We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Francesca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Francesca
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We have just returned from our trip to Sorrento and the Relais Francesca, we would let you know how fantastic, we found the B&B as well as the staff truly, helpful, charming.
The location and views enchanting, the breakfast is delicious, the bedrooms are clean, tidy and welcoming.
Please pass on, our kind words to the manager and the staff and be assured we will have no problem in recommending the Relais Francesca to anyone going to Sorrento.

Nico and Georgina, London, UK

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoginaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    73
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fawkner, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We loved how Piano di sorrento is a quieter version of sorrento, with a charm of its own. It's only 5 minutes from the train station, so you can get to the noisier, more touristy regions in a short time. Don't forget to validate your train ticket in the orange boxes before boarding. We had no problems with our room, though a security light outside our door would have been handy to find our door key. The breakfast was similar to other european ones I have experienced, though most of these were at hostels. We did enjoy the homemade cakes/pastries that were provided along with the packaged goods each day, just choose wisely. The piano foreshore was being developed at the time of our stay, so we envisage that piano will be a stunning place to visit in the future. We strongly recommend you walk to town to have dinner at osteria arcadia in corso italia 177. The owner was the friendliest person we met on our trip and cooks the most delicious, honest, fresh and local produce we experienced. The food was also very reasonably priced!

  • Liked — It embraces italian culture
  • Disliked — very narrow footpaths, making it difficult to carry luggage and requires vigilance for traffic
Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank xelar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Relais Francesca is located in Piano, and is 5 minutes walk from the local train station and 2 stops from Sorrento. While its close to Sorrento, it does become a bit of a pain travelling back and forth as Piano doesn't really have anything except a couple of local shops in the main square.
The B&B itself is a well maintained, modern and clean villa. The rooms are a little small, but they are perfectly comfortable. Not all rooms have balconies, so specifically request one if you want one - or there is a 'private' room at the back of the villa which we stayed in at first, but it can be cold and is a bit of a garage conversion.
My main problem with this hotel is the noise. The walls are paper thin, and I could actually hear everything that the rooms around us were all doing - When the room next to us ran the tap in their bathroom each morning it woke us up! Its in a quiet village but, there are dogs next door which bark a lot, and then there is a strange ritual twice daily ritual of which I can only explain is a recording of gunshots to frighten birds away from the local orchards!
Breakfast is a little poor - typical italian style, sweet pastries, melba toast packets, and some salami and cheese - For a bed and breakfast, it could be improved! Overall, its good value for a couple of nights, but any longer would start to irritate even the most patient of people.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank filive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I booked with Lastminute.com for a reasonable price. Lastminute states on the site, that Relais Francesca asks to be emailed with the estimated time of arrival. Which I did. In fact, I wrote in Italian and asked that my booking be confirmed by the hotel (as I had heard stories of bookings being made but the hotel not having received anything from the booking agent). I never did receive any confirmation from the hotel but no big deal. I stayed at this hotel in Sept 2008 with my sister and a friend for 3 nights.

1. The hotel is easy to find. If you do what we did, which was fly into Naples and then take the Curreri Viaggi bus (Naples Airport to Sorrento (to Piano di Sorrento it's €10 per person) 2hrs - 2hrs 30). The bus drops you off at Piazza Di Cota, off Corso Italia, a short walk back and you reach Via Bagnulo and then walk to the hotel (a long walk). The train station is definitely nearer. However there is practically no pavement / sidewalk on this road, so you have to be so careful with the oncoming traffic.

2. The location of the hotel is good. It's not in Sorrento, which can get very noisy. But it's only two stops on the train to Sorrento, about a 10 minute journey. The hotel itself is secured behind iron gates and positioned back off Via Bagnulo. As there is so little pavement / sidewalk on this road, when you exit the hotel, you are literally thrusted into the road. Be very careful. It's a pretty looking hotel, surrounded by lemon trees and it's clean and bright. However next door there were two dogs, a cat and a goose (no joke). The cat was on our balcony a few times, no problem but the dogs could get VERY noisy especially at night, when you really notice it. This was not mentioned at all in any of the previous reviews. Also worth mentioning, is that Via Bagnulo can get very noisy with all the traffic and you can hear the trains go by. Noisy mopeds, buses and cars all "beeping" to indicate their presence and speeding by can be heard from the hotel.

3. The girl that greeted us at the desk was very helpful, train timetables, recommendation of resturant (Il Leone Rosso, which is quite nice) provided. She speaks little English though. She understands English but said finds it difficult to express herself in English. We spoke some Italian so we managed. The room itself, was quite small considering its a triple room. Two single beds were put together and one separate single bed. My sister and I would have preferred to have had separate beds as it meant we had to share the sheets, again no big deal but it would have been nice.There were no spare pillows in the cupboard, so I left a note written in Italian requesting more and was provided with. But the room had a big balcony with table and chairs, I think most rooms had. Also there is a safe in the room, which you get a key for.

4. Breakfast by my standards was poor. For me there was not that much in the way of choice / variety and shockingly the coffee came from a machine, I expected the coffee to be freshly made, considering how good coffee is in Italy, this was poor. So I decided not to have breakfast at the hotel the following days and went to a bar in Sorrento.

I personally wouldn't stay at this hotel again, not for anything negative but because I like a little luxury on holiday and this hotel I think is better suited to those on a budget, with simple needs, likes to eat out and just needs a place "crash" at night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlow england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

my wife and have just returned from a lovely guesthouse in piano di sorrento, which we booked through last minute .com and i believe was excellent value
the guest house was very clean neat and tidy with the the owner lady providing us with train timetables and information on how to get to pompei and sorrento, breakfast was provided which was a simple affiar but fresh plenty to choose from
if you are going to travel on the train (circumvesuvia) make sure you stamp your tickets in the little orange boxs before you go on the platform so as to validate your ticket
the lady recomends a restaurant called il leone rosso in sorrento which is a five minute walk from the main station and we had a fantastic meal for 60 euros to celebrate my birthday,closer to the guest house i would reccomend la rippetta which over looks the sea and the directions from the guest house are simple, follow the road all the way to the bottom turn left at the little church and keep walking till you see the resaurant it is next to a bar called captain josephs we had a lovely lunch of fresh pasta there
lastly directions to the guest house from the station so you dont get lost or wander aimlessly around piano, as you come out of the station turn left and follow the road down to at junction turn left agian so that you go under the bridge and walk down about 300yards you wil see a pink building on the right and the guest house is the other side with the metal gates

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank hugomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bari
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I went to Sorrento the last summer. I choose this little B&B because was enough cheap but from web-site seems us nice.
The room are not soo large but very clean and comphortable. Around the house there is a little garden with lemon and orange
The service is perfect fot to be a B&B and the lady respect our privacy ( not always in Italy is it).
It’s not in the centre of Sorrento, but in a little town near, Piano di Sorrento. This town is not so beatiful as Sorrento but more quiete. I suggest to visit “Villa Fondi”, a public park with a archeoloigc museum for free and an amazing view on Vesuvio and Sorrento Coast.
Anyway you can go to Sorrento everytime you want. The train station it’s very near to relais and from Piano to Sorrento is just two stops and one/two minutes and the ticket costs 1 euro. The own-lady suggest us to go to Sorrento by foot bu me and me husband are too much lazy to walk for 2 km!
You can take the train also to go to Pompei and Naples. For Positano and Amalfi there is a autobus but the road is full of elbow and if you pain the car yuo can feel sick!
Finally i think is a excelent solution if you want relax,. privacy and good value for money

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — No view
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lolapei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

For any travellers wishing to stay just outside of busy and noisy Sorrento centre, this B&B is the perfect choice. A stones throw from the station and two stops from Sorrento Centre on the train, it is easily accessible and costs only 1 Euro each way (make sure you verify your ticket in the orange machines at the Piano Di Sorrento station otherwise you are liable for a fine on the trains). Trains are at least every 10 minutes into Sorrento although the last train back is at 11.30pm. Taxi's cost about 20 Euro's if you want to come back later.

The Curreri bus stops close to the B&B and this is the best way to get too and from the airport (costs 4 Euro's per person each way). The return stop is a little harder to find but one of the staff gave us a lift in his car to the bus stop on the way back to save us lugging our bags across the town. Trains also run directly from Naples to Piano Di Sorrento.

The staff are friendly and helpful, providing you at check in with any information you might need during your stay, including local train and bus timetables to find your way around. The receptionist speaks excellent English and is available daily from 8am to 12 noon. The rooms are lovely and they are cleaned and fresh towels provided daily. The B&B is surrounded by Lemon and Orange groves and are set in well kept grounds and the whole site is gated which means security is excellent.

Breakfast leaves a little to be desired but this is just a small point during an otherwise very enjoyable stay. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean and Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneKent86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#10 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.2 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Francesca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Francesca

Property: Relais Francesca
Address: Via Bagnulo 129, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Francesca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Francesca is a B&B near Sorrento that give you all hotel’s comports and the convenience of a Bed and Breakfast.The b&b is in a strategic position to visit Sorrento, Capri and the Amalfi Coast and to reach the most famous places around the Sorrento Area. Each room has private bathroom with shower and modern air conditioning systems, to make the rooms fresh in summertime and comfortably warm in wintertime. All have hairdryer, satellite TV, frigo, desk and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Francesca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing