We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cannero(Cannero Riviera)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Casa Sano Banano(Cannero Riviera)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Park Hotel Italia(Cannero Riviera)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hapimag Resort Cannero(Cannero Riviera)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Hotel Pironi(Cannobio)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (283)
    Filter reviews
    283 results
    Traveller rating
    172
    71
    21
    10
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    172
    71
    21
    10
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslake maggiorethe ownernight staybreathtaking viewslovely placepalm treesrestaurant barswimjacuzzisummerverandawednesdayplantsmountainspathsmarketpackage
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    51 - 56 of 283 reviews
    Reviewed 25 September 2012

    we chose the camin hotel for the location, we where not wrong, we stayed in one of the new top rooms. it was very stylish,clean,crisp with wonderful views over the lake. to wake up here and the first thing you see is the lake and the mountains, heaven.from the manager [ lara ] to the cleaning staff everybody was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.the terraces are ideal for al fresco breakfast to dinner with little quite places to read or rest around the hotel grounds, the food is very good, the wine list excellent. we had a wonderful holiday here and will return again. jag

    Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake
    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jag21traveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

    Dear Guests!
    Thanks a lot for your marvelous comments on our hotel!
    We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel soon.
    Kind Regards,
    Camin Hotel Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 September 2012

    I should make it clear we did not stay in the hotel, but dropped in for lunch one hot day. The terrace has a fabulous view over the lake and the food, although not strikingly original, is good, as is the service and the wine list is impressive. The only drawback was that the sheltered location of the terrace, which was entirely covered by an awning, meant that the bulid up of heat beame excessive - some fans to move the hot air on still days are needed. After lunch, we took a stroll inthe gardens, which are stunning, and make you feel that you have stepped back into another era (no one would be able to afford to buy such extensive grounds these days).

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank NPK209
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 July 2012

    First things first - this is truly a beautiful hotel in a superb location and is stylish and very well managed by Lara Luz and her very pleasant staff. But - be aware that there are only two rooms (one standard and one suite) with balconies, so you will not have a private area to sit or sunbathe. However the gardens are extensive and we had no problem finding a quiet spot.

    Also note that none of the rooms (including the suites) have a bath tub in the bathroom. Some things didn't feel right - the towels in the bathroom were painfully thin - we've had better at Premier Inns. We were only given bath robes if we asked for them. The hairdryer in the bathroom overheated.

    There is a keen eye for the fast buck in the hotel - use the coffee making machine in your room at your peril,as you will be charged every time you do, and this is the first hotel, in more than 40 years of travelling, where we have been charged for sunbed towels.

    Lara's response when we raised concerns about out room (pre-booked ad paid for last October) was interesting - she immediately asked if we wanted to leave rather than listening to and responding to our concerns,.

    We stayed for the week - and had a really relaxing holiday once we set aside the hotel's limitations. It has aspirations to be a grand hotel in the style of those across the lake, but doesn't quite pay enough attention to detail. Interestingly, there were no other UK guests or any guests from the USA.
    So - don't be put off by our rather bathroom-centric review (it just happens to be important to us) but do be aware of what you will find when you get there!

    Oh - and check out their sister hotel in Luino - it may be better equipped, but we didn't investigate.

    Room Tip: Check that you have a balcony if you want one and that you have air conditioning - some have fans.
    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Brymac9
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    colmeg, Direttore generale at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

    We thank you very much for having chosen Camin Hotel Colmegna for your holiday and we are happy that you spend a beautiful and relaxing week in our hotel. We thank you also for your review that will help us to improve so that we can make unforgettable the holiday of our guests.
    Concerning your complains:
    We are sorry that you didn’t like the towels in the rooms, we ensure you that they are high quality towels.
    Concerning the towels for the beach, we inform you that you pay only the first (Euro 3,00) and the another are free of charge.
    We thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again in the future as our guests.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2012

    Wonderful old hotel, family run by Lara and great staff. Ask for room on the lake, and wander the gardens that date back to 1700's. Little nooks and crannies to explore and sit in privacy with incredible lake views. Only warning, they do lots of weddings in spring, summer and fall so just be aware but not enough to bother. We would recommend or stay again ourselves.

    Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    Thank DavidLausanne1092
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2012

    After a smooth blast in our 6m boat across the lake from Stresa, we moored in the hotel marina before enjoying a sumptuous lunch with our business colleagues from New Zealand and Lugano. The usual terrace under the vines was booked for a wedding but the alternate setting of the side terrace overlooking the lake, was still beautiful. All of our guests loved their food, which ranged from Tempura style freshwater scampi to ravioli "pillows" which were by all accounts simply divine!
    A great kids menu was a big hit and not that common at this type of classic restaurant. They even had Nesquick available for self help choclate drinks - my 6 year old wee man was impressed. Service was excellent and befitting the glorious location. After lunch we simply walked the 50 metres back to the marina and headed off across the lake with satisfaction beaming from all on board. We will be back with other visitors from NZ during the summer for sure!

    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank peter c
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews