We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - shame about breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel - shame about breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We thought it was a great hotel, the day staff were very helpful and polite, the night porter not quite as much, seemed disturbed when we came back after midnight one of the evenings. The room was clean and well air conditioned. The pool was clean and a good size but access to it was limited, open only between 9am and 7pm. Breakfast was the only bad point, choice was very limited and some of the food seemed stale. Dinner was overpriced with limited options, considering the local prices at restaurants. Location was good, with a uphill walk for about 10/15 minutes to get to high street, beach and train station(with good links to Naples, Pompeii and 5 minute train to Sorrento).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0emi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    58
    68
    47
    41
See reviews for
42
77
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We have just returned from a very pleasant 8 night stay. The front of the hotel is situated on a busy road but the traffic is mainly scooters. The pool which is at the rear is very pleasant and peaceful with plenty of sunbeds/chairs. The only sound here is the striking of the nearby church clock which turns out to be very useful . The walk from the train station took us about 10-15 mins, there is also a bus stop outside the hotel with buses going to Sorrento 6 times a day. We ate at a couple of local restaurants which were both very good.. The hotel was clean & tidy and the air conditioning very efficent. The staff were generally very professional, although a bit distant . Our only other dissapointment was the lack of tourist information for getting out and about. If you asked for specific information it was provided but we would have preferred it to be readily available. If we returned to the area, we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Small hotel with lovely pool area.
  • Disliked — Lack of information readily available & aloofness of staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordshirePebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2006

Hotel Albatros is a 4* hotel in the town of Piano just outside of Sorrento. My boyfriend and I had a wonderful holiday there - especially as we had booked last minute and weren't expecting it to be as god as it was. Piano itself is lovely and the hotel is well situated about 5 minutes walk from the railway station where you can travel to surrounding areas such as Naples, Pompeii and Sorrento. The hotel is on a road which can get quite busy but it is not exessively noisy at night. I would recommend getting a room at the back of the hotel facing the pool anyway as there is a nicer view. There is a church opposite the hotel and the clock bell rings every 15 minutes (but not between the hours of 12am and 7am). This was hard to get used to on the first day but by the third we were all commenting on how helpful it was whilst lying around the pool with no watch! I will try to summarise points about the hotel below:

Location: Good - Well situated for sightseeing - I recommend Capri which can be reached by boat from Sorrento. 5 minutes walk to train station. Two beaches nearby but not white sandy beaches and very busy!. . Take care on roads around hotel as Italians drive without caution!

Hotel Staff: very friendly and efficient

Rooms: Clean and spacious with tiled floors (cool), air conditioned

Pool: Small but quiet and relaxing. Free sunloungers and deckchairs. Snacks and bar service available at pool.

This is a great hotel for families and couples - especially those eager to explore the surrounding areas. There are no facilities for young children however.

Lastly, we were half board and whilst the food was generally good, next time I would go self- catering as the food served in the local restaurants in Sorrento and Piano is amazing and good value for money.

Helpful?
10 Thank Michelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

We stayed 2 nights at the Albatros during our visit to Sorrento at the end of July 2006. This was our only 4 star hotel during our 3 week Europe trip so we had high expectations. The hotel is somewhat modern, quite clean, and reasonably comfortable. It has a very nice pool and some rooms have balconies.

However, we would not say this is a 4 star hotel, even by Europe standards. There were just little annoying things that made it less. The Air Conditioning was one of these annoying things. After not getting it to work on the first day, I was told by the front desk It is off until 2:00 PM while the rooms are being cleaned. When it was turned on later, it would not cool the room. The temperature in the room never went below 28 degrees Celcius although the A/C was set to 14 degrees. The hotel has no ice machines so we could get no ice. We were told by the front desk to check the bar down the street but they had none either. We had no fridge in the room so could not keep our water cold. No coffee machine nor amenities that make a hotel a 4 star. But the room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

The staff was helpful and gave us some maps and directions. The breakfast was okay since it was just continental with coffee, bread, croissants, cereal and fruits. The town of Piano is just outside of Sorrento and we didn't explore it much. We did walk down to the beach near Meta for dinner one night.

The hotel is located about 3 or 4 Kilometers from Sorrento. We took the Circumvesuviana train from the Piano station into Sorrento. It is only 2 stops and takes about 3 minutes. It was just over 1 Euro. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the hotel from the Piano station. When you walk out of the train station, turn left and walk about 100 meters to the first intersection. Turn left and walk down this street to the end. The hotel is located straight ahead at the end of the street. We felt safe walking at night but some parts of the street have no sidewalk so be alert.

  • Liked — It was clean and nice pool
  • Disliked — No control over A/C and no ice machine
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect a 4 star hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigV-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#78 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.5 mi away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#65 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Property: Hotel Albatros
Address: Via Madonna di Roselle 104, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers the most modern and functional facilities to ensure the quality of living for those who want a simple but elegant, intimate, quiet and family. Situated in a central location of the Sorrento Peninsula, just 3 km from Sorrento is the ideal place for those who want to combine a stay of sun and sea can also make excursions such as Capri, Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, etc.. The property may provide for the reservation of transfer from the airport to the hotel, and vice versa. The hotel Albatros in June has an agreement with the shuttle service that accompanies clients from the hotel to the beaches of Meta at a very advantageous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing