We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotion meets History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Floriani
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Again - the seventh year we are coming back - summer and winter - since we discovered this magnificent place - a treasure - and we loved it immediately.

But it is not only the place - full of very interesting history - it is the family owning and running this beautiful place. Since the first time we came we have been offered a place in this family - and every time we are coming back we feel more home here.

Which started seven years ago as a four day trip to see the Macerata Opera Festival turned out to become a fixed part of our life. In summer we always stay in the main house - room no 7 with wonderful terrace facing to the city of Macerata - in winter, always accompanied by our dog, we stay at the former farm house, with a privat terrace and an open fire place in the kitchen, cooking our pasta...

All of that surrounded by a a wonderful, huge park. The place gives you not only space to relax and hide away from the outside world - a small cosmos of its own - a location to forget about the time - it is also a very private and welcoming companionship.

Having the luxury to become friends to the family it is THE place we will come back again and again and again....

PS: And do not miss the Opera Festival at the Sferisterio - open air - a 90 meter stage - fitting more than thousands of people - at a warm summer evening - astonishing!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niclas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location and setting with a very warm welcome. Beautiful view across the valley Macerata.
The on site Restsurant serves authentic Italian food. Swimming pool and wifi make it a great place to relax and work.
You can also buy home produced olive oil - does it get any better fun times thank you

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Agriturismo Floriani gave us everything we needed for a full week relaxation with family and friends. Three families with 5 children could be perfectly placed in the apartments and rooms of the Farmhouse enjoying the panoramic view of the oldtown of Macerata. Apartments are very spacious, clean and comfortably designed but not losing the traditional style.
In very hot days we could enjoy the protection of the shades of the small front garden or cool ourselves down in the swimming pool. The pool was a great place for all ages as it has a relative small depth for children and a shady bungalow with a fridge for the grown-ups to keep the prosecco chilled.
The small osteria restaurant at the top serves great dinner and simple italian breakfast with sweets. But if you want to try some great prosciutto and salami with fresh tomatoes then just don't forget to mention it earlier and they will serve it for you.
It was our second time in the Marche area and surely not the last one. Staying in the relaxing countryside with an easy reach of the sandy Adriatic beaches and the Sibillini mountains is not easy to match. Not to mention the historic towns and great restaurants all around.

Room Tip: Great wide bathroom in apartment 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvinnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I visited the Marche Region of Italy this past spring (late winter.) A less travelled region of Italy by tourists and an enchanting one. We used the lovely Agriturismo Floriani as our home base and every day set out to discover and explore a different ancient 'hill town', day trips to the Sibillini mountains or the Adriatic sea (Mare Adriatico.) We were in Italy for 17 days and stayed at the fantastic Floriani for 14 of those. Our TomTom GPS, we named Lydia, was our best friend (with a British accent) as was our Rick Steve's Italian dictionary/phrasebook.
We arrived at the agriturismo around 6:30pm - exhausted - and were greeted by the charming Floriani daughters, Valentina and Veronica. They promptly welcomed us with smiles and pleasant conversation and showed us to our apartment in the Farmhouse. Apartment No. 2 - divine. Clean, warm, lovely decor, bedroom fit for a king and queen, quaint kitchen with old wood table and chairs (every plate, pot or utensil was there), hot showers, everything was terrific. Plenty of space for clothing and accessories. (And while preparing a large plate full of Italian Fabriano salami, Pecorino Sole Sardegna Sardo cheese, fresh local grapes, pink lady apple slices, prosciutto, pesto and fabulous gourmet herb crackers - watched a little of the Simpsons in Italian. Later in the week, and much more stimulating, was Pride and Prejudice in Italian.)
We had Floriani all to ourselves. In our down time, preparing to leave or relaxing before dinner after getting back, we watched the workers laboring in the neighboring olive fields. They were always out there at first light, all day it seemed, until the sun set. From the farmhouse we had a beautiful view of Macerata's night lights. However, of the 20 or more towns and cities we visited, Macerata was not on the list (until we needed our rental car checked out.)
The Floriani's Osteria on the property is run by the magnificent Massimo and Doris. The food was wonderful! We ate here at least five or six times, lunch and dinner. Every meal was delightful as were the married host/chef. We had wonderful soups, everything from meat (accidentally ate liver and did not like it, accidentally ate kidney and liked it) to delicious fish to pasta. I cannot do the food justice by trying to describe it, so I won't. It was wonderful! The Osteria gets four stars from us and worth the euros.
We had breakfast twice up at the main Floriani house which was a terrific assortment of breads and cakes, delicious assortment of fresh jams, cereals, juices, coffee or tea. And for our breakfast on my birthday, the Floriani's (Carla and Andrea back from Malta now) brought in a special assortment of pastries from thee best bakery in Macerata!! Carla and Andrea, Valentina and Veronica were absolutely LOVELY - it felt at though we stayed with family. They are a very warm family, very generous, very inviting, very helpful and rich in family history with an amazing farmstead.
We used the nearby (2 miles) and much smaller (than Macerata) town of Villa Potenza for bancomat withdrawals and grocery shopping at the Si Con Te supermarcato - where they even signed us up for a discount card on our 3rd visit after seeing our faces so often! Very sweet. When we left I gave that cashier a note in broken Italian expressing our gratitude and explaining that we were off to Rome to fly back home to the U.S.A. She hugged me for thanking her!
Places you must see while in the Marche Region - Porto Recanati, Monte Conero,Sirolo, Tolentino (fantastico!), Urbisaglia (lunch and dinner at Locanda Le Logge, exquisite!) , Treia, Sarnano (thee most amazing cup of hot chocolate at F.lli Mariani, via Don Minzoni 119), Monterubbiano (Albergo Ristorante, Via Laurenzi 16 - amazing tagliatelle meatball dish!), Abbadia di Fiastra (horseback riding through La Selva!), Monte Cassiano, Visso is a must, Norcia another must, Montefortino, Sibillini mountains - via Montemonaco, Montegallo, Arquata, Pescara, Capodacqua (to Norcia.) I could go on and on.
Our only regret is that our jobs in the U.S. provide us with ideal vacation time in March and so it was a bit early in the season to enjoy anything green or flowering while in Italy. Two other important pionts - Italians drive like madmen. Prepare to embrace tailgaters everywhere. Ladies, always have an ample supply of toiletpaper or papertowels in your pockets. Wipes for your hands as well. There's a paper shortage and lack of sinks when you can find a public toilet.
However, the trip was perfect, Agristurismo Floriani was perfect and we would do it all over again tomorrow.
Send for a set of free helpful regional guide booklets via Italy's Tourism Department at www.turismo.marche.it or turismo@regione.marche.it. They send booklets for all regions no matter where you're visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TolentinoBirthplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

If you have a car, this is a gem of a place to stay just 2 km outside Macerata on the hills of Montanello in Le Marche on an olive farm.It is steeped in history dating back to 17th century and in the archives there are price less original hand written books. One in particular which drew my attention is a complete theatrical design and production of a play with beautiful detailed drawings of the stage, costumes, stage turn tables,trapeze and music written by Floriani in 1600's.
The farm house is still occupied by the very welcoming and warm descendants of a Knight of Malta who are eager to share their rich history. It is a living museum! The family is slowly trying to catalogue all the books and documents - here is a PhD subject for any one interested.
Some rooms are in the original hunting lodge where the family lives. We stayed in a separate farm house which has 2 nice apartments with all the mod cons. Very clean. There is also a small lap pool with views of the hills.
We had breakfast at the main house and were served farm fresh eggs. Meals are at the on-site Osteria in a renovated,cosy barn. It is run independently. The meals are superb using local fresh produce.
Macerata is just 2 km away and there are numerous sights short drive from this location.
We were surprised that Trip Advisor had no mention of this place - we found it by accident in an old new paper in Australia and happy to share our experience for those going to this less known area of Italy.
Floriani web site is comprehensive and has all the information you may need -(--)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank advisorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank albertocasellato66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciro776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macerata
7.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casale
Agriturismo Il Casale
#1 of 6 in Morrovalle
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel I Colli
3.1 mi away
Resort Le Case
Resort Le Case
#5 of 12 in Macerata
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Camerlengo
Hotel Camerlengo
#7 of 12 in Macerata
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lauri
Hotel Lauri
#1 of 12 in Macerata
263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Arena
Albergo Arena
#3 of 12 in Macerata
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Floriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Floriani

Address: Contrada Montanello, 62100, Macerata, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Macerata > Macerata
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Macerata
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Floriani is spread out along the panoramic hill of Montanello 300 meters above sea level and is immersed in an ancient forest and an organic farm. It takes its name from Pietro Paolo Floriani, a 17th century military engineer, famous for having designed the ancient walls of the city of Floriana in Malta. Situated 20 km. from the Adriatic sea and 20 km. from the Sibillini mountains and with its own swimming pool, the Floriani offers hospitality in comfortable rooms and apartments. Thanks to its strategic position, it is an excellent base for tourists to visit the most important cultural and tourist sites of the Marches. Extra virgin olive oil made from organic olives and jams of our production can be purchased. Pets are welcome. The historic abbeys, the beautiful hikes and the opera season of the Sferisterio are just a few of the opportunities that the Marches offers to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Floriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing