We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moneglia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa dell'Ammiraglio
Ranked #9 of 13 Moneglia B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A historic welcome”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Absolutely enjoyable stay in this well-preserved palazzo dating back to the 15th century. Stayed in Moneglia many times but never had a chance to witness its historical background up close. Impressive interior, charming, multi-lingual host who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. Wonderful breakfast (Focaccia to die for), perfect location, very close to the beach. Can recommend wholeheartedly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arylve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

If you look for a cultivated place and a host who offers you not only generous hospitality, but also gives you an insight into the history an culture of Liguria (in italian, french, english or german!), you will be fully satisfied at Mister Bollo's Casa dell Ammiraglio! Matthias Scheurer e Pascale Grau

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scheurer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mino23, Proprietario at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guests,

To be honest, I was quite worried at the time of your arrival.
Only few days before, the famous Via dell'Amore in the Cinque Terre was closed due to a collapse of stones.
I was wondering how I could balance the disappointment because I know that this path is a primary goal for foreign tourists.
But, thanks to your open-mindedness, I was the more pleased to have been able to suggest you other activities and visits so that your holiday was entirely satisfactory.
The quality of reception is a must if one wants justify the top class level of this B & B.
Thank you for your sympathy and, hopefully, to a next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed for a week, booking a twin room and double. We had a lovely stay and as other reviews have mentioned, Signor Bollo bends over backwards to help. We stayed with two young children (2 and 5) and all was good and Mr Bollo was very sweet with the children (even when they were racing hot wheels cars around the reception hall). Mr Bollo is well connected in Moneglia and can advise on restaurants//get you good prices at the private beaches. The house is very well placed, a stone's throw from the beach and shopping street, well placed for day trips. Check out the markets at the weekend. We loved the village and would definitely go back to Moneglia. My only snag would be: we had thought from the website that there were only two rooms and a lounge, and that, therefore we were booking out the whole B&B. But after a few days, another adjoining room was let too. I didn't try to get to the bottom of this, as we were happy as we were, but it's worth checking the accommodation arrangements if you are also assuming there are only two lettable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcocoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mino23, Proprietario at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
It was an authentic pleasure to live with my British Guests and specially with Gabriel, 2 years old but already well equipped to pretend attention and consideration!

On the other hand, I was pretty surprised to read that my Guests supposed to have booked the whole B&B. This, not only because in the Internet site is clearly described that the rooms availables are three, but also because I remember that, during the contact before the confirmation of the reservation, I gave the choice between two solutions, and one of them involved the "triple room". By the way, I specified that this second solution woul be cheaper than the two rooms, as my Guests decided to book.

But the most important thing I have noticed is your intention to come back to Moneglia, that means that you are globally satisfied of your stay.

With my best souvenir
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuckenriet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have been staying for 6 nights at „la casa dell’ammiragglio. What a great experience. Mr. Bollo was very friendly and helpful. We discussed in the morning our plans, he made suggestions or informed us about weather conditions, strikes, restaurants etc.. The place itself is very unique, full of history, we felt very welcome and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with interesting chats. Katalin and Toni May, 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatalinSteinmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mino23, Proprietario at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you so much, dear Guests, of your kind words, for me they are very important and the best prize for my activity.
I was very pleased to meet you and will keep an excellent souvenir of our "zusammensein".

If I collaborated to make you appreciate the east Genoa's Riviera, I am happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We just spent a very pleasant week at “La Casa dell’Ammiraglio”, two minutes walking to the beach . Fantastic hospitality, really the best place where you can stay in Moneglia. Gerolamo Bollo offers a warm and kindly hospitality, in historical and warm house. Continental breakfast is really something, and you can enjoy a great variety of food (even fresh local focaccia!). I really suggest this place. Carlo Barracchia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mino23, Proprietario at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest ,
I could say also "dear Friend", after your stay by me, because the perfect harmony established between your Family and me during theese days. I must acknowledge that your Wife had a big part with her french sensibility so similar to my wife!
Last but not least, the sweet carachter of the little Emmanuele, never angry (only sometimes hungry!) made his best to provide a peaceful and relaxing climat. .

It is really a pleasure to try to offer the best possible hospitality to such Guests, who grant you an interesting occasion to exchange opinions, ideas and, if you let me to say, some authentic sympathy.

Be sure that I will remember your visit a long ime and I will be always very happy to receive you again!

With my best wishes for all you expect for you and your Family.

Gerolamo BOLLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our 4 night stay at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio with our delightful host Senor Bollo was a memorable one. We enjoyed his hospitality,our room was spacious with interesting decor and good facilities. The continental breakfast was excellent. Moneglia is ideal as a base for visiting Cinque Terre.Senor Bollo was very helpful in recommending good local restaurants and other places to visit along the coast. We would not hesitate to make a return visit.

J and M Oatley
.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkoatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mino23, Proprietario at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay in Moneglia. Obviously I am proud to read your satisfaction, but also I keep a very nice souvenir of our "stay together", and if I could take part to the success of your holyday, that is important for me.
I sincerely hope to see you once more in the future.
With all my best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

La casa dell'Ammiraglio - is the best place to stay in Moneglia. You really feel like home. Cozy, comfortable, friendly. we spent 12 days enjoying every single minute. Senor Bollo (the owner) was really helpful and truly patient to our little son (1year 9 months). if we have to chance to come back - we surely will!
Highly recommended! 50 meters to the beach, 10 meters to the nearest supermarket.

Room Tip: The marriage room - is much better for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilenkovaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mino23, Proprietario at La Casa dell'Ammiraglio, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Google Translation
I am very glad to read your message with the nice compliments about your stay in Moneglia.
But one thing I must point out: the little Trofim gave me real happiness and I enjoyed his friendly confidence, like he was my "grandson"!

Я очень надеюсь увидеть вас в Moneglia, и я желаю вам счастья от всего сердца
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moneglia hotels
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#6 of 12 in Moneglia
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#4 of 12 in Moneglia
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#7 of 12 in Moneglia
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#10 of 12 in Moneglia
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbadia San Giorgio
Abbadia San Giorgio
#2 of 12 in Moneglia
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva La Romantica
Hotel Eva La Romantica
#9 of 12 in Moneglia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa dell'Ammiraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa dell'Ammiraglio

Property: La Casa dell'Ammiraglio
Address: Piazza Fabio Marengo 26, 16030 Moneglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Moneglia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Moneglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just half way between world famous 5 Terre and Portofino, MONEGLIA, little seaside village on the Genoa's East Riviera, gives you the opportunity to stay in an old patrician palazzo, situated in the historic center, some 30 meters from the beach.Walls, furnitures, paintings and decorations are of highest quality; the Landlord, grand'son of the Admiral Gerolamo BOLLO, takes care personally of the wellness of his Guests and can offer the same kind of hospitality as in XIX. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing