We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Masseria Fumarola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masseria Fumarola
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Masseria Fumarola is ideally situated in the middle of a number of interesting and unique small towns - Ostuni to the east, Locorotondo and Alberobello to the west, and Matera to the south-west. We stayed for 3 nights in the Bosco suite which was in one of the trulli and impeccably clean and pretty. The common areas and the grounds of the property are beautifully decorated with rest and relaxation in mind - you might have trouble prying yourself away from the peaceful surroundings to drive and visit other towns! The nearby Martina Franca has many good restaurants and is also quite enchanting.
We had dinner at the Masseria one night and it was exceptionally delicious, I highly recommend it: lots and lots of antipasti vegetables, many types of cheeses and cold cuts, followed by the softest, most flavorful meatballs and pasta. Breakfasts were quite amazing and copious as well, full of many wonderful choices including sweet melons, yogurts, cheeses, crispy croissants and other freshly prepared pastries baked by Daniello the groundskeeper (who would also builds us a fire in the evening to sit next to in the common living room, thank you so much for that!!!). We were always pleasantly full until dinner!
This was our first time visiting the area and when we come back we will definitely stay at Masseria Fumarola again! Thank you for your hospitality!
p.s. if you get tired of driving, there is a train you can take for an outing from Martina Franca to the crown jewel of the area, Lecce (though I recommend visiting Lecce for a few days at least!). Also, do try the seafood risotto and custard cake with cherries at Trattoria La Tana in Martina Franca... so good! Then take a stroll through the town with the locals. Wonderful!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are situated well and offer privacy. We also never heard a peep from any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONVIVANTNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    19
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
80
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a charming small hotel with exceptionally helpful staff, a good pool and nice grounds.. We had a nice room, great bathroom, all very clean. Breakfast and evening meal (try it!) are good. We experienced none of the problems previously highlighted on TA; wifi was fine and the staff stayed up as long as we did. Our only grouse is that there are no price lists for the drinks. When we arrived we were told the beer was "about Eu 3.50". In fact they were 5.50 each! The wine list is just a collection of labels- and staff were equally vague about those prices.. That said this is a nice place to stay a few days

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangalorelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
518 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The attention to details is incredible at the Masseria! Even the tipycal local garden walls are amazing ! Anna is a great host with implacable taste . Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated some of them in the original trulli . The small restaurant by the pool is perfect to try some local dishes , the prickly pears are so delicious. If you want to relax and escape this is the place for you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Beautiful spot, so peaceful and tastefully decorated. The room was immaculately clean. The staff were relaxed and friendly and very gracious - it felt so civilized. We only stayed 1 night but ate 3 meals there The food and drinks were amazing - especially the cakes at breakfast, the home made ice cream, the delicious local wine and fresh lemonade. We definitely want to go back.
Thank you Masseria Fumarola!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADLONDON14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The Masseria really is a beautiful hotel, set in a truly Puglian backdrop.

Our room, nestled in what used to be the wine press, was enormous and beautifully decorated!

The grounds of the hotel are also beautiful, fig trees, vegetable patches and vines full of grapes. The staff work all day to keep it looking perfect.

We ate at the hotels small patio restaurant twice. The food was wonderful on both occasions. A large antipasti buffet, perfect pasta dishes and locally sourced meat for the secondi.

The town of Martina Franca isn't far away, as well as the smaller yet picturesque Loccorottondo, which we'd really recommend. There is a brilliant little pizza restaurant there which we loved called Quanto Basta.

The hotel gave great restaurant recommendations so definitely worth asking their advice.

The Masseria fumarola really is a wonderful place to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. It was v relaxing and we especially enjoyed the seclusion and peace and quiet. We had a suite which was spacious and was located just near the lovely pool. We ate lunch at the hotel twice which was simple but nonetheless sufficient and using fresh ingredients. Breakfast was so sufficient but given the price could have included something cooked.

Overall we thought this place was beautiful and relaxing and perfect for taking day trips to the Itria valley villages from. We drove into Martina Franca each night and ate at restaurants the hotel owners recommended - all recommendations were excellent! MF itself is beautiful. 10 mins drive from hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTravelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

A beautiful relaxing place a stones throw from the town of Martina Franca. The place has a very homely feel - all the benefits of being in a hotel and all the benefits of a holiday villa. The pool area was lovely. The owners are very friendly and upgraded us to a more spacious room which was much appreciated. We would have liked possibly a little more atmosphere or perhaps be offered a drink or an option for a massage, as the place is very remote and felt rather empty at times, and as the weather was a little disappointing we spent a lot of time huddled in our (pretty cold and damp) room. It got very chilly at night although we did love the experience of staying in a trullo and appreciate it's all part of the experience! One tip: if you want to eat at the hotel, book before you arrive as you can't arrive and eat at the restaurant on the day. Oh and take a good map of Martina Franca (we've visited a lot of Italian cities but this is a labyrinth!) and a pair of slippers for the cold trullo floors.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misselaneyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martina Franca
7.9 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
4.7 mi away
Masseria Chiancone Torricella
Masseria Chiancone Torricella
#1 of 9 in Martina Franca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Villa San Martino
Relais Villa San Martino
#3 of 9 in Martina Franca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#5 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
14.0 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
13.1 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Fumarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Fumarola

Property: Masseria Fumarola
Address: Via Villa Castelli 104 | SP 66 per Villa Castelli km 3,8, 74015 Martina Franca, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Martina Franca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Martina Franca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Fumarola 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masseria Fumarola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Fumarola Martina Franca, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing