We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovly food and lovely people ina lovely place”
Review of Hippo Drum - CLOSED

Hippo Drum
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovly food and lovely people ina lovely place”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were on a health and safety reccy in Piano when we stumbled upon Hippo Drum (also signposted as Irish Pub!) - we ate there a couple of times and had fantastic food, including sword fish steaks which owner, Joshua (the coolest geyser in Sorrento and beyond) went out of his way to acquire for us. His wife cooks and, although actually Welsh, does top Italian cusine. The bar restaurant has a great atmosphere, with welcoming locals, the lovely owners who we stayed up late with chewing the cud and putting the world to rights, and the friendly, polite 'scooterettis' whom Josh allows to stash their helmets there. There was a great community atmosphere about the place and we'll back in May - with 40 school kids in tow!
Chris and Martin

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgefirth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gomel, Belarus
1 review
“Feeling welcome”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

An absolutely charming place run by absolutely charming people.
We found Hippo Drum quite by chance, but since the very first minute we felt welcome. The cuisine was delicious (it was even possible to order something that was not on the menu!), and the atmosphere was something I was looking for - a relaxing evening plus a friendly chat with the owner. We spent two evenings there and we'll definitely come back, if we happen to get to Pian di Sorrento again.
P.S. Signing in here to write a review on Hippo Drum has been on my mind since August. Joshua, I'm really sorry we didn't find time to do it earlier, but better late than never, right? Hugs from Katya and Tanya, and Happy New Year!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpolevaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was some of the best food we ate in 5 weeks holidaying in Italy. The food tastes freshly prepared and delicious. We returned a second time it was such good value. Joshua (who reminded us of an Italian David Jason) couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipper484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“most friendly pub in Sorrento”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Loved this pub. Joshua the owner is great craic and went the extra mile to help us with travel advice and information to give us a better holiday. Not only that but the food was fantastic and the wine delicious and very reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Get in and see Joshua at the Hippo. He will make sure you enjoy your evening and the food and drink is top notch! Great quiet place away from the tourist area of Sorrento! Thanks Joshua great place

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippo Drum also viewed

Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing