We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice at the south end of Lago Maggiore”
Review of Hotel Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Palme
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dormelletto
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice at the south end of Lago Maggiore”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The hotel is situated on the main road to towns like Stresa and Verbania. You can hear the sound of the road, but it's not very loud. Because of this location you can easily drive upon the Lago Maggiore but also drive to Milan (± 40 min.). When we arrived we got a map of the area, but the receptionist hardly spoke any English (later on a different receptionist spoke English and informed us about the best way to visit Milan). The room was clean, not very big but had everything you expect from a hotel room. Don't get too excited about the pictures of the massage shower, it does works, but is not very great as it is very small and doesn't has that much functions. However the stay was fine and so was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not directly on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    94
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
72
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

After a disastrous day, ending up being late due to trains and having our booked hotel room down the road turn us away, a brilliant taxi driver - Bruno - spent almost an hour driving around the area helping us find another hotel. This was it, when we arrived the owner was very helpful, found us a room at normal price and even offered us a free breakfast the next day!

The room was lovely, large, spotlessly clean, quiet, nice bathroom, air conditioning, safe, fridge - everything you could possibly want. For 75 euros it was remarkable value, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good too!

Great hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The hotel was good, clean adn friendly staff, only one thing is pity that the staff doesn't speak english, and no information about the area of the hotel and around, Only map we get. Maybe because of the language.
For short stop before continue the trip to another place is ok because the hotel doesn't have direct access to the lake. is more to business hotel then for holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayenlee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We arrived at Milan Malpensa airport quite late in the evening so we wanted a place not far from the airport where we could easily find whislt driving in the dark, so we booked this place.

However, it wasn't that easy to locate it using the over simple map posted on the hotel's website. Somehow we drove to the Arona from another direction and had to stop and asked for direction for going back to Dormelletto. If you're also driving there, it's better to get the directions with more details by either emailing them or using the google map. That's my advice.

Other than that, our short stay at this hotel was nice.

The plus: the room was modern and clean, but a bit small; shower was great; our room was very quiet even though the hotel was by the main road -- maybe it's because we were given a room facing inwards; breakfast offered descent varieties but remained largely continental style.

The best thing was if you're patient enough to wait until mid-night, you can smell nice bakery from the groud floor -- the guy at the reception was obviously very multi-task and he was baking bread and croissants at 1am!

The minus: the map provided on the hotel's website wasn't very helpful; it's a bit pricey -- 75 euro for a double room in late Nov in a place where there's no view (we paid less later for places just next to the lakes!) but then there's not many choices.

In all, it's a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea, wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

we arrived very late on a thursday night. the room (310) was smart and well presented. but was very hot. we tried to cool it down as we had two young daughters with us. but the panel on the wall didn't seem to do anything. we'd had a long day so we just tried to get some sleep as we were exhausted and had a long journey ahead of us the next day. in the middle of the night, our eldest daughter seemed to have some kind of choking attack. we tended to her as best we could and she soon went back to sleep. though we didn't sleep a wink. next morning, we left for a week in the nice/monaco area.
we returned a week later after a fantastic week in france. we were checked into room 309. we soon noticed that this room was also very hot. so as it was just late afternoon, i questioned the problem with front desk. the very friendly and helpful girl informed me that the rooms are automaticaly air conditioned and this turns on at 4pm. it was already 5pm and the room was still hot. so she advised us to give it until 8pm and see how it was then. so we went to the very pretty town of arona, about 2 miles up the road and spent some time there. on our return at 7.30 , the room was no different. so she offered me 310 and 214. both were the same (btw 214 is a disabled room) and there is noise from the trains and the fans from the back. so i went back to the desk and she offered me 223. this room was much better. but only set up for 3 people. it had a kitchen (no utensils but a full size fridge) and 2 balconies. which the kids loved. our youngest daughter slept in with us for the first night. and the staff moved out a chair and set up another bed for the rest of our stay. there is no pool at this hotel. so if you want to cool down, you have to go and jump in the lake. the staff were very friendly and although not many of them spoke much english. they did try to help. so grazzi and A++ to all the staff.

  • Liked — the staff. and a good location for touring the lakes.
  • Disliked — poor or no aircon in some rooms. no pool and no view.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank axj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

This hotel is a great find if you want to stay near Stressa in Lake Maggiore. It is very clean, efficient, good breakfast and close to Arona and Stressa. The price is great--so much lower than staying in the more expensive and touristy Stressa. And, it is only 20 minutes to Malpensa. Staying at Le Palme is a great way to end an Italian holiday before flying out of Milano airport.

DG from NY

  • Liked — price and convenience to Malpensa
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dgat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dormelletto
1.1 mi away
Blue Relais
Blue Relais
#1 of 3 in Castelletto sopra Ticino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#12 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Arona
14.2 mi away
Ancora Hotel
Ancora Hotel
#1 of 14 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Palme

Property: Hotel Le Palme
Address: Corso Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 130, 28040 Dormelletto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Dormelletto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dormelletto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Palme 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Hotel
Hotel Le Palme Dormelletto, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing