We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home Experience”
Review of B&B Ronco Camana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Ronco Camana
Ranked #1 of 3 Luino B&B and Inns
United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home Experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I am writing this review especially for Americans traveling in the Lake district of Italy. If you are a seasoned traveler accustomed to the B&B lifestyle throughout the EU and you are not interested in spotting celebrities on Lake Como ( full of celeb stalkers), I suggest you visit Lake Maggiore where EU vacationers spend their holidays. The region around Luino is breathtakingly beautiful, the Lake is magnificent, and the best place to spend your time is at B&B Ronco Camana. The proprietors Colette and Dino are the most welcoming of hosts my husband and I experienced in our 39 years of traveling the EU. You could not ask for two nicer people to greet you and the accommodations they provide are spotlessly clean and comfortable each with a private bath. Our first visit here was with our film crew in 2008 and all of us had such a delightful stay that my husband and I booked again because of the relaxed, warm and private atmosphere. Whether you are the only guests or sharing one of the three double rooms with private baths with other guests you have total privacy. The living quarters are on the bottom floor and Colette and Dino live upstairs. They are at your service to provide you with what you need to enjoy your stay. They serve a very nice continental breakfast in a communal dining area, but Dino insures he will make you anything you like from the fresh eggs he gathers from his neighbors or the local markets to a just a simple warm croissant and tasty jams. The coffee is strong and well made. The best part is that both Colette (British) and Dino speak perfect English and you can trust that they will understand your needs and do whatever they can to make you comfortable and reassured.

While you can access the area by train; you will need to take a cab to Ronco Camana. The best way to see the area is by car - small preferably. The area is not for the feint of heart driver. These are truly Italian country roads but there is no better place to experience both the Lake region and the shared mountain views from both Italy and Switzerland from either side of the lake. Luino is a small and easily managed city and driving in and out is very pleasant. In the hills are many intriguing small villages to explore none the least Dumenza, the town where Vincenzo Peruggia, the man who stole the Mona Lisa was born. This is a very small village where some of the towns people speak English and will be happy to share Vincenzo's story. These small towns also are very interesting as well because they were important to the escape of many Italian Jews and Catholics during WWII. You can actually walk across the boarder to Switzerland and visit the historic town of Astano, Switzerland and walk by walking up the hill from Dumenza.

Dino and Colette know the area thoroughlyl and can recommend everything from excursions around the lake, to walks, to the best eateries in the area - especially for fish. This is B&B at its best and we will return always to this lovely spot where you can sit on the balcony, view the lake, listen to the roosters crow, and the coo-coos coo-coo!

Do not pay any attention to the negative reviews you read here. Ronca Camana is not what they report. The people who wrote have no or little experience with the B&B lifestyle and their comments should not be acknowledged.We never encountered Dino or Colette spying on us. In fact we hardly saw them unless we made a point to visit with them or speak with Dino at breakfast. If you want 5 star hotel service stay in one. If you want a very touristy style B&B find another. But if you want a truly memorable experience sharing time away from the American frequented tourist spots with lovely people who care, then stay at Ronco Camana with Colette and Dino. He may even offer you a taste of his home made grappa! It will be unforgettable time and if you are as lucky as we are you will make some good friends to add to your travel experiences.

Justine and Joe Medeiros

Room Tip: The king room can easily accommodate children. The bathroom is in a downstairs room so if climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colettebb, Proprietario at B&B Ronco Camana, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
It's always lovely to see guests coming back to see us and we truly appreciate your kind comments. Thank you very,very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I decided to take my elderly 92 year old mother to Italy and could not have chosen a better place. Dino and Colette the proprietors were attentive and very friendly ensuring that she had extra blankets if she was cold, the breakfast that she liked (as of course elderly people do not adapt as easily). They were both wonderfully kind throughout the week. We both had a beautiful breakfast at a time that suited us after 7.30 and there were always fresh rolls and croissants with home made jams, coffee, tea for Mum, meat, cheese etc. We were asked what we would like for breakfast, you can't ask for more than this, and most mornings ate on the balcony. The balcony room we shared was cared for and clean as was the bathroom adjacent which also appears newly refurbished. Dino and Collette were always available to give advice and directions, or suggest places we might visit. It is 4 years since I first visited Ronco Camana, when breakfast was even provided for my Coeliac daughter. It is rare to find such accomodating people and I would love to go again at some point. Thank you Collette and Dino from both of us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Perfect for a Stopover, where you don't stay longer than one night. Because it is cheap. Don't bother staying for breakfast, it isn't worth it, no fresh stuff, rather go down to the seaside and find a nice little authentic Café, where you will get real coffee. For check-out you have to leave the place at 10 o'clock so in the hurry I forgot my dress there. When I remembered it probably was that B&B I forgot it during our three weeks travel, it was already too late, they had thrown it away -instead of sending me an email...
And I didn't like their attitude watching you behind the curtains when you enter and leave the place, didn't feel very comfortable.
I wouldn't recommend the place to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorrel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colettebb, Proprietario at B&B Ronco Camana, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast of fresh Italian coffee, fresh croissants, hot rolls, salami,cheese, cornflakes ,yogurt , home-made jam and marmalade and fresh fruit.When you had finished and we asked if everything was alright you replied that you had enjoyed your breakfast - how come things have changed so drastically? Our web site states very clearly the check in /out hours and you didn't seem to be stressed in anyway due to the 10 check out time ( in fact you left after 10.00).
People often forget things in the rooms but they always contact me the same day or the following day and give me an address to forward it on. I've always done this at my own expense. You contacted me 6 WEEKS after your departure claiming that you had forgotten a dress. I'm afraid I keep things for a month and then dispose of them.
Your comments seem to be a way of releasing your anger on forgetting your dress but in my opinion it's not the correct way to go about writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The rooms are comfortable, there is a view to the lake.
The breakfast is very basic and the breakfast room is very small.
The main problem with RoncoCamana is that the owners are "spying" on you, to see and check that you are not damaging something. In one occasion we accidentally spilled coffee and Dino, the owner, was furious on us, even after several appologies of us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tzvika184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colettebb, Owner at B&B Ronco Camana, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
We have always made our guests feel as welcome as possible. We gave you the keys to our home and left you free to come and go ,therefore we cannot accept the term that you used to describe our behaviour which is completely untrue. On your departure we gave you breakfast at 6.15 a.m. although we were not obliged to , our web site clearly states that breakfast is served from 7.30 a.m. We just thought of you and your children facing a long journey home.
By the way, it wasn't a drop of coffee that you spilled but a jug full and over a cupboard of clean,white tablecloths and cutlery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Had a one night stopover on our way to southern Italy in July 2009 on Lake Maggiore. Perfect place to stop – maybe even for 2 days. Simple accommodation, but good value at 100 euro / night for the 2 family rooms.

The b&b is walking distance from the lake shore and the small town’s center. You can park your car on the property.

Via a side entrance you reach the guest rooms there is one double room and a family room. We stayed in the latter: first there is a simple but pleasant room with a double bed and balcony. An open staircase leads into the basement room with two large beds. The basement smells a little damp and is a bit Spartan, but the children did not mind one bit. From the basement bedroom there is a door to the basic and small bathroom. Breakfast is served on the balcony. There is a fridge in the hallway (you share it with the other room)

The breakfast is served on the balcony - although simple the owners did think about including some nutella spread especially for the kids.

The owners are friendly, helpful and speak English.

You are walking distance from town where there is a hotel with a restaurant that offers a wonderful view over the lake.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernwehReturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The view was beautiful and the owners very helpfull when we must go to the hospital.
We enjoy our stay there.

René and Ineke Beerman.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

The drive up the narrow winding road from the lakeside to Ronco Camana was well worth it! Our room had an extremely comfortable queen-sized bed, a good shower room and a large balcony with a superb view over Lake Maggiore. The only tiny criticism of the room was that the televison was not working during our stay but we were invited to watch TV in a neighbouring room when we wanted to. A simple, high quality breakfast was served each morning with the option of eating on the balcony if we preferred it. Don't miss out on the home made jams!! The real plus of the B& B though was the hospitality of Colette and Dino the owners who could not do enough to maximise the enjoyment of our stay. This extended to recommending a restaurant serving traditional local dishes about 20 minutes drive away and then Dino led us to it in his car to help us order as the owners only spoke Italian - it was a memorable meal and Dino's help was invaluable. Ronco Camana is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandcWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luino
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camin Colmegna
2.0 mi away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 4 in Luino
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Del Pesce
Hotel Del Pesce
#3 of 4 in Luino
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albergo Torre Imperiale
Albergo Torre Imperiale
#1 of 1 in Maccagno
21 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
33 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ronco Camana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ronco Camana

Property: B&B Ronco Camana
Address: Via Torretta 3, 21016 Luino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Luino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run B&B near the lake with a relaxing atmosphere. Lake view terraces and a warm welcome from the owners Colette & Dino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Ronco Camana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing