We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Palazzo Mosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Mosco Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Gallipoli
Certificate of Excellence
Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This hotel has a perfect location, in the centre of the old town and near to the beach. Our room was big and very clean. The only negative thing was there was no window but the beautiful terrace on the roof top makes up for this! The breakfast is served on the terrace and was very good . The hotel itself is beautiful and the service at reception was very good. If you want a real taste of southern Italy stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    42
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
117
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We loved our stay at the Palazzo Mosco. Odd name and quite an odd hotel, but in a really good way. Some reviewers mention rooms with no windows and we did see that some of the rooms face out onto a courtyard and don't have external windows, which probably isn't ideal and they seemed a bit dark. However our room faced the alleyway, had a little balcony and was great. Marble floor, big old fashioned bed, ornate Italian furniture - fantastic. Arrival at this hotel is 'an experience'. First off, you have to find it. If you have a car, it's a real challenge. Be warned the island is a one way ring around with very few available parking spaces and also - only residents are allowed to park. There is video surveillance logging your reg plates and if you go onto the island to do anything other than drop off your suit cases you will get a ticket. The hotels make you sign a form saying you understand this. However, there is a free car park just below the island at the port and so once you've dropped your bags you can re-park there and it's easy enough to get in and out. The reception in the hotel is very basic and there wasn't anyone the when we arrived. After five minutes though we were being looked after. The breakfast on the roof terrace is lovely and the staff are warm and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel. We had a fantastic meal at the Angolo Blu restaurant 300m left out of the hotel - excellent fish and heavenly risotto. We went to the beach south of the hotel - 6 euros to park and sun beds a plenty with beautiful sea and sand.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with an external window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andybrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Placed in the old town in a good place to walk the evening in the alleys in and near to the Gallipoli beach. Our room was in the terrace, clean and elegant. A good place is the upper terrace where you have an open view on south coast. Breakfast and service are good.
There' s no car park you have to let it near the seaport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bliss984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

the web site does not reflect the hotel at all. many of the rooms have no windows and are tiny. the room are noisy so do not expect to sleep. the recommended an awful restaurant were we had mediocre food and exorbitant prices. nice town, too bad there aren't better hotel choices

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We happened across Palazzo Mosco Inn by accident, and what a lucky find. The room with vaulted ceilings and mosaic marble floor was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robhutchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Lovely little hotel tucked in a side street in old Gallipoli. Our room was very nice with beautiful tile inlay floors that appeared to be original to the palace of 1800's. Our only king size bed while in Europe. Beautiful furnishings. A little balcony. A loft to sleep two more (we didn't use) and a large area (room?) for clothes, luggage, etc. A very nice breakfast was served but it would have been even better if the weather had been warm enough to serve on the pretty balcony upstairs.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallipoli hotels
0.1 mi away
Relais Corte Palmieri
Relais Corte Palmieri
#1 of 23 in Gallipoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Corso
Hotel Palazzo del Corso
#5 of 23 in Gallipoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 33 Baroni
Hotel 33 Baroni
#4 of 23 in Gallipoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#2 of 23 in Gallipoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Pescatore Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
#6 of 23 in Gallipoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Mosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Mosco Inn

Property: Palazzo Mosco Inn
Address: Via Carlo Micetti 26, 73014, Gallipoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Gallipoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gallipoli
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gallipoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Mosco Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Mosco Inn is a unique, historic building in the heart of Gallipoli. It offers views across the historic centre and the Ionian Sea from its rooftop terrace. Each room is elegant and unique. They all combine modern amenities such as air conditioning and free Wi-Fi with original features and beautiful mosaics that date back to the 19th century. Breakfast is buffet style and can be enjoyed out on the panoramic terrace during summer season. Palazzo Mosco Inn - Dimora Storica also features a bar. Being an old building, it does not have a lift. The property is ideal both for exploring Gallipoli centre and relaxing on the beach 5 minutes' walk away. Staff will welcome you with the hospitality typical of Southern Italy and can provide excellent restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Mosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Mosco Inn Gallipoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing