We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Luino
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We chanced on this hotel whilst driving round the lake in September this year, wow what a find!!! The staff were all so warm and friendly, food amazing, room very pretty with a lake view. Only intende staying 1 night but stayed another before heading on home. We will certainly return next year and stay longer!!

Room Tip: Must be a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    70
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
49
142
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The location is fantastic, and you can really take advantage of it with the beautiful gardens. The staff were delightful and really helpful with our two young children. They also were very helpful dealing with allergy issues in the restaurant. We even managed a short swim in October!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bollyrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colmeg, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear guest, we thank you so much for your kind words.
We are happy that it was a great stay for you and your family.
We wish to see you again and make your stay more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

There is a tight turn for the car immediately out of the tunnel into the car park- we had reserved parking. Reception was very efficient. Our room was over looking the side car park but we also had a view of the lake. We had to change our room due to a leak but the management could not have been more helpful and we only had to go next door! The room was fairly average and the bathroom quite small but the hotel and staff excellent. There were numerous little terraces where you could have a drink with views looking out over the lake. The owner was very attentive and very hands on to see if everything was OK. We ate one night in their restaurant where the service was very good and the food really very good. The waiter seemed to know and be able to answer all our questions about the menu.
There was access to the lake for swimming and a grassy terrace where you could sunbathe with towels being provided.
As a group on another night we had a gala dinner in a separate dining area the other side of the grassy terrace. An excellent place to have a private function.
Checkout was efficient and we were presented with a small plant grown by them to bring back as a momento. Location right on the lake was good and you could drive or get the bus to Luino the nearest small town. Worth a visit. We went to eat there in their sister hotel which was hosting a gala dinner night with exhibition dancing. A good night.
Would visit again for the excellent service and good location of this hotel

Room Tip: try and get one of the 2 rooms over looking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colmeg, Direttore at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful description and we really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
483 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a privately owned hotel offering friendly professional service. The owners are present ensuring that everything runs smoothly. I can not praise this hotel enough. It's location is on the shore line of Lake Maggiore with gardens on various levels from the shore up to the road. There is small dip pool and for the more adventurous a swim in the Lake is a must. There is a play area for children with a kiosk in the garden serving light bites, drinks and ice cream. The is a small fitness area. sauna, Jacuzzi and sun beds. All the bedrooms have Lake views with a back drop of the Swiss mountains. The food was excellent with various eating locations and a private dining area for groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Many many thanks for the wonderful words!
We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Preferable to the sister hotel actually IN Luino, this Camin hotel in nearby Colmegna sits right on the lake,with grounds including lakefront walk and sitting tables, sun loungers, children's play area, and steps leading into the lake for swimming. Parking can be tight but is free and works.Our Junior Suite was spacious enough, with shower not bath. Good wifi. There is a large and very attractive outdoor terrace restaurant on 2 levels, overlooking the lake, and serving good fresh food. I can happily recommend this hotel to anyone seeking one or several nights in this area of Lake Maggiore. One hour to Lugano, 30 minutes to the Lavena ferry, and the fun Luino market on Wednesdays.

Room Tip: we had a junior suite overlooking the lake.....be advised the car park and some trees block some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Google Translation
Grazie Grazie Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at Hotel Camin after a long drive and within 5 minutes knew that we'd struck lucky. From checking in to checking out we were treated like long lost friends. The hotel is right by the side of the lake as are the dining areas and without exception the staff were on hand to help and ensure we enjoyed our unfortunately brief visit. We would certainly try to stay at this hotel on future visits to Italy.

Room Tip: The room is almost incidental - ask for a table looking out over the lake. I think most of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sallycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joondalup
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Whenever I go to Italy Hotel Camin Colmegna is my first and most loved destination!
Just look at the photos and one will understand as to why I have this' soft spot'., Lara,the young and dynamic owner and her hard working staff are always ready ,with a smile, to welcome and make each guest feel special! I cannot thank Lara enough for looking ,so efficiently,after this precious and historic property. My last visit was in October 2010, the lake was still warm so we managed to have fun in the unpolluted Lake Maggiore.
Hopefully in the future, I will be able to have more swims and strolls in this magnificent park where I've learned to swim and took my first steps!
I

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joondalupsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luino
1.8 mi away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 4 in Luino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Del Pesce
Hotel Del Pesce
#3 of 4 in Luino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
18.0 mi away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Torre Imperiale
Albergo Torre Imperiale
#1 of 1 in Maccagno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Property: Hotel Camin Colmegna
Address: Via Angelo Palazzi 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Luino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camin Hotel Colmegna: an historic villa surrounded by a centuries-old park Meticulous attention to detail, a restful ambience and a range of facilities for families with children but also for sports enthusiasts. Here you will find numerous golf courses and trails for cyclists, as well as plenty of opportunities for sailing and boat trips on Lake Maggiore. Come and stay with us, whether you want to relax, explore the unspoilt nature that surrounds us or enjoy the splendid views, you will find a magical corner of paradise awaiting you. Our 30 rooms are all different as to decoration and size, yet they share a common feature: they were expressly designed and intended to pamper our guests. All rooms are furnished in Mediterranean style and have flatscreen TV sets with satellite reception, direct phone line, minibar, air conditioning, safe-deposit box and free WiFi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing