We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel just outside old town of Gallipoli”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo del Corso
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Gallipoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The good:
* Friendly staff offered helpful service throughout our stay, helping with restaurant recommendations, printing boarding passes, parking our car in their parking area (they had to move their cars a couple of times)
* Good wifi though there was a minor outage for a couple of hours one evening. It was fixed that night though.
* Nice big rooms with big bed and nice size bathroom. The rooms were fairly simple but definitely comfortable.
* Beautiful roof terrace where it is possible to take a drink, or breakfast or a meal.
* Sky television with English channels and English audio options

The bad:
* The location is not in the historic centre of Gallipoli however it is a short 5 minute walk to the old town. Having said that, there did not appear to be any hotels of this standard within the old town, so this is only a minor negative.

Overall:
I liked this hotel. Staff were very friendly and professional. I would stay here again if I ever returned to Gallipoli.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are probably quieter than those on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Located on the main street a few minutes walk from the old town this is a beautifully restored and decorated old house. Friendly and helpful staff. Public areas include a nice lobby/lounge and wine shop but the highlight is the rooftop terrace with plunge pool and great views. The bar and restaurant are also located here. The room was nicely decorated with a small balcony overlooking the main street. Restaurant was very good with a good wine list and enthusiastic sommelier.

Room Tip: We had Grand Suite Rolls Royce which has an extra sleeping platform with bed so would be good if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacePalace, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo del Corso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear LondonHead,
thank you for having stayed at the Hotel Palazzo del Corso. It would be our pleasure to welcome you for your future holidays.
All my kindest regard

Michele Surà

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left the staff were courteous and helpful. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and spacious. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom with good shower. Breakfast was lovely in the rooftop restaurant and we also had drinks the first night and dinner the second night there. Gallipoli is a great place for a 2 night stay. We went to the beach one day then toured the bottom of the peninsular.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We drove into Gallipoli looking for a hotel, and were lucky enough to land here. The Palazzo del Corso is one of the most pleasant and beautiful places we have ever stayed in. The welcome that a guest receives here is honest and heartfelt. The staff at this hotel really defines the Italian concepts of "gentilezza" (nobility, generosity) and "cortesia" (courtesy, respect). The furnishings are tasteful and well-considered. And beautiful. The breakfast was very good, with marvelous fresh fruit. There is a business center/computer for guest use.
Luca, at the front desk, treated us as if he had known us for years. We had a great time in the Palazzo del Corso. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: This hotel has quirk, in that the rooms are named, not numbered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for four days late April 2014.
This hotel is one of the nicest we have ever experienced. Beautifully decorated public areas, bedrooms and bathrooms. All kept gleaming and spotlessly clean. Attentive and friendly staff made us welcome and we felt pampered throughout our short stay.
The weather was not kind to us so we made limited use of the roof garden. This had nice views over Gallipoli which would no doubt have been even better in bright sunshine.
The restaurant is also on the roof, sharing the same outlook. We ate there one night and had an excellent meal, we both had fish, good wine and again excellent service.
We arrived by train so the location of the hotel fairly near to the station suited us fine.
The location to the old town is convenient being perhaps a 10 minute walk across the bridge.
This is only a small hotel but one of great quality. We had a memorable stay and especially thank Maurizio for his service, advice and good company. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakers_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacePalace, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo del Corso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Bakers_32,
Allow us to thank you for sharing your detailed comments and kind words of praise. It is certainly a moment of pride to read that all our staff showed you a high level of service and you enjoyed our elegant and quite room we chose for you. We eagerly look forward to your return
Best Regards

Michele Surà

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in very unusual cold May 2014...when we arrived late 30 Aprile, it was just impossible to find the place for dinner, the guy was so kind that find the open restaurant and they delivered very good fish dinner directly to our room: it was really so kind! (after long drive from Rome)...
The breakfast is realy very good and served on very nice solarium with excellent view

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna298507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacePalace, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo del Corso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Anna29850,thank you for having stayed at the Hotel Palazzo del Corso. It would be our pleasure to welcome you for your future holidays maybe in the summer when the temperature is hottest. All my kindest regard

Michele Surà

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. The room was amazing. The front desk staff are amazing, very helpful and a joy to deal with. The hotel is very secure. There are some interesting people in the streets of Gallipoli but I was a female travelling alone and had no issues at all. Make sure to get the olive oil massage...fantastic!!!! The roof top terrace is beautiful and the sunset view cannot be beat from the mainland. The dinner at the restaurant on the roof top was disappointing and I am pretty sure the chef went home before my second and third courses were served as no self respecting chef would have ever let either plate get to me. The breakfast was really well done. The wine selection was good for such an out of the way place. This truly is a wonderful place to stay. I would eat dinner elsewhere but everything about the hotel part of it was above and beyond.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallipoli hotels
0.4 mi away
Relais Corte Palmieri
Relais Corte Palmieri
#1 of 23 in Gallipoli
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gallipoli
408 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 23 in Gallipoli
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
#5 of 23 in Gallipoli
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Pescatore Hotel & Restaurant
2 mi away
L'Antico Frantoio
L'Antico Frantoio
#13 of 23 in Gallipoli
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Corso

Address: Corso Roma 145, 73014, Gallipoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Gallipoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gallipoli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gallipoli
#7 Family Hotel in Gallipoli
Price Range: £131 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palazzo del Corso 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Corso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Corso Gallipoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing