Secondly, the hotel is a 20 minute drive outside of Sorrento and there is a shuttle bus laid on. However, this has to be booked (there and back) and there is no flexibility and the bus although timed to leave town say at 7pm, will leave at 10 to if it has all its booked passengers on, so you cannot decide to take it and turn up at 5 to as it would be gone. the times it runs have no relevance to the needs of the guests. For instance the first one elaves at 7am, the next at 9am. the ferries to Capri and Ischia leave at 9.45 and 9.30 so there is no time to run down to the port, get your tickets and guarantee to get these ferries . We wanted to go to Ischia and had to leave the hotel at 7.30 then wait around in town until the ferry left at 9.30am. Also the driver does not drop you in the centre or at the port so you still have a fair walk to make.
So this hotel is fine if you just want to sit by the pool all day, not use your room or explore the area. But if we went to Sorrento again (which we loved), we'd choose a hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Holiday: Oct 2010

Party: 4 Senior Citizens

Hotel: Nastro Azzurro, Sorrento

Accommodation: Excellent, Four Star hotel, due for refurbishment during closed season with indoor swimming pool to be added, and rooms updated. This will improve already excellent accommodation. Maid service and safe provided free of charge. The site is clean and well maintained, and in general staffed by friendly and helpful staff.

Location: Hotel up in the hills above Sorrento. Courtesy bus service is available to and from Sorrento. You must book your reservation the day before.
Site can be windy and cloudy in off season. The site is a not level, with steps and uphill paths to some locations.

Food: Good, waiter served for dinner, plenty of choice, although there were lots of pasta dishes. Gala dinner was disappointing, with no alternative offered to main meal of fish. Meals could have been hotter at times, otherwise no complaints Many named brand spirits free.

Weddings are held sometimes at weekends

Would revisit again

Rating: 9/10

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BREVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.4 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing