We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
190
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews damien and sharon le marche lake fiastra large pool well equipped kitchen medieval town a great family holiday short drive a couple of minutes fire pit bars and restaurants children aged second week beautiful view live music watching the sunset own meals
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent the second week of our Italy holiday at Villa San Rafaello, moving from the more developed Tuscanny to the unspoilt Le Marche region.

If you're after a resort that has restaurants and amenities on your doorstep, then you probably should think twice about VSR. However, if you're happy to drive a couple of minutes to the lovely town centre (which has ample free parking) then this place could be for you

The complex has four really different apartments, but all are incredibly well equipped. The common space has lots of tables and chairs dotted around, perfect for a family outdoor meal and a BBQ pit, with benches surrounding it. The pool is adequately sized, with umbrellas to protect from the sun and superb views of the Siblian mountains. There are fruit and herbs "on tap" including a lovely vineyard, creatively equipped with hammocks should you wish to relax a while amidst the grapes - heavenly!

Sharon and Damian bought the place as a wreck a few years ago and painstakingly created something that they are rightly proud of! They were always available to assist and lend advice.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, if you're happy to drive through lots of windy mountain roads. Lake fiesta is gem and he coast is only an hour away.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a wonderful week at Villa San Raffaello in July 2012. The setting of the villa is stunning, with superb views in all directions. As a family of four (the children are 3 and 5), we were looking for spacious and safe accommodation with a shared pool. We stayed in Apartment Damiano and it was perfect for us. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen and a large living area – all on the ground floor. It was tastefully decorated and very clean and fresh. Things like free wifi, children’s DVDs and an extensive CD collection were all little extras that made a big difference to us. The owners have lots of local knowledge and were always happy to share useful information and hints and tips on things to do. Le Marche is a fantastic area that has so much to offer – mountains, beaches, lakes, beautiful towns and villages to name a few. During our week we would often have lunch out in Sarnano and the surrounding area, we would then cook our own meals in the evenings. After dinner, while my husband and I were relaxing with a nice glass of wine, watching the sun set over the mountains, the children would spend hours playing with the other kids staying at the villa. It really was idyllic and memorable.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viktoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I don't normally write reviews, but I have to on this occasion!
This Villa was a great place to stay. Its in a lovely part of the Le Marche region.
Damien is probably the best host in the world! As the ol' cliche goes.
But he was! His knowledge of the area is fantastic and to think in the 7 years he has had this place is pretty cool. His choice of local wines and food was never questioned. It has a super looking pool just perfect to cool down in! Being a keen walker, he sent us on some long journeys with great rewards at the end. We even got time to spend with some other Ex-pats he knows and funtimes were had. The bars are great in town and I am thinking of getting some mates together to come out before he packs up for the winter. Damien. Many many thanks.

Room tip: All the rooms are great! Just have to get in quick!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherC631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Villa San Raffaello is a little bit of paradise in the hidden gem of Italy that is Le Marche. We loved the tranquility of the villa, a villa which must have one of the best views in Italy! It has been very tastefully renovated by Damien and Sharon the owners, who have real eye for detail and creative style. We loved the spacious apartment, the pool, hammocks and the outdoor pergolas nestled between the vineyards and maize fields that surround the villa - it all makes for a fantastic holiday. Sarnano was a real delight with great bars and restaurants - the tiny Memphis Belle bar is a "must visit" as are the many delights of the nearby mountains such as the restaurants and the idyllic lake. A great holiday.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

What an incredible opportunity for our extended family of 12 to be together at this Villa! It is central and is easy access to the many beautiful hillside villages of Le Marche. The owner, Damien, is a wealth of information. Upon our arrival, he mentioned a festival in the nearby village of Colmurano. Not only were our children mesmerized by the international performances, we had an incredible dinner with views of the hillside with an overwhelming sunset. We cooked delicious meals each night and our children played hide and seek and tag with families from Australia and England. The day trips to Lake Fiastra, Tolentino, and the beaches of the Adriatic were a highlight but the time spent over deliciously prepared meals at the villa's outdoor pergola and gardens topped the rest of the trip!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews