We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Edera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Edera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Moneglia
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our family was looking for a quiet place to relax for a few days on a very busy trip. This place was just perfect! It is so easy to get to from the train station - we felt like we were entering a secret paradise as we walked down the grape vine covered sidewalk. We were warmly greeted by the owners. It is an easy walk to the town which was filled with warm, friendly natives. Everywhere else we went had more Americans than Italians. Moneglia is a special place and the Villa Edera is a hidden gem. The breakfast spread was amazing. Everyone asks me our favorite spot on our month trip in Europe - the answer is easy - Moneglia and Villa Edera. Don't hesitate to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cps323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    56
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The Villa Edera is a family run hotel in the beautiful seaside town of moneglia, which is a short train ride from Cinque Terra towns and trails. The hotel is walkable to restaurants, the beach, train station, a walking path that runs along the river. The location is perfect for a multiple-day stay. The hotel itself is clean, the staff is helpful and multi- lingual. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a huge balcony overlooking the mountains, terracing and pool. Lots of greenery and blooming plants/trees.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackiegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I've just come back from a delightful four night stay at the Villa Edera and it was lovely. Really relaxing and had a marvellous time - even the weather behaved itself. Mother and daughter (Orietta and Francesca) are really helpful and very friendly and were the perfect team to run the place. The terrace has a beautiful view across the valley and down to Moneglia and the only problem is the swimming pool is a little cold! The restaurant was good too the pesto is so delicious and bears no resemblance to anything you can buy outside Liguria. The breakfast spread is fantastic, although the orange juice could be fresh. The room was smallish but the balcony had a lovely view. The public areas are a little tired but it all adds to the charm, but the staff are friendly and warm and NOTHING is too much trouble.

Moneglia is a lovely holiday town where many of the locals live and it has a super atmosphere, its not too busy and there are some very good restaurants and friendly locals and I look forward to my next visit to both the Villa and Moneglia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lots66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is at the end of the villages of Cinque Terre. On a little hill with lovely views of the olive groves. The staff were very helpful. The room was small but light and the bed was very comfortable. They have there own restaurant where we had breakfast, lunch and dinner. A great outdoor balcony off the reception area where they served meals and drinks.

Just a short stroll into the village on the seaside with restaurants along the shore line. A train will take you to the first of the Cinque Terre villages where you can walk all the way through them back to the hotel or catch a train between each of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

With our 8 yr old daughter, the three of us stayed for 10 nights in August 2012. A wonderful holiday all round and Hotel Villa Edera was a great place to stay. Mother and daughter are the 'front of house' team and were exceptionally friendly and helpful in advice and ideas on what to do and where to go. The hotel facilities were well maintained and very clean and covered everything required - lovely pool, good size room and balcony, bar, terrace and restaurant. As a base location it worked perfectly with access to beach, town centre, adjacent train station for trips to Cinque Terre, Portofino and adjoining towns / villages (you could also easily go further afield). The hotel and staff provided a really good family environment throughout our stay. Wish we'd found Moneglia and Villa Edera 10 years ago as this would have been a great family beach holiday option with our (now) older children (instead of Mark Warner type trips for example). We found the Italians to be very family centric and friendly. Hordes of kids would play around the fountain in the town square -with parents looking on from the restaurants - and the same open, friendly attitude extended to the beach. Language was no barrier whatsoever to our daughter finding children to play with on the beach and - with a few English children added to the mix across the two weeks - she had a great time. There are two sandy beaches in Moneglia. The main one - running the width of the town - has wave breaks some 150 m out and is accordingly more tranquil. The sun beds (chargeable) tend to be rammed together on this strip but the water is warm and clear and the beach cafe restaurants are pretty good. There is another beach down the hill from Villa Edera without wave breaks - so weather and wind influence the swell - and this was out preferred option. Sunbeds not quite so rammed together and fantastic beach cafe. Great place to stay and great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Villa Edera. The staff are all incredibly kind and accommodating, the pool is lovely and a great place to hang out, and it is a very short walk from the restaurants and beach, and to the train station that connects you to all the Cinque Terre towns. Plus they have a great little bar and restaurant on site, and the bar (with sodas and coffees too) is available all day, with very reasonable prices. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip in Italy and we didn't realize what rarities free wi-fi and free all-day/all-night air conditioning were - Villa Edera won't spring unexpected charges on you. In fact, they upgraded our room to one with a balcony. The rooms are simple but very comfortable and very clean, and all the charming outdoor locations more than make up for any sparsity in room decor. (Great patio for drinks or breakfast, aforementioned pool, grape-vine covered walkway, etc.) Breakfast is also a generous buffet with plenty of options and a pot of coffee made to order. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonAnna120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Although it's 3 star rated, we awarded it 5 as the staff are so friendly, it's clean, modern, spacious, has a great pool and gardens, and the food was excellent. A 5 minute amble to the beach, close to the station for visiting the Cinque Terra (but not too close to be noisy). Very highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moneglia hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbadia San Giorgio
Abbadia San Giorgio
#1 of 12 in Moneglia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#3 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leopold
Hotel Leopold
#11 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#6 of 12 in Moneglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vigna
Hotel La Vigna
#4 of 12 in Moneglia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#5 of 12 in Moneglia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Edera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Edera Hotel

Property: Villa Edera Hotel
Address: Via Venino 12, 16030 Moneglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Moneglia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Moneglia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moneglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Edera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Edera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing