We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in the old hilltop town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Arena
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Macerata
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Good choice in the old hilltop town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is just inside the old town, very close to churches, museums, palazzi, and the main piazza. The welcome was warm, and service pleasant throughout my stay, with happy, smiling staff. Opposite the lobby is a small bar area. My first floor room was compact, but comfortable, and somewhat old-fashioned. I'm glad I paid a little extra for a room with a lovely balcony, it was nice to relax out there after a day's sightseeing, or drink some prosecco before going out to dinner.
The room had a comfortable queen size bed (sheets only, no duvet), a big wardrobe with three drawers, and a bedside table with drawers - so plenty of storage space. There was aircon, a flat screen TV, and a minibar, but no safe ( you could store valuables and monies you didn't need during your stay in a sealed envelope in the hotel safe). The bathroom was quite small, but with a good shower - unfortunately no space for my toiletries, I had to store them on the little desk in the room.
The breakfast buffet was limited, but more than adequate: juices, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, breads and biscuits, ham, salami, and cheese, cakes - more than enough.
There are no swish, modern hotels in the old town, so I would recommend this friendly place as the best there is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    97
    41
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
53
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed one night at this family-owned hotel. It is very nice, clean and definitely great value for the money. Nice and helpful staff. Had no problems finding it. It is located by the Arena Sferisterio, which is an amusing place and worth while seeing, as the rest of the Macerata. NIce place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Whenever I'm in Macerata I always stay at albergo Arena. It is very central, and the uphill walk from the station and the difficulty of finding it is worth the effort.
The hotel is good value and I have no problems at all with the rooms and the general atmosphere. The breakfast is much better than you will be offered in most Italian hotels, and the service at reception is also very efficient and welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sthaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed there for few nights. We tried both hotels of the same owner. The first room we got was big, nice and clean. When we changed hotel we got a small room but with Italian delicacy ! Simple (but tasteful) breakfast but didn't expected more in this price. Nice location, in few minutes you are in the center. They offer free fast internet access. In Arena, find out the elevator before carry your luggage to upper floor

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaG2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed there for a full week in group of three. It's nice, not big three star albergo, located just by famous Sferisterio Arena. Some people can have some problems with finding it, but internet maps can help get there.

Room was quite spacious for three, equipped with small fridge. Bathroom clean, fresh towels every day. Typical italian breakfast - only sweets, but there were many dishes on the table: fruits, yoghurts, cakes and so on.

I had only problems with internet. It should be free wifi but my netbook can't connect with it. So I must use only stationary PC in airless room there.

Nice staff, some poeple speak english as well. And the price were nice - only 65 E for triple room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This little hotel took a while to get to even with GPS, but was worth it. The hotel, staff etc were very good. Easy access to tourist sites with a bit of a walk uphill but woth the effort. They recommended a local restaurant within easy walking distance and the food was just marvellous.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

The hotel is located in the old town. My room was very small, very dark and with old furniture. The bathroom was extremely small and the toilet seat was broken. The breakfast was very limited in variety of food. Free wi-fi internet connection was available. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macerata hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel I Colli
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lauri
Hotel Lauri
#2 of 13 in Macerata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#6 of 13 in Macerata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Claudiani
Hotel Claudiani
#8 of 13 in Macerata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camerlengo
Hotel Camerlengo
#9 of 13 in Macerata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Claudio
Hotel San Claudio
#3 of 13 in Macerata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Arena

Property: Albergo Arena
Address: Vicolo Sferisterio 16, 62100, Macerata, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Macerata > Macerata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Macerata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Albergo Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing