We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4*, are you serious?”
Review of Hotel Antares

Hotel Antares
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with good location and don't care much of high comfort this hotel is for you. Excelent location (very close to the lake and Arona station) and friendly staff is advantage of the hotel. If you need parking while travelling by car this hotel can provide it. All other things are far from 4* level: furniture is old as well as bath equipment, very noisy, no safe in the room. I was not much disappointed with the hotel, but i would not advise it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent place. Rooms much better then famous Giardino and Atlantic hotels. Not noisy but very close to the Main Street. Best service in Arona. All stuff are very polite and trying to help, what i cant say about other hotels (usual "Italian" service ) and of course special thank to Omar !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chudovishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Antares for two nights on our way to Switzerland. Location is good, quite close to the lake. Hotel has own parking lot for visitors, which is definitely a plus. Hotel itself is a bit out dated and the decorations are quite...ugly. Hotel seemed to be almost empty, at least we hardly saw anyone else during our stay. Breakfast room was deserted, we were the only ones. And for the four star rating the quality was not good enough either. And the price was quite high also, I didn't expect this at least...but the staff was friendly and everything went well for us, so we are pleased.

As a conclusion: it's an old hotel nearby the lake without any lake view. I would rate this to two or three stars. If you get a cheap offer, take it, but don't expect a high quality hotel for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_M1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

On a recent trip to France Switzerland and Italy my wife and I used several hotels all booked via Expedia. I was asked to review all except one - this one!!! It was dreadful: we booked a room with a bath-tub and a balcony but on arrival were given a room with a shower only and no balcony. The management readily gave us another room with a bath-tub with a shower over. The bath was not at all inviting and was not used. The balcony looked out onto residential building opposite (about 30 feet away) and the view was dreadful and the balcony was not used.
We had booked for two nights but I immediately changed the booking to the one night and the next day we moved on to a different hotel in Switzerland.
The public areas of the Antares were very rough and dingy (more like how one might expect a hostel to look)
we were offered a 20% discount on food in the restaurant but we cannot comment on the food or the service as faced with the dreadful appearance of the hotel we were not brave enough to face the experience. For similar reasons we could not face the breakfast that we had paid for so we stopped at a roadside cafe during our "escape".
All in all a very bad experience - this hotel is billed as a four star hotel - I know there are variations in people's opinions but in my view this hotel should be a TWO star at best. The last words are really hardly necessary but I will say them anyway - NEVER AGAIN FOR US AND BE WARNED!!!

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank maria8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Arona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#6 of 7 in Arona
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blue Relais
Blue Relais
#1 of 3 in Castelletto sopra Ticino
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#5 of 7 in Arona
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 9, 28041, Arona, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Price Range: £88 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antares Arona, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing