We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem”
Review of Hotel Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maggiore
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Moneglia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We thought this hotel was in one of the Cinque Terra towns but turns out it wasn't! Still, we were so glad we stayed here. The staff were so friendly and helpful to make sure we got to the towns in the best way possible. An excellent breakfast was also provided and could be had until late so there was no rush to get up! Our rooms were clean and well kept and while we did have a great sea view, it was a shame the balcony was so high so it was difficult to view it while sitting on the spacious balcony! Quite old rooms, yes, but well worth the low price for good, friendly service, a good brekkie and a happy stay!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, even if the balcony is too high, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerMouse2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    54
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
70
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family stayed at the Hotel Maggiore in order to explore the Cinque Terre area. Moneglia, is a quiet ocean front tourist destination, much quieter than the towns in the Cinque Terre area. The beach is sandy and nice for swimming. While Moneglia isn't a part of the Cinque Terre area, it's only about a 20 minute train ride to the closest Cinque Terre town. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They provided a very quick response to my specific room request submitted when I booked the room online. Upon arrival via rail, we walked a very short but pleasant 5 minute walk down a tree lined road to the hotel. The Hotel Maggiore is ocean front, adjacent to a sandy beach. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a good variety of food. The hotel manager and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. When the manager found out we were planning to hike the Cinque Terre National Park trails, he offered us a detailed map of Cinque Terre and provided information about which trails in the Cinque Terre were currently closed. During our check out, he offered to look up the rail schedule and when we discovered the next train was only 10 minutes from departure and the next train going to our destination wouldn't arrive for over 2 hours he offered to drive us to the train station and helped us with our bags to the platform then wouldn't accept our offer of a tip. An overall wonderful stay with a very accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Request the water front room with air conditioning when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a great family run Hotel.
The owners cannot do enough for you.
Last night they even allowed us to eat with some others here as their guests- as family!
They supply beach towels and even did our laundry at no charge!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bento1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The great thing about the hotel is the location and the view from the room (if you took the room with seaside view). The hotel is situated right on the road, but the road is on the level of second floor, so reallity is that when you are walking on the street or on the beach, the busy road doesn't bother you. The beach is right on the other side of the road. The hotel have a good aircon, so the rooms are comfortable to sleep with closed windows and you will not hear any noise from the street. A free parking is available on the garage floor, but it's not big enough (but we were on Smart, so it was ok for us) and it's closed in the night time. Local beaches are somewhat expensive (28 euro for umbrella and sunbed plus 12 euro for the private locker room - that are the prices of the closest to the hotel beach). Anyway on sunday the beach is almost full, especially with children (so the water is more like mud).

Room Tip: Only with seaside view. But be prepared to sleep with closed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelicDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had a great time staying at the Hotel Maggiore. The breakfast was excellent, and it was the perfect spot for exploring cinque terre. The owner and his daughter gave us great tips about what hikes to do and when to go. Everything was clean and the wifi in the lobby was useful. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Maggiore to be close to the Cinquerre Terre. We were very surprised and so grateful to receive an upgrade when we arrived to a seaside apartment. During our time at Maggiore the lovely family could not do more for us, they were very accommodating, welcoming and friendly. The food was beautiful, traditional Italian food. We would be back to Hotel Maggiore any day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duluth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have been staying at Hotel Maggiore for 12 years. It is a wonderful, relaxing, clean, friendly sea front hotel. The half board meals are excellent traditional Italian foods with choices of fish, meat and vegetarian. the wine selection is reasonably priced and good. The Favalli family is extremely accommodating and speak English well. They are always helpful with accurate information and suggestions. The beaches in front of the hotel are lovely and the sea here is the cleanest we have seen. We can find absolutely nothing negative and recommend Hotel Maggiore to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moneglia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#4 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#6 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vigna
Hotel La Vigna
#3 of 12 in Moneglia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leopold
Hotel Leopold
#11 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbadia San Giorgio
Abbadia San Giorgio
#1 of 12 in Moneglia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#10 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maggiore

Property: Hotel Maggiore
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 1, 16030 Moneglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Moneglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Moneglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing