We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ripetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Ripetta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days as we were attending a wedding locally. Location for the sea is good as long as you can walk up hills ok. There is quite a hike down to the beach and Bay Area. Hotel
Isn't a 3 star by British standards , more like a 2 but is ok.
The staff are helpful and friendly but the rooms are dated and air con very noisy. The spa is extra so we didn't bother and the terrace on the roof is well.........not what I would call a terrace! It's a concrete area with 4 broken sinners on it. There is no bar in the hotel so drinks have to be bought locally from shops. The lift is really tiny so if like me you don't like lifts the stairs are a must.
A big tip for anyone thinking of going to piano do Sorrento is do not go in August! It's a month of holidays for Italians and almost everything is closed. Quite literally!
Also, prepare to spend lots on taxis. A 10 minute journey will cost you around €30

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    95
    47
    44
    60
See reviews for
32
151
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We took 21 students (aged 12-14) for a 5 day trip to visit the historic sites.
The hotel were pretty helpful, giving me walking directions to the train station and checking up on things for us.
There wasn't really a room that we could use for entertainment/group stuff, but outside our rooms there was some space and just above reception the mezzanine was pretty useful.
The beach is a trek down the hill, but was worth it to get them to run off their energy.
The ice cream shop opposite is fantastic, kids loved it!
Food at the hotel was pretty basic, but then we were on a school trip.
Rooms were generally clean, and cleaned daily.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with a group of 22 high school students during a 19 day tour of Italy. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the restaurant was wonderful. Everyone there treated us well and the kids loved it. The balcony is beautiful and the adults watched the sunset every night while enjoying a glass of wine. Street side rooms are definitely noisy - I had to use headphones! The location is great - beach is down the hill and downtown shopping isn't too far away. WIFI was 2 euro per day and not very good. The little pizza place next door has free WIFI that is excellent and the kids quickly began going next door for a pizza or Coke and getting their WIFI fix there!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street side rooms. The street noise is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choogirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Pictures online make it look like there is a pool and jacuzzi but we never found either. get a seaside room, best view of anywhere in the world. street side overlooks bars and is exceptionally loud. staff very friendly. food in hotel delicious, carbs and decent dessert. ants in room a definite problem. took 37 american high school students there, perfect location to let them roam free at night unchaperoned for a few hours, mostly they get gelatto or go to the beach. Far enough from Sorrento center that they can't easiky get into "real" trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent three nights in the hotel this June. The situation is beautiful - The terrace looks out over the Bay, and is a great place to sit and have dinner or a drink. There is a small beach right beside the hotel where people go swimming.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a family hotel and would be great if you are looking for somewhere to stay on a budget. On our last morning we asked for a taxi but one of the owners insisted on giving us a lift to the train.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Una O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! I went there with a tour group and we got there at about midnight. The man at the front desk repeatedly shushed us even though we weren't being very loud at all. I never once saw any of the hotel staff smile or even be nice for that matter. Maybe it's because I am American and am in school studying Hotel Administration so I expect a lot from places I stay but this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Don't let the pictures online fool you - it looks NOTHING like that in person. The lobby and living room area are nice but other than that, it's horrible and cheap. The lights in our room didn't work so we told the guy at the front desk and he just kept saying "yes they do yes they do" and did absolutely nothing about it. Our room also had an ant infestation! I wish I knew his name but he's an older guy who is balding. Every staff member (all maybe 3 of them) seem like they genuinely hate their job. If you're going to be in the hospitality industry, you need to love people. Do not stay there! Lights in room didn't work, bathroom in the lobby didn't have toilet paper or hand soap, it's far from Sorrento, the staff is horrible, and you can basically count the springs in the bed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piano di Sorrento hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my school. The food was tasty but nothing special and everyday was the same meal: pasta with a plain sauce, chips and cheese and then dessert (cheap icecream). We had to pay for our packed lunches (£5 a meal) and it consisted of 2 stale sandwiches of plastic-like cheese, a small cake and a bottle of water, hardly worth it. One time, I found a dead fly in my sandwich, and another person found a hair.

The hotel does have some nice rooms, but only some of them. The rooms I received did not have any view and were dark. It only had two high windows which would have over looked a balcony, but didn't as it was barred off. The bath room was very small with no window meaning that if you wanted to have a shower, the condensation left everything damp. The beds weren't too uncomfortable. However, the room I was in was for 2 people, but the hotel had put in another 2 beds to make it for 4, giving us much less space.

The phone would ring as an alarm but it was not loud enough. We used our own phones and alarm clocks instead so luckily we always woke early enough - we were 4 girls who needed to have showers in the morning (rather a long process).

In our room, we did have a slight ant infestation, but once we told the hotel staff they came a long and sorted it out straight away. On the other hand, they didn't clean up the dead ants so they were left there.

The hotel did have a spa and pool but we were told that we could not use it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betta139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
2.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Francischiello Hotel & Spa Bellavista
4.2 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ripetta

Property: La Ripetta
Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 4, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ripetta 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your La Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripetta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
La Ripetta Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing