We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Albatros
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cosmomare(Piano di Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiori d'Arancio(Piano di Sorrento)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Hills(Piano di Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Antico Casale Russo(Piano di Sorrento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Klein Wien(Piano di Sorrento)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
Hotel Soleluna(Piano di Sorrento)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
La Ripetta(Piano di Sorrento)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
39
64
72
53
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
64
72
53
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleannice pooldeckchairspompeiilucanaplesstopstrips
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is a lovely little hotel in Piano - about a mile from Sorrento itself. It has a small but very pretty pool at the back.....great when there are no kids around!! Be sure to ask for a room with a pool/sea view when booking as the front of the hotel faces the road which is very busy with both cars and lots of noisy little scooters and also the hotel is opposite a church which chimes loudly from 7 am to midnight - every 1/4 hour. Saying that, the double glazed windows do reduce the noise considerably. The rooms are clean and have beautiful Italian tiled floors. The downside is there are no tea/coffee making facilities (we brought our own travel kettle), the little TV has only Italian channels and, strangely, there are no drawers in the room - only wardrobes (some with shelves - some not). Every other room has a balcony and not all rooms have a fridge, so these might also be something to ask for when booking. Marble bathrooms with the usual (crap) hairdryer on the wall (I took my own). The receptionist, Christina is lovely and an absolute star. She was very helpful - advising us on travel/trains etc. (ask for the free map), sorting any problems in your room quickly. If you want to travel into Sorrento, she will phone Nicola, the local taxi driver, up and he comes within 5-10 minutes to drive you to the station for 1 Euro each (take his mobile no., give him a ring on your return and he'll pick you up again). The trains go about every 1/4 hour and cost just over 2 Euros for a return ticket and Sorrento is only 3 stops away. Pompeii was 9 stops and cost about 4 Euros return. Be sure to get off at META - not Piano on your return. You can walk into Piano but, whilst it's only about a 15 minute walk, it's uphill all the way there and the pavements are few and far between, the roads are narrow and Italian drivers are completely crazy with scooters weaving in and out of the cars at breakneck speeds - everyone tooting their horns at each other constantly. There are very few cars on the road not covered in dents and scratches. If you are brave enough to hire a car, there is a free car park next to the church you can use. Better to use Nicolas taxi to get there. Go up the road opposite the hotel and there's a little supermarket within 5 mins walk. Turn left from the hotel and another 5 min walk will take you to a little shop on the right who's name translates to "Not Just Fruit". This sells amongst other things, the most amazing home produced wine for 2 Euros a bottle. (We drank quite a lot of that!!) We also used to buy ham and cheese and with a few rolls swiped from breakfast - made some lovely lunches. Breakfast at the hotel, although not cooked was plentiful with cereals, eggs, bread, cold meats and cheeses, cakes etc. I would advise against 1/2 board though as the evening meal was very poor - at 20 Euros (no wine included) with little choice. The breakfast waiter is charming; however the evening staff (one woman in particular) are very surly and deliver a very bad service. I felt they were too busy fawning over the Italian guests to even notice we were there! We had to get our own condiments, oil and vinegar etc....I'm surprised we weren't made to cook our own meals! We found a little gem of a restaurant overlooking the sea called La Ripetta. Turn right out of the hotel and it's about 10-15 mins walk. A lovely menu and very reasonably priced with good service. I’d advise going quite early though as it fills up very quickly….also it’s closed on Wednesday nights. Make sure to get some limoncello. We bought some home made by the roadside at 9 Euros for a big bottle and it was delicious. Sorrento itself is quite expensive but fantastic for souvenir shopping. Don't bother shopping in Piano though - we couldn't find one souvenir shop! I would recommend Piano di Sorrento - and the Albatros and would definitely stay here again and at about £45 a night (including single person supplement)...around £75 for 2 people sharing...it was an absolute bargain. We booked our flights, hotel, transfers and insurance through Travel Republic.com

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy190801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our experience was mixed:

The reception staff was very friendly. The hotel and rooms were really clean and functional, but I am not sure they were 4* quality as advertised, perhaps 3* is more representative. Breakfast was basic, but tasty and was much better on the weekends. The hotel advertises breakfast from 7am - 9am, but we found that if you arrived after 8am they were setting up for lunch which was a bit off-putting. The location was great as it only took 10 minutes to walk to the train station and Piano is only 5 minutes on the train from Sorrento. Piano was a good place to stay as it is quieter and cheaper to shop and eat than Sorrento itself, it is also very pretty and we had fantastic views over the Bay of Naples from our room. Unfortunately the pool was not filled when we stayed and repair works were taking place - possibly because 'the season' does not really start until after Easter. This meant parts of the hotel, inside and out, didn't look very attractive and we had to listen to the work taking place.

Our biggest gripe was that the majority of other visitors during our stay were groups of American and European teenagers. The walls are really thin and all the rooms and corridors have tiled floors, so the noise was unbearable at times and we had to say something to the groups about the levels of noise every night. The groups also had to be up really early which meant we could hear their wake up calls and they made a lot of noise as they moved out of their rooms and left the hotel every morning. It also meant that the restaurant was not open in the evenings as they were feeding the groups.

Our general feeling was that we had paid over the odds for what we actually got and we would have liked to have known that particular facilities would not be available and that the hotel houses large groups of teenagers before committing to making the booking. We would definately visit Piano again, but I am not sure we would stay at the Hotel Albatros.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cle0theCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We thought it was a great hotel, the day staff were very helpful and polite, the night porter not quite as much, seemed disturbed when we came back after midnight one of the evenings. The room was clean and well air conditioned. The pool was clean and a good size but access to it was limited, open only between 9am and 7pm. Breakfast was the only bad point, choice was very limited and some of the food seemed stale. Dinner was overpriced with limited options, considering the local prices at restaurants. Location was good, with a uphill walk for about 10/15 minutes to get to high street, beach and train station(with good links to Naples, Pompeii and 5 minute train to Sorrento).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0emi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We have just returned from a very pleasant 8 night stay. The front of the hotel is situated on a busy road but the traffic is mainly scooters. The pool which is at the rear is very pleasant and peaceful with plenty of sunbeds/chairs. The only sound here is the striking of the nearby church clock which turns out to be very useful . The walk from the train station took us about 10-15 mins, there is also a bus stop outside the hotel with buses going to Sorrento 6 times a day. We ate at a couple of local restaurants which were both very good.. The hotel was clean & tidy and the air conditioning very efficent. The staff were generally very professional, although a bit distant . Our only other dissapointment was the lack of tourist information for getting out and about. If you asked for specific information it was provided but we would have preferred it to be readily available. If we returned to the area, we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordshirePebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

Hotel Albatros is a 4* hotel in the town of Piano just outside of Sorrento. My boyfriend and I had a wonderful holiday there - especially as we had booked last minute and weren't expecting it to be as god as it was. Piano itself is lovely and the hotel is well situated about 5 minutes walk from the railway station where you can travel to surrounding areas such as Naples, Pompeii and Sorrento. The hotel is on a road which can get quite busy but it is not exessively noisy at night. I would recommend getting a room at the back of the hotel facing the pool anyway as there is a nicer view. There is a church opposite the hotel and the clock bell rings every 15 minutes (but not between the hours of 12am and 7am). This was hard to get used to on the first day but by the third we were all commenting on how helpful it was whilst lying around the pool with no watch! I will try to summarise points about the hotel below:

Location: Good - Well situated for sightseeing - I recommend Capri which can be reached by boat from Sorrento. 5 minutes walk to train station. Two beaches nearby but not white sandy beaches and very busy!. . Take care on roads around hotel as Italians drive without caution!

Hotel Staff: very friendly and efficient

Rooms: Clean and spacious with tiled floors (cool), air conditioned

Pool: Small but quiet and relaxing. Free sunloungers and deckchairs. Snacks and bar service available at pool.

This is a great hotel for families and couples - especially those eager to explore the surrounding areas. There are no facilities for young children however.

Lastly, we were half board and whilst the food was generally good, next time I would go self- catering as the food served in the local restaurants in Sorrento and Piano is amazing and good value for money.

10  Thank Michelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews